We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Old English Hotel, but check your balcony is open” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #24 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Old English Hotel, but check your balcony is open”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed over the Easter weekend for 5 nights dinner bed breaksfast, we have been before too, the food is really good and the views from the resturant and sea view rooms is great, especially if the sun is out. Waking up to that view through large sliding doors is great its almost like being abroad. My video shows the view

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKP5VlV09bE&feature=share&list=UUqWE909PlDXqPJ32-59rJ3w&index=1

The hotel is an old hotel and everything else is nice but some areas are in need of some updating, the beds are very basic mattresses so not that comfortable and doubles are two singles pushed together. It has all the facilities you could want, indoor out door pool lots of kids play things inside and out.

one of the rooms we booked had a balcony that wouldn't open, part of the ceiling on the balcony had obviously come down so they locked the door form opening wide enough to get out. There was no mention of this before nor were they willing to help of change rooms. They came up with a stupid thing about due to the weather erosion or something. But it was just a loack of maintenance. They offered a tiny discount, but after much arguing gave a bigger discount, but this was not the point, the room was booked with sea view and balcony and the balcony was not useable. This is very bad and did spoil the stay somewhat.

Room Tip: Sea view Deluxe rooms are best with balcony too, if its open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrmarkyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    880
    406
    196
    131
See reviews for
434
1,435
49
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Shame, lovely location, but customer service and the finer details need to be improved. Been staying here for years and it's now gone down hill. On a bonus side, amazing views from the room and a lovely afternoon tea (when we eventually got it)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

we stayed at the hotel with my husband as it was our honeymoon.On arrival we were told there is no consiege parking which we had paid for. Second day our door key wouldn't work as the receptionist who served us had entered that we were checking out although she had information on our copy that we were staying four nights. Keys remained a problem till we checked out .View was amazing as our room had a sea view and a balcony. Meals are quite small you would want something else to snack onn as they add extra money if you want something to add to your menu. However one evening we ordered a rhubarb crumble and it took 45 minutes to be served , the most annoying thing was that it was cold after waiting that long. we were not happy informed the waitress but nothing was done since then l ordered cold desserts as we were there for four nights.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cndoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

As a family we come to the imperial each year and we are never disappointed. Beautiful views over the sea-such a perfect setting. Surrounding areas great;always somewhere to go and explore.
A very special place .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this with travel zoo for a spa day with my daughter and added an overnight stay. Checking in was fine and the room was adequate, very measly on the two biscuits, not enough tea, and the toiletries consisted of one of everything, barely enough for us both. We ate in the bar during the evening and our waiter Ryan saved the trip from being a disaster. Some confusion over a new menu that had just started but we had an enjoyable evening. Breakfast was almost inedible even though we chose the mid suggested quiet time, tea took an age, in fact we had finished what breakfast we could eat by the time it arrived. The waitress placing it on the table as she waltzed past, honestly could say the staff did not appear as if they wanted to be there. The spa treatments were fine if not a little rushed and bizarrely set round the pool. The consultants were very pleasant. The afternoon tea was the worst I have ever experienced, carried out like a suitcase, dragging on the floor, broken strawberry tart, fruit tart with withered frozen fruit, and sloppy shop bought 'treats' only three quarters sandwich each. Really expected better from a hotel which has grand ideas and good public area decor. Left us feeling that the hotel had the ideas but not the staff or skill to carry it off. Sorry I hate bad reviews but you could do so much better with the potential you have.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank JPGBTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Imperial Hotel is a lovely grand old lady with beautiful fixtures and fittings and the most wonderful sea views. Our room was a large one, extremely comfortable and it great to be able to use the sun loungers (with cushions) on our balcony at this time of the year!
The staff bar one were very friendly and the staff in the Restaurant couldn't do enough for you. There is a waitress from Poland with bright orange hair who was fabulous!
Nice breakfast selection except we surprised that there wasn't any haddock or kippers on the menu for breakfast, or poached eggs.
We had our meals included in our package and dinner was really tasty but the menu does need to change more frequently for variety.
We are definitely coming to say again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Golfer1945_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having stayed at the Imperial some years ago for functions, we were delighted when a Travelzoo offer tempted us again to relive happy memories. The hotel has a slightly faded charm, generally well maintained for such a large place. Food was good although our pork a bit over cooked. The location is great, easy walk to town & marina and along the coast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dawn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Of the 152 bedrooms, 60 are sea-facing premium rooms, 29 deluxe rooms with sea views, and 13 suites. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing