We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice setting and good value, the hotel is a bit tired and with a bit of investment could be a great 4 star hotel again. the only gripes I had was that the bar was closed at 12;30am when we returned from dinner and weren't made that welcome when we requested drinks. we were served by were the only guest in the bar, I guess all the shutters being down would put you off, and the second was a huge queue at reception on check out. apart from this I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Richard J

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you had enjoyed your stay. Your comments will be discussed with the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    900
    409
    198
    135
See reviews for
443
1,475
50
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at the Imperial for two nights, the aim being to chill out and relax. The room was comfortable with amazing views of the harbour; however, the bed was too hard for us. Arrived at 4pm to find that the earliest we could have dinner was 8:45pm. I would recommend that anyone staying here books their evening meal time before arriving at the Hotel. Nothing but praise for the staff though. Particularly on the second night when, despite a wedding reception, maintained an extremely high level of service.

Room Tip: Harbour view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear David M

Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the wider travelling community. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that my team were helpful and pleasent.

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Service was amazingly efficient and friendly throughout the hotel - except a couple of women on the bar. thanks andy on reception you are a star for taking the time to find me a new room when the first was not the best for my needs. Your attention was superb. bar staff were good too - especially guy with "edgy" haircut! (women less friendly) . sea views and location to die for. lovely bar with outside balcony. breakfast good - included fresh fruit, yog, pastries etc etc. I would have given 5 stars except my room was in need of refurb and the bed was VERY uncomfortable (room 71). I could feel every spring. but my 2 friends had good beds and also furnishings newer. (he went for deluxe double and it was beautiful). so i guess you get what you pay for. other friend moved room too as deliveries woke him - overlooking car park. his new room was good. Good dinners included too. shame about charge to park though - cheeky. overall very very good. and extremely good value

Room Tip: car park rooms are noisy in mornings from deliveries. sea facing rooms have views to die for and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merionvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear merionvw

Thank you for your wonderful review. I will pass your kind words to Andy and the bar staff. I will discuss the frendiliness issue with my F&B manager as my team are trained to be friendly and effecient as you experienced through out your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I decided on a spur of the moment trip to Torquay. We wanted somewhere comfortable, not too far from our Exeter home. We scanned the 'late booking bargain' websites and were pleased to find a room here at half the rack rate.

On arrival, just before 3, our room wasn't ready (fair enough as check in is 3). We went to the bar, armed with our room card, but weren't alowed to charge our room as it had not yet been allocated to us. No one came to find us, so at 3:45 I went back to ask if the room was ready. It was.

At a time when the hotel was very nearly full, they had tried to upgrade our room from a classic double to a 2 bedroom family room, which was nice of them. The second bedroom was really of no use to us so we left it undisturbed, but it was a nice thought all the same.

One very strange thing - the round, twist internal door handles were so close to the door frames that it was really difficult to open the bedroom doors without scraping your knuckles. I have no idea why.

The room itself was clean, reasonable sized and well equipped. Tea and coffee making, shortbread biscuits, nice toiletries, flatscreen TV with Freeview. Wifi (slow but you can pay to upgrade to a reasonable speed connection)The bed/mattress was particularly comfortable and gave us a good night's sleep.

Back downstairs, we took a very nice afternoon tea in the lounge which boasts fantastic views across the bay. Lovely setting. The beers were also a reasonable price for a hotel, especially one with this view.

Next morning was a Bank Holiday, so breakfast service was extended to finish at 11am (usually 10:30 I think). We arrived in the breakfast room at 10:15 and were shown to a nice table. again with a great view over the bay towards Brixham.

There are pastries, cereals, yoghurts, juices, cheese and ham, etc. 'Make your own' toasters. But we fancied a hot breakfast from the buffet and made our way over to there.

There should have been sausages, bacon, scrambled egg, baked beans, fried bread, hash browns... all of these were completely empty. There were fried eggs, undercooked mushrooms and halved tomatoes. We made the staff aware and they went away to order more, but this really shouldn't happen 45 minutes before the end of service. It took 5-10 minutes for food to arrive and by this time around 8-10 people were waiting. And more food had to be sent for. Not good.

Checkout was also painful. There were 18 people ahead of me in the checkout queue, with only two reception staff handling check outs.

In summary, we would go back as this may have been a one-off blip in service and the hotel is in a great situation.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The rooms at the back of the hotel look out over the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcfreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear malcfreem

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us here at The Imperial. I was sorry to hear that some elements of your experience did not meet with your expectations, and can assure you that your comments have been taken on board and shared with the relevant managers so that they can work with their teams to ensure that the points you raised are addressed, and any training needs ae identified are addressed to ensure that we are able to offer the excellent levels of customer service our guests expect.

On a positive note I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the imperial hotel over the Easter weekend. The room we booked was excellent, but we were disappointed that the balcony was out of use. If you are booking a room specifically for a balcony, check when booking as it isn't at all clear on the website. The food was tasty an to a high standard.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jennifer R

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feering
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, great views from restaurant and very good breakfast. Rooms are dated but big and roomy. If you want a sea view make sure you request one when you book. Pool is small but was warm and pleasant. Staff were attentive, polite and we had a good stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabella61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Arabella61

Thank you for your fantastic review. i was pleased to read that you very much enjoyed your stay and that you found our team very pleasent and helpfu.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel is easy walking distance to the marina and town but far enough away to give a tranquil setting with views across the bay.
The gardens slope down to the sea and from a balcony room you can imagine you are at sea on a cruise ship. The room we had was the biggest I have seen outside of America , for the price .
There were a couple of issues with food being lukewarm and of various standards of cooking, this was brought to the attention of the Operations Manager and his professional and courteous response was to rectify these issues promptly.
A nice way to rediscover the British coast .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristol-dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear bristol-dj

Thank you for your sharing your experience with the wider tarvelling community. I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay and my Operations Manager was able to rectify the issues you had identified.

We are always willing to listen to our guest feedback and constantly improve on our service and quality.

Look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Of the 152 bedrooms, 60 are sea-facing premium rooms, 29 deluxe rooms with sea views, and 13 suites. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing