We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Torquay
Nearby Hotels
US$225
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
US$421
US$378
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Corbyn Head Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$126
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,331)
Filter reviews
3,331 results
Traveller rating
1,266
1,125
526
242
172
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,266
1,125
526
242
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewper nightcar parksun loungerslovely hotellarge balconydeluxe roomsteam roomoutdoor poolan upgradeleisure facilitiesdining roomsome tlcpublic roomslick of paintevening mealshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,498 - 2,503 of 3,331 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

arrived a bit early for our check in,but were allowed to our room,which was an upgrade,which was a nice surprise for the money we paid.Large spacious room with a wonderful view across the bay. No moans about this hotel,thinking of going at Christmas when the program is available. One moan perhaps. The bar seemed very small for the size of the hotel which could be a problem in their busy period.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tojo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice room and a fantastic view overlooking Tore Bay but the food served in the Bar was extremely disappointing. The ' Barnsley Lamb Chop' was inedible and the remaining plate of food was not as described on the menu.We complained and had this changed for a sandwich as we were tired and hungry and didn't want to wait long. This arrived promptly but the top slice of bread was stale and the beef was processed! We found this hard to believe considering the price!
The following evening we ate in the restaurant which was much better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sal1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A nice hotel if a little dated. Room 49 was spacious and the sea view was very nice although slightly obscured by 3 large trees. Beware that this room is right next door to a function room; although there was no function the night we stayed! The food in the restaurant was excellent and again the view outstanding; ask for a window table!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice setting and good value, the hotel is a bit tired and with a bit of investment could be a great 4 star hotel again. the only gripes I had was that the bar was closed at 12;30am when we returned from dinner and weren't made that welcome when we requested drinks. we were served by were the only guest in the bar, I guess all the shutters being down would put you off, and the second was a huge queue at reception on check out. apart from this I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Richard J

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you had enjoyed your stay. Your comments will be discussed with the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at the Imperial for two nights, the aim being to chill out and relax. The room was comfortable with amazing views of the harbour; however, the bed was too hard for us. Arrived at 4pm to find that the earliest we could have dinner was 8:45pm. I would recommend that anyone staying here books their evening meal time before arriving at the Hotel. Nothing but praise for the staff though. Particularly on the second night when, despite a wedding reception, maintained an extremely high level of service.

Room Tip: Harbour view essential
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 879DavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear David M

Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the wider travelling community. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that my team were helpful and pleasent.

Kind Regards

Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews