We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low standards, bad/incompetent management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We were supposed to stay Wednesday 28th May until Friday 30th but decided to leave a day early. When we got to the hotel the staff charged £279 to our card although we had already paid in full in advance and refused to refund any money until we checked out even though they admitted the mistake was all there's. They also refused to give the card reader receipt as proof of transaction. My wife had also booked a spa package which is meant to include treatments, lunch, robes and slippers. The spa being more of a pool with a recreation centre feeling offered no such thing, when asked for lunch staff took our order and we were sent to the hotel bar, the bar had no record of our order and then charged for the food. We had to speak to 3 members of staff including management before this was rectified and at no point was an apology given; not the relaxing spa environment you'd expect!

The next day we had a nice time in the town centre enjoying the Living coast aquarium and the big wheel we also had a great meal out at Cotten eye Joe, once back at the hotel we struggled to settle. The bed mattress was very worn with uncomfortable springs. After a couple of hours we couldn't get comfortable enough to get to sleep. It was at that stage we decided to just leave. We checked out just after midnight and got home in the very early hours. We really enjoyed Torquey and would defiantly visit the town again but will NEVER stay at a Puma hotel again.
Poor service, bad management and uncomfortable rooms. We are still waiting for the £279 charged from our account.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tommykite2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Tommykite2000

I am so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will send you a personal message so that I can discuss this further.

Kind Regards

Velu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,210 - 2,216 of 3,072 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were offered a 40 % discount with out asking , I should have known better ! we take. 3 /4 mini breaks each year in Devon or Cornwall and generally stay in Brend Hotels however on this occasion we could not book the rooms we needed ( double and a twin interconnecting).
On arrival at the imperial we found that parking in the hotel carpark to be £7 per night which was not mentioned when we booked.
luggage was left standing in the entrance foyer which i eventually retrived myself so that we could unpack and change for dinner. we waited 40 minutes to get adrinks order at the dinner table and over an hour from there to get our main course. we cancelled dinner for the next two nights and went out to local restaurants ( jingles and Amicci both brill)

generally unmotivated staff and no aparent management in evidence.
go out for lunch and dinner
landings have lots of steps after you get out of the lift so lots of bag humping.

Room Tip: sea view room is essential as the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyn9924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent the day in the spa, coffee in a plastic cup, old bath robes, towels worn out, layout poor , 4 stars and no real coffee just a machine, we got the wrong lunch order and the prosecco was warm just one problem after the other

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Daydar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Daydar

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience, I was sorry to read that not everything went according to plan and will certainly look into the comments made with regard to the service provided. Please be assured this is certainly not our usual standards and hope to have the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel.

Kind Regards

Velu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We recently returned from Torquay where we had a short break staying at the Imperial Hotel. I had booked online via SuperBreak which was a very good deal for bed & breakfast. I had asked for a quiet room & we were not disappointed. The room was facing the sea & we had a lovely balcony with lounge chairs from which to enjoy the view. The room itself was excellent as was the service and our breakfast was superb. The fact the hotel had an indoor pool was an added bonus! The only downside was that we had to pay parking at £7 per night.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Kay T

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay, delighted that you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you too for your kind comments about the team, I will certainly pass them on as I am sure they will find them a great source of motivation.

Kind Regards

Velu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Have just returned from a 2 day break, The staff on arrival were very welcoming and had upgraded us to a wonderful premier room for us and a suite for my daughter, as it was her birthday this was a lovely suprise. The rooms had balconies and glorious sea views, robes and slippers as well as bottled water.
Our break included a 3 course meal, which was of the highest standard and breakfast which was also very good and what we have come to expect from Puma.
The outdoor pool was a very cold, but the indoor pool was like a bath.
This hotel is so interesting and although a little dated is steeped in history and in a great location for the town and walks along the coast.
The only downside is the charge for the car park of £7 a day.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are fantastic, the higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Alan D

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Velu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

When we checked in my partner wished to pay for our two night stay in advance. We were told to provide a card for pre-authorization. This was done and immediately the full cost of the hotel PLUS £50 was taken from her account. When we checked out the bill was also deducted from the account on top of the amount already taken. Over £400 went missing for a 2 night stay. 7 days later and she is still trying to get her money back despite assurances from management that it will be sorted. Certainly not the service I would expect. Would not get caught with this in the the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur Meek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Arthur Meek

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you experienced a problem when you stayed with us and this was a genuine mistake from our part and I spoke to your partner over the phone and apologised for the same and arranged for a refund.

Unfortunately the preauthorisation process is such we are reliant on the banks and bank holidays play a part in how quick it is processed.

Once again I am sorry for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards

Velu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Sent 2 e-mails of which I had no response. Nice hotel although decoration very tired looking. Overcharged on exit at hotel had to prove my payment from bank before I got my money back. Overall impression was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Joanna T

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you experienced a problem with your billing and I will send a private message for you please contact me to discuss this further.

Kind Regards

Velu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
2,496 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#26 of 85 in Torquay
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing