We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views but issues with service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for a 2 night break booked with Superbreak with dinner on the first night. We had an enormous room with a large bed over looking the bay with a terrace with sunbeds. The bathroom was a little dated but large. There was a lot of noise from the room above who made lots of noise at 6am. The hotel is in a good location for the town. The £7 per day parking charge is annoying (more if you choose the undercover carpark).The down side to this hotel was the somewhat chaotic service in the restaurant. During dinner several tables were left for a long time and had to ask for their orders to be taken. There did seem to be plenty of staff but they are in need of training and supervision. We found the service so bad that we did not dine in the restaurant on the second night. Breakfast is self service so a little better although we had to wait as there were no plates for the hot breakfast and no tea was offered on the first morning. It is such a shame as with a little bit of polish this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whites2088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,238 - 2,244 of 3,119 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Room 89. Fantastic views across the bay with balcony and two loungers and quiet. Odd to get to as you trek through the dining area and late at night no lighting in one part so not good if eyesight is failing as there are stairs to negotiate. Bathroom: large with superb décor with double sink and large work surface., Some niggles: shower switches bit mouldy and shower curtain had a stale smell, lighting not good for applying make up. Wardrobes, triple with plenty of space in a large vestibule. Bedroom; large comfortable bed, but tired wallpaper, threadbare armchairs, and chipped and scuffed furniture. You might say shabby chic but it wasn't. No mini bar just an empty cupboard!!!! At little TLC required. Stayed in better rooms in the hotel before but this was special occasion and we had an upgrade or so we thought :-(. Food: fabulous, didn't have one bad meal, but grapefruit segments were chewy at breakfast. Service; all the staff were exceptional, very accommodating and went out of their way to be helpful both in the bar and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

An overnight stay at the Imperial found us having a really nice sea view room, clean and spacious and welcoming reception staff. Unfortunately, the restaurant was a bit of a let down, with slack service and food that was very average fare. Although we were staying on a special deal, it was still poor value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

this time we had room 225 with full Sea View/full bathroom off the anti-room. the bedroom with a huge comfortable bed. loads of storage and a balcony with 2 sun loungers and mattresses.the snags are:- the lift from Reception serves the main block.At a slightly different level there is another block with its own lift BUT that is a long way from Reception through a maze of corridors.It is not easy to get your luggage to/from the rooms unless you are able to negotiate two small sets of stairs along the main corridors on each floor linking the 2 blocks up the side of the cliff. check with the Hotel directly to discuss if you have any access /mobility issues.there is no magnifying mirror in the bathroom and the lighting is poor within the room.
the Restaurant is still a bit chaotic at breakfast times but the food was delicious,plentyful and varied.The leisure facilities are great but I agree, some maintainance is required. Not nice using the steps handrail and getting rusty hands (Tetanus risk) or brambles covering the lower steps into the cliff side gardens.As it was the start of the outdoor pool season things were not up and running properly but to enable the relaxation element maybe the NO MOBILE PHONE notice should be enforced and a Pool Attendant be given a proper station rather than propped on a sun bed out of line of site to the swimming pool is pointless.Overnight parking is expensive when you consider the quality of the Hotel and the room rates . Open to locals so sunset on the Balcony bar can get very busy

Room Tip: speak to Reservations at the Hotel and ask for advice on the best placement for your needs. ask some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deb k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our first visit to the Imperial, staying over on a quiet Sunday night. Based on our experience we would return.

My only negative comment is that the Britannia Bar and Conservatory seem very underused and lack in atmosphere. Reintroducing waiter service and a new decor would surely do the trick.

Room Tip: Room 121 on the first floor is a premium room with sea facing balcony and is near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Beautiful location, shame about the struggling leisure facilities. Staff didn't seem to know where the outdoor pool was! Or if it was open! Changing rooms were tatty to say the least, definitely in need of an update and some TLC. Debated whether to have a shower as showers were not appealing at all, rust, old looking.... Swimming pool was nice, jacuzzi apparently not working although no sign up. Found a metal nail in the bottom of the jacuzzi... Steam room was loud and needing some investment... Treatments were lovely but cold room and noisy outside... Spa lunch included at bar.. Stale bread and the wrong type of bread! In summary a beautiful location, a grand hotel but tatty leisure experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A short spa break with Mum. Beautiful hotel, very impressive decor maybe in need of a little TLC in places. Food was amazing, huge portion for main course meant we couldn't fit in the planned cocktails afterwards! Spa was lovely - facial for Mum and aromatherapy full body massage for me - couldn't fault either. All staff were friendly and professional. All over a great stay. Hopefully will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank olesley35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear olesley35

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team to be very friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Velu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
666 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#19 Family Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £58 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing