We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A very pleasant 2 night stay, booked for 1 night but extended to 2 nights.on DBB rate. View from premium balcony room across Torbay is superb.
Location for the town is good.
Hotel is looking a bit "tired" and needs freshening up.
Restaurant was was very nice as was the food from the table'dote menu but it was far too hot to be comfortable, why was the aircon not working.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,113 - 2,119 of 3,010 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent location, wonderfull view from balcony (deckchairs were provided), nice modern bathroom with floor heating, spatious lounge & bar, nice swimming pool, excellent food at breakfast and dinner, and most of all very friendly, welcoming and helpfull staff, especially in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights last week. It was a fantastic hotel- the staff in the restaurant are brilliant and couldn't do enough for us and our two and a half year old little boy. The food in the Regatta restaurant is absolutely superb. The breakfast is also very good.
We had a deluxe family room with sea view- this means you get a lounge which is perfect for the evenings. It was very good value.
The facilities for children and young people are great- a small playground, astro turf area with mini tractors, plus an indoor play area and even x boxes for the older ones.
We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Sea view is definitely worth paying for- a stunning view over Torbay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a friends wedding. We tried to check in early, room wast ready, not a problem however a blunt and rude receptionist (who I found out later to be a duty manager)

Room was very good, large and clean.

The hotel is beautiful and was a great setting for a wedding. What let everything down was the staff....

Very unprofessional staff... from check in to check out to bar service. Russel Clayton a duty manager was blunt uncaring on check out, he didnt even concentrated on us or ask if we had enjoyed our stay..Not what you expect from a manager.

The wedding was great but let down by lack of staff and no master of ceremonies to run the day... dirty glasses on the tables...

The hotel could be amazing but they are not on the ball in many aspects. The general manager should read the comments on tripadvisor and get the staff trained in customer service...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for a wedding (Fri/Sat nights) - and booked one of the balcony w/sea view rooms for £145/night. Was allocated the teeniest, dated, bedraggled room the hotel had (our suspicion, not confirmed by hotel management) on the lowest level, decked out in faded, tatty linen, wallpaper and carpets, complete with a tiny bleach-reeking bathroom.

Decided not to complain, went out to dinner with other wedding guests, and then dropped by one of their rooms on the way back to ours to collect suits - they were on the exact same package (i.e. had paid the same amount and booked on the same date), and had such a beautiful, large room with a light and airy bathroom and modern decor - and a bed twice the size of ours. Immediately developed a case of the green eyed monster and asked at reception to change rooms. Only option was a room who's balcony was not available for use (i.e. the doors were sealed shut), but it was definitely better. We had to move our own bags as reception wasn't able to accommodate this request.

So my advice is - if you're not happy with your room, speak to reception (we had to escalate to a manager) - the hotel obviously has huge differences in the quality of it's rooms, and allocation doesn't necessarily follow the amount you pay....so it's worth asking if you're not happy.

I hate complaining at hotels (and very rarely do so), but in this case it was worth it. £145/night for our original room was unacceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimBuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked with special rate deal site for special occasion birthday for weekend.First room small with dated bathroom and damaged coffee table with limited seaview .Asked if upgrade available and helpful very busy reception staff did change to large room on higher floor with balcony with incredible beautiful view of the bay.Bed the widest bed we have ever seen would have slept 4/5 easily!Very clean and comfortable maybe a little dated.View from restaurant and bar over the bay again excellent.Food and service excellent ,drinks a bit pricey.Felt charge for car park bit much.Swimming pool and jacuzzi welcome bonus if again a little dated facility.Would stay again just to lie in bed and enjoy that beautiful view day and night.Loved penguin alarm call leaving balcony door open in the morning from Living Coasts.

Room Tip: Worth extra money for sea view on higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I spent five nights at this hotel, a place I've wanted to stay for some time. We weren't disapointed, what a beautiful hotel. Some of the reviews I've read have said it is tired and in need of refurbishing, I disagree with this. The hotel is from a bygone era and I think it has been looked after very well. The room was very comfortable and the sea view was a real plus. I can well imagine that a room facing the carpark would not impress the same, however everyone gets the beautiful views from the dining room. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was very good. The grounds to the hotel are very well cared for with an impressive outdoor pool and miniature golf course. If I could change one thing it would be the colour scheme in the dining room, it is entirely cream and doesn't do such a grand space justice. It just needs a contrasting colour and some impressive drapes. I will definately be staying here in the future, it is a credit to all the staff who work so hard to make it what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 86 in Torquay
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 86 in Torquay
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £65 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing