We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #24 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

had a fantastic week !!! staff friendly, food was excellent, room was clean and the view was amazing, room 222. cannot wait to go back next year. there is so much to see and do in torquay and the imperial hotel is the ideal base to explore.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babz1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    944
    438
    208
    144
See reviews for
474
1,578
50
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I booked a fantastic two night deal through Secret Escapes at this hotel. It included a £75 room credit to spend on food, drinks or spa treatments. Our room was large, clean but the most basic given that it had no view, other than a service block immediately outside the window. We did enquire before checking-in about upgrading to a sea view but they wanted an extra £40 per night, which we thought was poor value given that we were not going to spend a great deal of time in our room. We did have the opportunity to look in a sea view room briefly and it looked stunning.

The hotel has some lovely public areas with the Regatta restaurant commanding great views over the bay. Breakfast was included but we thought the quality of the food was basic. We booked a table for dinner on one of the evenings, which is a set price of £22, with supplements for a la carte dishes. I ordered mussels for a starter at £5 extra. Unfortunately it took 40 minutes for our starters to arrive and when I queried this, I was told it was due to the fact that I had ordered from the a la carte menu. Regrettably the mussels arrived, cold and over cooked. I did complain at the end of the meal and my supplement was refunded.

The hotel does charge £7 outside or £15 undercover parking per day but luckily we were visiting friends and were able to avoid this excessive and in my view unnecessary charge. There is free on-street parking a little further up the hill.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Horrendously bad food at children's party frozen sausage rolls reconstituted chicken things and MOULD on badly made sandwiches serving watery coke from bored and disinterested staff . My children could of made better. Very poor show Will not return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I think the people who complain recently are those with cheap Groupon vouchers. We had a lovely stay, garden room, sea view no extra cost. Could not fault any of it, lovely food, attentive staff, faultless service. A real treat and looking to return later this year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty11133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

came one day for a coffee,sat out on balcony...wow!!!the views...amazing..i thought this place was amazing..couldnt wait to get home and book a spa day for me and my partner who were on holidays around this area...so we booked a half spa day...i would never come here again..the pool is old dirty grubby and its not just a pool for people who book spas...the changing rooms were filthy,nightgowns were brown and hard..the sauna is located in the womens changing room...didnt use it...i got in the pool once and got back out cuz the whole place was just so rundown i felt weird.. and waited for my 25 min back massage...back massage was fair...but it was about 15 min not 25..my partners was the same..lunch was included...we had to walk ages up to restaurant..lunch was terrible..only few choices...sambos,or meat pasta..we got this...it was three bits of chicken with over cooked penne pasta with cream and raw garlic cloves..big chunks of raw garlic....??.i didnt eat it and we just left...it was such a waste of money and time..we were completly let down..all the staff are forign and havent a clue where anythin is etc..it defo needs an upgrade

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purplelavander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

breakfast, bacon clumped together and undercooked, eggs like rubber..
table de hote, very poor choice and quality,had to pay supplement 3 nights for fillet steak which was ok but not worth the supplement.
staff were mostly eastern european and had a chip on their shoulder and came across arrogant
Hotel needs updating everywhere, would not stay again even though the position is fantastic.
.

Room Tip: top floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went with my family to the Imperial Hotel Torquay. We were given a free upgrade when we booked, and the whole experience was fantastic. Our room's were delightful, clean and spacious, our evening meal was well presented and very delicious, and out breakfast next morning was excellent. The choice was good, and even the breakfast plates were nice and hot. Couldn't fault anything

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,082 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#26 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#30 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing