We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rather tired but wonderfully placed hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #24 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A rather tired but wonderfully placed hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is wonderfully placed above the sea just ten minutes (down a very steep hill) from the marina. We had a 'superior' room, which consisted of a large lobby, spacious bathroom and very large sittingroom/bedroom, with french windows onto the balcony with its' wonderful view of the bay and the town. The beds were comfortable and the room was kept scrupulously clean during our visit. We found the staff who serviced it, and those in the main restaurant, very friendly and helpful. That is more than can be said of the reception staff, who seemed to have very little idea of the hotel facilities and and even less inclination to find out for us. They were unable to tell us if the bottled water we found in our room was part of our package or not, and were not at all sure if the water in the taps was drinkable ! The most they would say was that they couldn't recommend it ! Also the 'musak' in the reception area was so loud and intrusive that it was difficult to hear yourself think ! The whole hotel really does need a facelift, with peeling/battered paintwork on doors and skirtings, and carpets that have obviously seen better days. The gardens are pretty, with a lovely outdoor, heated, swimming pool, and the leisure suite has a comprehensive list of services as well as a good swimming pool. However, the staff didn't seem to want to interact with users at all - barely a greeting out of them when one arrived.

We were aware that there was a charge for parking at the hotel, but feel that this really is taking advantage of the fact that there is nowhere on the roadside to park - £7 per day ? Very naughty.

We stayed on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis; the breakfast was the usual British fare, it was plentiful and the hot dishes were hot; but as usual in this country the coffee was horrid, and although an espresso machine was available it wasn't always provided with the proper cups, and one was expected to use a mug ! The evening meal was just not worth bothering about; the starters were acceptable, as were the sweets, but the main courses were pretentious and didn't live up to their descriptions; at each meal the vegetables were raw (we don't mind al dente, but raw is not acceptable), and things such as crushed potatoes were obviously plated up long before service, with the result that the outside of the portion was hard and dry. Very disappointing indeed. We used the 'all day' cafe/bar for lunch one day, and this was also just not up to scratch; the service was extremely slow. We ordered mini burgers with barbequed chicken wings, and when the meal (eventually, after a considerable wait) arrived the chicken wings, far from being barbequed, had been deep fried in oil that had been used for fish ! Ghastly. Needless to say we sent them back, and were served two more mini burgers instead.

Room Tip: Make sure that it is sea-facing, but not near the very noisy flooring of the decking for the funct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    874
    405
    196
    130
See reviews for
433
1,425
49
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have stayed here several times before, although this was the first time since the ownership has changed to Puma Hotels now known as The Hotel Collection.

It is still a great place to be, with a superb location overlooking Torbay and if like me you like to watch boats, the harbour is just a short walk away.

The staff are professional, courteous and attentive. It is clear to see that the overall impression created by the staff is a step forward from the previous regime.

A feeling of opulence is created in the main areas, perhaps a reminder of times gone by; which certainly portrays an ambience of splendour. In our experience the bedrooms (with a balcony and sea view) are well appointed and comfortable with all expected conveniences.

On a downbeat note, the only criticism was the quality of the fillet steak - must do better. Just a small blip in the overall scheme of things.

We would definitely return, this hotel is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony and sea view also corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Another wonderful time at The Imperial Hotel but just a few things this hotel needs to do..The reception team need to be more pro-active and listen and the bar staff not to be so rude. The room needs a good clean and updated.
However i would recommend this to my friends as the views are stunning and the hotel is lovely, grounds etc and things to do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our 4th stay at the Imperial.Welcoming and friendly staff throughout the hotel.
Relaxed atmosphere beautiful rooms.Fabulous breakfast and the views are spectacular.
A special thank you to Velu General Manager for resolving an issue during our stay in a polite
and professional manner.
I believe excellent customer service is a priority which always leaves an impression.Hence to say have just booked again for 4 nights in September.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresatreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We came to the hotel turned out to be a disaster! Staff are rude! And I mean almost all of them! Rooms need decorating i mean major upgrade. Most nights could not sleep as wall were so thin you can hear all going on in next room! Pool is very dirty not hygienic, didnt went in again and i love swimming chose hotel based on fact it had a pool so major let down, if you swim underwater you will see what I mean. Spa is rubbish, treatment are basic to say the least! I mean anything you can think of that's wrong with the place, it is! every time we go hoping to get better its worst we wont be going back there for sure. We only went there for the view but its just throwing away money just for view. Definitely not worth it, we spent too much to be unhappy! definitely will never ever go back! Most of all found spiders in the room not normal spiders big ones!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kala n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Breathtaking views from any window at this hotel, completely gorgeous! Classic British hotel with chandeliers, marble floor and sweeping staircases. I did feel like I was in a Poirot episode as it was very British and quaint! Comfortable and old school elegance, the food was fabulous - I can recommend the profiteroles - absolute heaven!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsmissfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

had a fantastic week !!! staff friendly, food was excellent, room was clean and the view was amazing, room 222. cannot wait to go back next year. there is so much to see and do in torquay and the imperial hotel is the ideal base to explore.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babz1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Of the 152 bedrooms, 60 are sea-facing premium rooms, 29 deluxe rooms with sea views, and 13 suites. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing