We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Imperial Torquay
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Lovely hotel. Fab views from rooms, especially from the upper floors of the whole of Torbay .
Delicious food beautifully presented in the Regatta restaurant and varied menu.
Breakfasts were really good too with a great deal of choice.
Well furnished and comfortable bedrooms.
Communal areas luxuriously furnished, everywhere was very clean.
One complaint : outdoor pool closed far too early (6pm)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    920
    422
    200
    135
See reviews for
451
1,533
50
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Imperial is a lovely hotel in a great position. The food is excellent, rooms lovely and clean and staff very helpful. Having an indoor pool and kids activities is good because if the weather is not good you still have something to do. If you want a pamper day you have the beauty room. All round its a great hotel, This is our second year and are planning to go again next year

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karisglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is relating to the bar and the food you can buy from it to enjoy on the terrace not the hotel, this is called ' Make me a blush ' . We live local to this hotel and have been coming here for years however the The hotel is no longer privately owned and is now run by the 'The Hotel Collection'.
Terrible service, terrible food, and terrible customer service can only describe our recent experience. We were very slow to be served and there was only us and one other group in the bar! The food was probably the worse meal we have ever had it looked like it had come out of a tin! The table area was dirty, the cutlery was dirty and the the glasses were dirty! When we made our comments to the duty manager all he could come up with was that he would speak to those concerned!
Avoid at all costs which is a shame because the view from the terrace is fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PVR1YAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Booked as a treat for my husband and I. I read the reviews and as usual they were mixed. I do believe some people are serial moaners! From start to finish, we were looked after. Fabulous room with a gorgeous sea view. We didn't have evening meal in the restaurant, however, breakfast on Sunday morning was great. Hot and cold buffet which I think is great because I like the idea of serving myself the quantities I prefer. The hotel is located really close to the "happening" part of Torquay, walking distance. Parking is £7.00 for a 24hr period and there is ample. Check out time 11am.
Will we return? Absolutely, next time with my in-laws, whom I know will enjoy it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnetteJones1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baginton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Sea view rooms and suites at the front of the hotel all have stunning views over the harbour and balconies to enjoy it from. Looks modern and has modern rooms and facilities, but the original Victorian features give this hotel a stately home feel in the public areas.
We had a good half board deal through Superbreaks, with a free upgrade when we arrived to a suite and the food was much better than we expected, clean plates every meal, could not praise the chef enough. Service at table also excellent, to the person who described the staff as "Eastern European", if you bother to talk to them, they are from all over (our waiter on our last night was a very friendly Italian), and very dedicated and well trained. Generally clean and well kept public areas, especially the out door pool, which we saw cleaned and attended regularly.
Stayed in suite 310. Upper floors are certainly best and we would heartily recommend, and would go again.

Room Tip: Upper floors at the front of the hotel are the best and worth paying a little more for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterW1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a recent short stay at The Imperial Hotel which was fantastic. We had the pleasure of a sea view room with a balcony, which was a joy. I have to praise the staff who were all really polite and helpful and are a credit to the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, as was the food we ordered from the Bar and we would definitely stay at this hotel again if we return it Torquay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

had mixed feelings about staying at the IMPERIAL HOTEL read reviews days before we travelled on arrival was impressed with staff room and meals in restaurant. could not fault the stay in any way. top floor room fantastic views overlooking sea and harbour could do with a lick of paint but no detroment to holiday

Room Tip: high floor room 422 was good no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marilyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Torquay

Property: The Imperial Torquay
Address: Park Hill Road, Torquay TQ1 2DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Torquay 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Torquay is a 19th Century four-star hotel in a stunning cliff-top location on the English Riviera. Just a mile from Torquay train station, and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and its famous promenade, this Mediterranean-style hotel is a great base for exploring Devon and North Cornwall. Close by are sandy beaches, the Eden Project and Dartmoor National Park. After a day of exploring relax in the Health & Leisure Club then enjoy delicious food in the award-winning Regatta Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Torquay
Barcelo Torquay
Imperial Torquay
Torquay Imperial Hotel
Hotel Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing