We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashleigh House”
Review of Ashleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashleigh House
Ranked #56 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at Ashleigh House. A lovely welcome on our arrival. The accomodation was clean and comfortable a real home from home. We stayed in the family room which was very spacious and ideal for our neads. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, the food was delicious. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 37SarahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Eay to find with easy onstreet parking vouchers are provided as part of the package on a daily basis as this is in a quiet residents parking only street. The town are within easy reach & the local pubs do very good well priced food.
The owners & thier dog Oscar are very friendly & helpful & there is plenty of things to do literature on hand. The rooms are tastefully decorated & clean with plenty of towels, soaps,shampoos & hot beverage making facilities.
Being just out of town it is very quiet at night even with the window open which is a real bonus for a good sleep. there is a good breakfast selection both hot & cold & nicely cooked. Would we stay again "Yes" Keep up the good work Dawn & Phil :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

we found this through bedandbreakfastsearcher and were looking for something which was dog friendly, and not a Travelodge! What a find indeed! It was only for a night as we were traveling down to Cornwall and adore Torquay.

This lovely guesthouse is walking distance to town, albeit a stiff walk back up the hill to the guesthouse. It was so peaceful, charming, friendly, and welcoming.

We would greatly recommend this to any family, dogs are not essential!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My partner, myself and our dog 'Dizzy' have just returned from a 3 night stay at Ashleigh House....for business and leisure... it was an absolute delight... very clean, warm and welcoming great room and super location for walking and Dawn and her husbands's hospitality and amazing breakfasts were a delight... we usually camp but these was truly a 5 star stay we were so comfortable and made so welcome we didn't want to leave...
We would recommend to anyone looking for quality accommodation with comfort that induces relaxation... it was excellent value for money and we will certainly return and Dizzy loved the doggy blanket provided for her comfort. The owners dog Oscar was delightful - even if you are not doggy people do not overlook this gem of a B&B the service; cleanliness, comfort and beautiful architecture of the villa is something not to be missed!

Room Tip: Do not overlook this excellent gem for a comfortable and clean stay Ashleigh House is very well pres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is my second stay at Ashleigh House and I have to say this is a five star B&B in my opinion. The breakfast is great and you have a choice of options in terms of breakfast. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. I will recommend Ashleigh House to anyone ;-) Jacqueline , London , England

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LostandFound186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We loved everything about this B&B. The location was great, very quick walk into town in one direction and a beach in the other direction. It is on a hill but this didn't worry us. The house itself is very charming and homely, the rooms are well designed, immaculately clean and well presented. Dawn and her husband are exceptionally friendly and welcoming. The breakfast served daily was great - very tasty and great range to choose from. The B&B is dog friendly so we were able to take our dog and the B&B is well kitted out for this and immaculately clean, you would never know there had been other dogs there at all. Torquay is a great location to explore Devon. We definitely recommend this B&B - I hope we can return one day!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at Ashleigh House last September and had a lovely long weekend. Dawn was a great landlady and made us and our dog very welcome, even putting special doggy fleece on the small put u up in our room. Our doggy preferred her own bed on the floor though! She also loved Dawns dog Oscar! Lovely clean and warm rooms. Dawn also provides some nice toiletries - an unexpected and pleasant surprise in a guest house! A great choice of breakfasts kept us full up for a days trekking around Torquay and the surrounding areas. I left my makeup bag in my room when we left and Dawn posted this to me immediately! Phew! No lippy alert!! All in all we had a lovely time and would definately return.

Room Tip: Speak to Dawn with your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#18 of 86 in Torquay
286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 150 in Torquay
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Robin Hill Hotel
The Robin Hill Hotel
#36 of 150 in Torquay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#8 of 150 in Torquay
791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cloudlands
Cloudlands
#57 of 150 in Torquay
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Torcroft Boutique B&B
Torcroft Boutique B&B
#10 of 150 in Torquay
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh House

Address: 61 Meadfoot Lane, Torquay TQ1 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £47 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Ashleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing