We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashleigh House
Ranked #50 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived at this lovely guest house to be greeted by Dawn and her lovely Dog Oscar. It was just the kind of welcome that makes you feel appreciated. The house is of Victorian style and extremely welcoming and homely. As a 20 something the decor is not to my style but there is just something magical about the place. The bed was super comfy and as with everything in the house sourced locally. The rooms are well equipped and extremely well maintained. We stayed in the top family room, which had plenty of room for myself and partner, 1 year old and large dog. It's worth noting that there are quite a few stairs to go up, but after walking up some of the Hills in Torquay what's a few more stairs to worry about. Breakfast is absolutely lovely and I would highly reccomend trying the Ham and Cheese on toast. It's not like anything I have eaten before.

It's in a brilliant location being 2 minutes walk from Torquay Harbour and 5 minutes from Meadfoot beach. There's a nice circular walk that takes in the Beach, and then some fabulous houses, Kent Caverns and Torquay harbour that I would reccomend taking.

We had a fantastic three night stay here at extremely reasonable rates, so much so that I reccomended the place to family within 2 days of being home. I am also looking at booking another break here in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlettsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    24
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
79
86
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

one of the most friendly, clean and generally happiest guest houses i have stayed in.
nothing is to much trouble, the breakfast was a+++++, dawn made us feel at home straight away, and would honestly tell anyone to go to ashleigh house as they will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steptoe362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Nice old big house.
10 mins from the harbour and town.
Although the banks are steep.
Nice quiet area.
Dawn is a fab host and Oscar is a star.
Was a bit worried with it been dog friendly, but never saw or heard another dog , just Oscar !
Would recommend it this b&b to anyone.
Book it !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have just returned from my birthday trip to Torquay and stayed at Ashleigh House. Greeted straight away by Oscar the friendliest (and quietest I think!) dog in the world, followed quickly by Dawn the owner.

Immediately made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast in the morning was brilliant with a wide variety of choice. The room was extremely comfortable and had everything you could need. For the evenings or if it rained (thankfully for us it didnt!) there were loads of DVD's to choose from for the evening at no charge. It was so close to everything you could need and were at the beach within ten minutes which meant you could leave the car there.

We arrived back in the afternoon to find a birthday card on the bed from Dawn which was an absolutely lovely personal touch.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ashleigh House and will definitely stay here again should we revisit the area. Thank you very much Dawn (and of course Oscar!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyElizabeth87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I'd recommend Ashleigh house to anyone thinking of booking torquay. Fantastic location, beautiful rooms, friendly hosts and a breakfast that I'm still craving. We'll definitely be back.

On arrival, we were greeted by Oscar the dog, a wonderful welcome, and then Dawn, the owner. We'd been upgraded 'just because', which was a nice touch.

The hotel is near enough to everything so you can leave the car behind, but far enough away so as not to be disturbed.

The room was beautifully decorated and so comfortable. Clean towels and a tidy up on a daily basis.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Can't thank Dawn enough for making our break as special as it was.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Beautiful n relaxing stay. First class service. Always greeted with a welcoming smile. Wouldnt go any where else now weve found this lovely guest house. Breakfast was so lovely n great to find some where that does vegatarian sausages. Dawn was always there to help n advise on days out. Cant wait to book again son dan & michelle.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kierjessbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

This guest house is top notch,stayed over bank holiday for three nights, Very clean excellent breakfast comfy bed. just five mins to harbour A few mins to a lovely pub Hole In The Wall wonderful food and entertainment when we were there. All round a very nice stay in Torquay so much so have booked again for September with our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed top of the house very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie11-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbour Heights Guest House
0.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#8 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#5 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Court Prior
Court Prior
#63 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hillcroft - Boutique unique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh House

Property: Ashleigh House
Address: 61 Meadfoot Lane, Torquay TQ1 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Ashleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing