We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay! just what we were after”
Review of Ashleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashleigh House
Ranked #63 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My friend and I stayed at ashleigh house for 2 nights at the start of July. The top floor room we stayed in was very comfortable with a single bed, double bed and a built in shower room.
The house has an overall warm feel to it, is well decorated and doesn't feel dated at all.
Dawn is an excellent host and made us feel very welcome as did her dog Oscar who is a very friendly little fellow! The breakfast was excellent and you can either opt for a full English or something lighter. Next time we visit Torquay I would definitely stay here again as the accomdation standard is very good and the value is very reasonable. I would highly recommend Ashleigh house to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife, myself & our cavalier king charles spaniel have just spent a weeks holiday at Ashleigh House. On arrival we were greeted by Dawn, who immediately made us feel very welcome. Our cavalier was heartily welcomed by Oscar & they became best of friends during the week. The room was great, with a really comfortable bed. The breakfasts were to die for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Dawn is a mine of information on all things related to the area & her knowledge was really useful during our stay. We arrived as guests & left as friends. We can heartily recommend Ashleigh House to anyone & we will certainly stay there again on future visits to Torquay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have just returned from a four day stay at the Ashleigh Guest House in Torquay. Dawn Smales made us very welcome and provided a most comfortable room. A lovely shower that worked a treat - which makes such a change!
The full English breakfast was just what we needed to start the day. We didn't need to use the car during our visit as the guest house is beautifully situated for the town centre and harbour, where we took full advantage of the bus service and ferry service to Brixham. No worry about parking there!
I have already recommended Ashleigh House to a couple who are visiting Devon in September and will be arranging a stay if possible. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

the breakfast was superb ,we have been before and will certainly go again dawn makes you very welcome and the rooms are extremely clean. it is so nice to be able to take your dog with you and oscar makes all the dogs welcome so all in all a very good time had by all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

As always we had a great time at ashleigh house, dawn makes us feel very welcome an of course Oscar 2, the breakfast r 2 die 4, would u go an find out urself how great it is there, we had fantastic time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devon227124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived at this lovely guest house to be greeted by Dawn and her lovely Dog Oscar. It was just the kind of welcome that makes you feel appreciated. The house is of Victorian style and extremely welcoming and homely. As a 20 something the decor is not to my style but there is just something magical about the place. The bed was super comfy and as with everything in the house sourced locally. The rooms are well equipped and extremely well maintained. We stayed in the top family room, which had plenty of room for myself and partner, 1 year old and large dog. It's worth noting that there are quite a few stairs to go up, but after walking up some of the Hills in Torquay what's a few more stairs to worry about. Breakfast is absolutely lovely and I would highly reccomend trying the Ham and Cheese on toast. It's not like anything I have eaten before.

It's in a brilliant location being 2 minutes walk from Torquay Harbour and 5 minutes from Meadfoot beach. There's a nice circular walk that takes in the Beach, and then some fabulous houses, Kent Caverns and Torquay harbour that I would reccomend taking.

We had a fantastic three night stay here at extremely reasonable rates, so much so that I reccomended the place to family within 2 days of being home. I am also looking at booking another break here in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlettsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

one of the most friendly, clean and generally happiest guest houses i have stayed in.
nothing is to much trouble, the breakfast was a+++++, dawn made us feel at home straight away, and would honestly tell anyone to go to ashleigh house as they will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steptoe362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,239 reviews
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
2,576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#45 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh House

Address: 61 Meadfoot Lane, Torquay TQ1 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ashleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing