We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Ashleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashleigh House
Ranked #54 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay here. The room was very clean and tidy and breakfast was excellent. Dawn is very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Wonderful location near to Torquay's shops, bars and restaurants. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieH263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    24
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
80
90
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in Ashleigh house some days in July, and it was perfect! Dawn is very welcoming and made us feel at home immediately, and our children loved Oscar, the dog. The room was comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the location is central, only a short walk from the sea and town. If it should be Torquay for us again, we'll move in here again. We'll highly recommend this accomodation!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rapp206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed hear in August 2014 and would highly recommend Ashleigh House to everyone.

The rooms were clean and tidy and the food was excellent.

The only downside was walking back up the hill from the sea front as it was a little steep, but if you don't have any disabilities, this won't be an issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne1979
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We took a little while to choose our guest house whilst staying in Torquay, and we were so lucky to come across this little gem. 8 of us(2 families) in total stayed here..4 adults and 4 children. We pulled up outside this beautiful guest house with parking outside, to be greeted by Dawn & lovable Oscar the spaniel. We were made to feel very welcome from the minute we got here. Our rooms were beautifully clean and tidy. Bedding was clean and beds very comfy. TV in the room, tea and coffee making facilities, shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom and spotlessly clean and fresh towels. Plenty of choice for breakfast from fresh fruit, cereal, toast, yogurt, to start ... Then onto choices for cooked breakfast. I had a full English, while my husband opted for boiled eggs and croissants. Foods was lovely and we were stuffed until evening. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend staying here. The walk into town was 2 minutes, so location was great too. Thank you Dawn for a lovely stay, see you again soon xxx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The best b&b ever. Dawn and Oscar ( oscar the pooch) just know how to make you feel at home..was our 2nd stay and was just as good as the first.
Was my partners birthday so I took a bottle of cava and I asked dawn if could chill it for me, she asked if I would like it on morning of my partners birthday. We did, came down and it was all ready with champayne glasses and chilled,went down well with dawns brilliant choice of breakfast. Whole stay memorable.
And again was sad to go home.
Thank-you again dawn and Oscar.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charleycole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Initially there was an issue with our booking (this was my fault not theirs) but Dawn couldn't do enough for me to get it sorted and after a short 30 minutes we were thankfully booked in.

Dawn (owner, cook, cleaner and all round worker) - Dawn was instantly warming and inviting and after a 4½ hour road trip this was just what we needed. She handed us our front door and room keys, showed us our room and left us to it but said she was only downstairs should we need her.

Oscar (the dog) - Oscar has to be the friendliest dog I have met. Our dog can be a right grump at times but even she couldn't be narky towards Oscar.

Street Parking - you need a parking permit as this is in a residential area but Dawn will sort these for you as soon as you arrive at no cost. They are hot on parking in Torquay though so don't risk it.

Location - 5 minute down hill walk from the harbour end of town. Coming from the Cheshire Plains and never seeing a hill from one month to the next this was a little tiring especially after a few beers. I wouldn't suggest it for a wheelchair or for someone who isn't so good on their legs.

B&B - home from home style, all the amenities you need and a vast collection of DVDs to use in the communal sitting room or you can take to your own room for a £5 refundable deposit should it rain or you just fancy a chill out day/evening. The room was spacious enough for the 2 of us plus Jessie dog. We had our own en-suite bathroom and ample hanging and drawer storage. If I had a slight and I mean slight criticism about the room it would be the decor wasn't to my taste. The signal for mobile phone internet was fine, I believe there was WIFI but we never chose to use this. There is a communal ironing board and iron on the landing should you need to use it.

Breakfast - we both loved breakfast here. My husband was a creature of comfort on both mornings and typically went for a full English. I tried American style pancakes with bacon and of course added maple syrup and this was gorgeous. Day 2 I had scrambled egg with toast. A small, very small criticism is the eggs weren't cooked enough for me but that's my fault I guess for not saying how I'd like them. They were still nice though. There is a cereal and fruit buffet you can eat as much as you'd like from too. Please be aware that unless you say no to toast a rack of it will appear and although it's nice I don't like waste.

Local Pub - at the bottom of the hill, turn right and immediately left down an alley of steps and then at the bottom of the steps on the right is a pub called 'The Hole in the Wall'. Dog Friendly pub that does lovely food too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnsmale, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for this lovely review.
I would just like to clarify that the problem with the booking was simply that the room was not quite ready when these guests arrived so they had a short wait whilst I finished preparing it. Rooms are available from 2 pm onwards. I suggest that anyone wishing to arrive earlier lets me know in advance so that I can prepare that particular room first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Dawn was warmly welcoming, provided a very pleasant room, scrupulously clean with daily cleaning and fresh towels. Breakfast was excellent - a wide range of freshly prepared options, good portions, hot dishes served on hot plates. Plenty of information about activities etc available in the area and Dawn was happy to give helpful advice. Her assistant Oscar the springer spaniel was just as enthusiastic about guests!
Ashleigh House is a charming period villa with plenty of character. 5 min walk downhill to quayside in Torquay: uphill on the way back but worth it walking past beautiful homes and gardens. Dawn's advice re restaurants was very helpful.Only one improvement I can think of - wifi would have been really useful.
My son and I will go back again any chance we get. A lovely safe, picturesque and pleasantly comfortable place to stay in a part of Devon that has much to enjoy with natural and historic features to explore and delight in.
Thank you Dawn and Oscar for making a special trip ever so much more special :)
Robyn-Elizabeth Whalley

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RewaZanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 87 in Torquay
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#26 of 87 in Torquay
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#47 of 87 in Torquay
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Park Guest House
Avenue Park Guest House
#50 of 149 in Torquay
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh House

Property: Ashleigh House
Address: 61 Meadfoot Lane, Torquay TQ1 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashleigh House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh House Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing