We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand by name but not by nature”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Grand by name but not by nature”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

I booked this hotel with the expectation that I would be with my family in a family room with balcony and sea view. Upon arrival I was shown to my room with a sea view but no balcony. I asked to see the manager and was told that due to health and safety that all balconies had been declared unsafe and as such we would not be able to have a room with a balcony. Also I was informed that there were no family rooms with balconies so there must have been some mis-understanding regarding the booking.After explaining that I do not make mistakes like that the error lay with the hotel and its reception team and not with me.To be fair to the hotel manager I dealt with we were offered a high tea for 3 at not cost and, although not mentioned to me at the time a reduiction of £25 per night was made to my bill.
In regards to the hotel itself, one of its main claim to fame is that Agatha Christy stayed there following her wedding. Well, what ever excited good old Agatha and prompted her to stay there has been lost in the mists of time.
Parking, If you arrive early and are very lucky you may get a space in the minute car park located at the rear of the hotel. if not then its on the road or in the station car park opposite. We did get a parking space but did not move the car for the whole of our stay due to fear of not getting back in again.
The corridors at the hotel are laid with threadbear carpets tatty wallpaper and are just dull and unattractive.
Rooms are okay I would have thought 3 star max.
The outside of the hotel on the terrace area shows the real issue with this hotel. As you look at the hotel it is tatty, in need of a good lick of paint with a flock of pidgeons who have taken up residence in the roof space.
Breakfast is buffet style and is adequate but not very exciting, eggs bacon sausage etc.
We did take an evening meal there and this was fine,this was due to the lack of decent places to eat in the Torquay town centre area.
During our stay there were a number of weddings taking place in the hotel so at times the terrace was taken over by wedding guests to the exclusion of hotel guests.
Overall the Grand is a great example of what is wrong with the English seaside hotels.
This hotel is living on its past glories and really does need to spend a considerable amount of money on a quality refurbishment.

Room Tip: Ensure booking detail are confirmed by email
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    729
    439
    226
    136
See reviews for
493
992
88
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Stayed at the grand for a 2 nite stay back in feb,the price was very reasonable as it was out of season,on a whole the hotel is very clean,room was large with on suite,outdoor pool was out of use but would be ideal in the summer months,indoor pool and jacuzzi was good,the gym is very dated and the men's changing area looked like it had not ben moped all day as we went in late,evening meal was 4 course which was excellent,an breakfast was also good,we parked outside the hotel and someone had scratched the wing mirror,a little tip for anyone park in the train station in the spots GH your car will be more safer there and there is cctv,on a whole we had a grand two nites at this hotel,would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask at reception very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeLeicester28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

to all the moaning people on trip advisor my wife and i had our wedding at the grand they were simpiy great.yes the hotal could with some work i am sure you moaners have told them.anyway why dont we all get be them and support english business .why it last

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happylardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Booked a table for my family to have a full high tea at 4pm on 2 June to celebrate my Father;s 88th Birthday. Waited over 10 minutes before realizing no waiter service was available so went to the bar and ordered our high teas. Another 15 minutes then tea and some biscuits arrived but the waiter thought that was all we had ordered. Fifteen minutes later still waiting so went to bar again and asked to speak to the bar manager who said our food was on its way whereby we were given a plate of jam and clotted cream but nothing else. Another 10 minute wait with no further food arriving so went directly to Jason the Hotel Manager to complain. Jason came with me to the bar as the food was arriving and offered to deduct 10% from the bill. The cream tea, sandwiches and cakes were fine but the delay in service ruined our celebrations and our special day! Not enough staff and lack of coordination with taking the order and delivering. Myra Jarvis

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Booked a fully inclusive 2 day break and given its 4 Star rating thought we would treat ourselves by upgrading for a seaview room.
Location - the hotel is situated immediately opposite Torquay railway station ( it was a former GWR hotel ) There are bus stops on the main road 2 minutes walk away serving the town centre, Newton Abbot, Brixham etc. Torre Abbey is approx. 12min. walk and the town centre 30min walk.To save a walk you can drive upto half away to the town and park for free between the hours of 10am to 4pm on the main road.
Parking - the hotel garage provides some 30 spaces ( get a permit from reception ) alternative parking is available in the train station car park or you can park on the road outside the hotel. All very limited.
Reception - friendly service but slow.
Entrance lobby - first appearance is impressive but then you notice the duct tape on the main staircase nosings and from here it starts to go downhill.
Room - as stated we paid extra for a sea view room but although the steps leading to the balcony were carpeted there was no access as the full height window could only be partially opened. Whilst the view was impressive the dirt and cobwebs on the balcony outside left a lot to be desired.The window was single glazed giving rise to some late night traffic noise. The room was small, approx 11ft square and was classified as a double. The carpet was threadbare and where signs etc had been removed the wallpaper was tatty. The bed was a divan ( so a solid unsprung base ) with a thin mattress ( I have slept on softer floors) The bed was covered in bankets and an eiderdown. A small flat screen was provided ( but tuned to all the wrong station numbers ) usual tea / coffee making facilities provided ( but the milk in the cartons were off ) a safe was provided but only usable by paying a daily fee of £2.
Perhaps the worst point was that the over bath shower was not thermastatically controlled resulting in a quick exit at first use following hot water suddenly becoming scalding. Totally an unsafe state of affairs.
The only good point was that the bed & bath room was spotlessly clean, all thanks to the staff and not the management / maintanence in this tired worn out room.
Compass Room - a comfortable quiet area which offered light snacks and drinks , complimented by good service.
Restaurant - the high point of this hotel giving excellent food and service.
Breakfast - buffet style but unfortunatelynot hot enough. Tea & toast, porridge ( barely warm ) provided by efficient waiter service.
Checkout - slow.
Overall - good staff but they cannot make up for an hotel that has seen better days.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a beter room rather than a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

The Grand hotel is positioned right next to the sea and ideal for walking along the front. What is good is the restaurant and evening meals especially if you managed to grab the dinner and B&B deal for £129. Breakfast is OK.

What let's the hotel down is that it is in a bit of a sorry state requiring referbishment. I'm not sure if this hotel was away from Torquay that it would survive.

The staff are young but well trained and friendly however at breakfast they were clearly not able to cope.

So in conclusion, if you get the deal then the hotel is good value, but don't expect luxury and the thought of Grandness

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveGrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

I was at the Grand last weekend. We arrived Friday evening and enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant with excellent very pleasant service from all staff. After an evening stroll we sat in the bar and listened to music while having a drink. A very pleasant experience. The room was a bit tired but having stayed here before we knew they were having a refurbishment.
However, Saturday dawned and the wedding arrived. Early afternoon saw the lounge taken over by wedding guests prior to the wedding. After an excellent dinner we tried to find a quiet seat in the bar to listen to the inhouse entertainer. This proved totally impossible. The noise of the disco in an adjoining room overwhelmed the singer in the bar and the room was too noisy for converstion. The next morning many people were complaining about being kept awake by noise, although I slept well.
I've stayed at several hotels while weddings took place and there are always similar problems. I think large hotels need to decide if they want the weekend trade or the wedding trade. It seems to me they make so much money from weddings they don't care if they loose individual visitors.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seasider-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing