We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Sea View Room and Very Convenient for the Railway Station”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sea View Room and Very Convenient for the Railway Station”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed for 2 nights from Tuesday 13 to Thursday 15 September 2011 in a single sea view room on a bed and breakfast basis. As a single traveller I was looking for a mid price hotel which offered reasonably priced accommodation for solo travellers (I paid £69 per night for B and B). I also ideally wanted a sea view room and I was delighted with The Grand.

The hotel is the large, cream coloured building next to the railway station so it was very convenient as when I got off the train I had to just walk across the car park and was in the hotel within 2 minutes. It’s located on the sea front and it’s a pleasant, flat, easy 10 – 15 minute walk to the harbour and the main restaurant and shopping area. It felt very safe walking back to the hotel in the evening on my own. Please be aware that there are no restaurants or shops immediately by the hotel as it’s adjacent to the station, residential apartments and an attractive park/ gardens.

When I arrived the check in was quick and as my room was already prepared I was able to go straight up. The room was on the fourth floor (top floor) and was accessible by lift or stairs. For a single room I was impressed with its size and layout. It was very clean, tidy and well maintained. There was an entrance hall with trouser press and the bathroom leading off it. The bathroom consisted of a shower over the bath, sink and toilet. There was a constant supply of hot water. The bedroom had a single bed, one bedside table, a wardrobe, chest of draws, dressing table and chair, portable sized television and an easy chair by the window which I loved to sit at and admire the sea views. There was an electronic safe in the room at a cost of £2 per day. There was also a tea tray for making your own hot drinks with biscuits. In the evening there was a turn down service and I would return to find the bedroom light on and a chocolate on my pillow.

Breakfast was included in my room rate and was the only meals I had at the hotel. The waitress brought tea, coffee and toast. The rest of the breakfast was self service. There was an impressive selection of food. There was a choice of cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, selection of different bread and pastries. There was also a good selection of hot food for a full English breakfast and a choice of fruit juices. The buffet was frequently replenished. Breakfast was held in a very elegant room with sea views and was a very pleasant start to the day.

The hotel had other facilities which I did not use so unable to comment on. There was a bar and lounge area, indoor swimming pool (which was closed for maintenance while I was there), gym and an outdoor pool which was frequently in use during my stay.

I always found the reception staff friendly and efficient. When I checked out I was able to leave my case with staff at the hotel and collect it later on the day. Overall as a single traveller I felt extremely well cared for throughout my stay. I would love to return and would be happy to recommend to others.

Room Tip: The seaview rooms have lovely views across the bay to Princess Pier and Torquay Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravel1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    750
    453
    232
    140
See reviews for
507
1,031
92
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I visited in August with my family and chose the hotel for the great location it has. It was a nice hotel - though definately needs updating!!

good customer service and nice ameneties. Big problem with parking - even with the extra available at the train station opposite.

we had a family room and we were happy with the room itself and the views. room was spacious also.

overall - needs some new deco and it would be great!!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GaryW673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Went with a group of 16 friends for an annual reunion. We were pleased with the price and the breakfast was good. However, they get their money back by charging excessively for their food and drinks. The tv in the room was very old and the remote didn't work and I found excrement on one of the bath towels! Parking was not easy and at a premium

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cats1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We only were on B&B fare and a group of us have stayed there every July for 8 years, but this year the breakfast was worse than normal, with fewer staff and this year no tonato juice on offer, which I personally prefer to orange juice for breakfast.
Secure parking was full most nights before we returned back to the hotel and designated resident car parking spots were not plentiful enough.

Room Tip: As usual, the bedrooms were ok, but many bathrooms are now aged and delapidated in various respects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRS4760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for a family celebration. All the rooms were tastefully decorated but you could see scope for modernisation.
The entrance and reception is very "grand" as is the bar and patio area which overlooks the heated outdoor pool,
We had our evening meal here which was fine. The menu was designed to compete with an expensive restaurant but lacked a little in quality and some of the flavour combinations were a little eccentric! Breakfast was self served and very tasty with lots of options.
Overall the location is lovely, beautiful view across the sea to the harbour. Around a 10min stroll to the town centre which is very manageable. Wish we were able to stay and explore longer! We would return for the right price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahrowe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

With family friends staying at the Hotel for a few nights it seemed a good idea to dine here as a celebratory dinner for one graduating from college, to move on to university. Our table initially 10 - rising to 11 with the addition of myself. There was a limited dress code (no trainers - Smart Casual only) and none particularily in the lobby / bar area.

The Menu was extensive, with a range of fish, meat and vegetarian dishes to suit all, all served very "gourmet" style, well dressed on the plate with garnish etc.

A few of the mixtures of flavours were questionable but Chef is only showing his creative flair. The dining experience was actually very relaxed, not overly formal and we were given our own space and time, the staff aware of when guests are ready to move to next course etc.

at £29.99 for a full 3 courses plus Coffee it seems as though for what you get, this was very reasonable. I certainly wouldnt hesitate to book a table again myself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlideal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The grand is our favourite hotel as a family, we have always received the most wonderful welcome and the service is always first class, our recent visit was purely for relaxing and we didnt move from the hotel for two days! the food and service in both the bar and restaurant are good quality and of a very high standard. The view from the lounge is wonderful and we never tire of it. I can certainly recommend this hotel and do so often. We are already planning a trip in December when there will be ten of us again ages ranging from 22-77years. We may even squeeze a weekend in before that.

Room Tip: pay a bit extra and have a sea view and look for dinner bed and breakfast offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EPreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,082 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing