We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A capable 4*”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A capable 4*”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Everything was fine about the hotel, location, service, meals. We stayed 4 nights for a conference. It is not opulent but a solid 4*. Rooms will need updating if they expect to charge Rack rates. Breakfast can be more varied.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fooe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    765
    463
    238
    145
See reviews for
518
1,057
93
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel with our two small children for my husbands birthday. I read some of the reviews before I booked but as always I like to decide for myself. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left all I can say is what a magical stay we had. Check in was quick and the receptionist was very polite. I had previously emailed the hotel to ask do they provide birthday cakes which they do. I also emailed them that as this was a special occasion could we have a room with a sea view. We had a lovely room with a sea view. The room was very spacious and clean. We had a three course meal at dinner and it was delightful. My 6 year old even commented on how lovely the waiters was. The birthday cake was presented after dinner and was well worth the £15.00 I paid for it. The children loved the swimming pool. We will definitely stay again in the near future. Credit to all staff that made our stay magical.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sh19777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was a great hotel, and I imagine in its early days was the absolute dream place to stay. The foyer and dining areas are beautiful and very grand, with gorgeous food and helpful staff.
The rooms however need modernising, my laptop screen was larger than the TV, and decor was very dated. The leisure facilities are compact, but clean and decent equipment for its size. Great sea views and great location, with the exception of a little awkward parking being in a central location, although the train station is literally opposite the entrance.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel in March and upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite - WOW! We stayed in the newly refurbished Prince William Suite and it was beautiful and well worth the extra money. Good size, good views, good quality fixtures and fittings and a lovely atmosphere. The ONLY negative we have is that the parking is a nightmare. I think the hotal should reserve a space within the garage area for guests staying in one of the more expensive suits! £500 for a weekend stay and no parking was a disappointment.

In terms of location, the hotel is very well situated. The indoor pool area is starting to look dated but apart from that we had a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Request the newly refurbished Prince William Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatalieJ_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Not sure if this really a 4 star hotel, but staff are happy, friendly & helpful.

Rooms are clean & above average.

Try & get a sea view with a balcony if possible.

Breakfast is very good (good quality sausage, I can tell you) & young family friendly.

Would happily stay again.

Only criticism would be of other guests smoking on their balconies, which the smell creeks into your room.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

I found the staff very friendly, professional and helpful. Great food. The room a little dated, but clean and comfortable, and for the price really good value. Really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallytompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

There is nothing positive that I can say about this hotel.

We have eaten at the Grand Hotel, Torquay on many occasions hoping it will have got better but we are continuously disappointed. One night we also stayed in two of their bedrooms and we won't be rushing back again!

If you are considering staying there I suggest that you visit first and just sit
in the reception area for 10 minutes whereby you will hear a multitude of
complaints form their guests.

The complaints will range from limited hot water in the rooms, rooms not as
requested, too noisy,and as for the food......................totally overpriced
and at large inedible.

Weekends attract a very young crowd either visiting or attending a wedding, you
do not want to be there then.

In it's heydey the Grand Hotel, Torquay was a whole different matter, impeccably
managed, very selective about their guests and very appreciative of anyone that
graced their steps.

Today a guest is just a number, bums on seats and pounds in the till are what
matters.

There are a few lovely Hotels inTorbay, sadly this is no longer one of them.

Unless you want a spoilt special occasion or a forgetable holiday I suggest you
try a different hotel...............in fact any hotel rather than this one.

I hope this helps you.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there, go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Food_Critic2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,100 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing