We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel, Excellent Service”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We called in to check availability, and were offered a good room rate. The room was shown to us by the duty manager, Daryl, who also gave us a tour of the hotel and some information about its ethos.

We were impressed by his honest and courteous approach as well as the quality of the room offered. We had a very pleasant stay, the breakfast was excellent and all the staff were very polite and helpful.

The hotel has a great location, on the sea front, close to the railway station and the bus network.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

A hotel where the service is superb, a rare thing in so many hotels. The restaurant and brasserie was always well staffed and the food was served in a timely manner by staff who were both smart and only too willing to look after you. The Sunday lunch was second to none, a full five courses, yes five! Then a stroll along the seafront to the centre of Torquay is a must, thankfully on the flat so not too taxing after lunch! The lounge and bar area is both cosy and friendly, a good place to chill after a busy day and there is a quieter area suitable for reading or catching up with the days newspapers. Our room was on the first floor and although above the flat roof of the bar area we had a full view of the bay. The room itself I felt was a little neglected compared to the rest of the hotel and needed some TLC. The superking bed was comfortable but the bedding left a lot to be desired for a 4 star hotel. Parking was not too much of a problem for a busy resort and if there was no hotel parking available the cost in the nearby train station was reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

If you want a taste of old fashioned excellent service lovely hotel and delightfull staff then this is the place for you.

Very quick check-in even though there was a queue, lots of attention to detail making sure we knew the restaurant opening times and all about the indoor swimming pool, and the offer of help with our luggage. We had no trouble finding parking even though we went out every day. Twice we were able to park in the garage, another time in the designated area's nearby.

The staff in the restaurant are very smart and nothing is too much trouble,(If you are lucky enough to get Jack for your b'fast waiter he is a delight very helpful and polite) we were surprised at how full the hotel was for a midweek in October but there seemed to be a lot of repeat business.

There were four of us aged between 26 and 60 and we were very impressed with the 3-course meal in the restaurant at night very good value for money. The bar meals were also very popular and just so convienient to be able to have a lovely meal in the hotel after a hectic day out and about.

Room Tip: Seaview if you are prepared to pay that little bit extra. rooms overlooking the Station are very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Public areas seem ok (if you like 20's pastiche) but clean and well presented. Dinner in the restaurant was very good however the room I had as dire. Dirty marked walls, holes in the wall where a television had been hung but now on a trolley in the middle of the room and the television was the cheapest brand going, pretty ancient and not even a decent picture. If you do book, make sure that you get a room away from the back of the hotel or you will be woken by deliveries trucks etc at 6am - that's if you can get to sleep in the first place because of the light flooding your room from the floodlights and shiny through a really ineffectual blind.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were not at all disappointed by this lovely hotel. Parking is a problem and the reception was rather busy and we were kept waiting on occasions but the room size was excellent. The room was of good quality, with a lovely sea view. We slept extremely well thanks to the very comfortable bed. The room was slightly hot but there was a fan provided. The position on the seafront is very good and the outdoor pool is lovely when the weather allows!!!
The best part though was the restaurant. The quality of food and value for money was extremely good. We particularly enjoyed Sunday lunch - the 3 course meal was great value. Would certainly recommend that people stay here, we found the whole stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view - it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

As can be seen in some of the prior reviews many believe that The Grand no longer lives up to its 4 Star rating and this review will merely confirm this fact.
Times are hard all over in the UK hotel trade and The Grand quite rightly tries to supplement its income with Charity functions, weddings, conferences and the like but the management seems now to accept the fact that the ordinary resident must take a back seat when these lucrative opportunities come along.
We booked in for one night on the 6th October, a double and a single room via their web site.
It was to be a birthday treat. Luxury and a good meal in a 4 star hotel..or so I thought .
The parking was difficult and that set the tone.I baulked at being told that I had to "leave open" my credit card, apparently this is company policy and it would seem that you cannot refuse to do it. I said I would prefer to pay as we went along but to no avail.See earlier reviews for problems regarding this policy. They can charge your card to the value of £1,000 in certain circumstances..wow They also have onerous cancellation fees too After that I was keen to get to the room. I knew the rooms did not have a sea view but I was surprised just how dated and tired they were. Indeed without a sea view I am unclear what The Grand has to offer that could justify its rating .
My mother (79) whose birthday it was popped down around 7pm to ask for champagne to be taken to the dinning table..that didn't happen. In fact one of the waiters denied that she had even asked. We came down later and were told that we would be seated at 8.15 that time came and went. We had another drink and more time passed .. Finally we asked a passing member of staff at what time should we head to the dining room..we were then chastised by another member of staff who told us we should have made our way there 8.15 . I should say that a member of staff had said they would come for us at 8.15. They were so busy that they forgot. . We did receive an apology for this but we sat in a drab side dining room until 9.15 before anyone took our order. The service was beyond slow it was positively dire . I suppose the food was OK but we were now so tired and fed up that it hardly mattered.The birthday treat had turned into a disappointment. No champagne, surly staff and one slightly inebriated mum ! There was a charity function on and I guess the staff were just too busy dealing with that.The place was heaving with people and it proved almost impossible to get served at the bar. We gave up and headed to bed.
We didn't get a good night's sleep and mum was disturbed by revellers from the charity function. She was banging on the wall at 4 am telling them to "keep it down"
We were also disturbed by knocking at 9 am on the Sunday morning ..it was housekeeping . We asked them to come back..which they 10 minutes later when they unlocked the door with their key and walked in...hmm !! I asked if this was normal. I was told I should have placed the Do Not Disturb sign on the door .
The hotel was busy at breakfast. The food was about adequate but a big queue was off putting and by this time we had had enough anyway. The hotel was gearing up for a wedding in the afternoon so there was a very hurried atmosphere . Frankly it was a miserable experience and we decided to complain. The careworn duty managed listened to our complaint politely, he accepted what we had to say and refunded us by £100. I was relieved that it was a refund rather than an offer of a free room or a discounted return visit . I accpet that things can go wrong and that we were unlucky but we wouldn't come back,as the hotel is generally unappealing and Torquay has better to offer than this

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

just got back from 2 night stay 17th oct.have to say pleasantly surprised by room after reading some comments on here (room 305 ) ok could do with and general over-haul but we found room spacious and clean few minor issues were hot room ,tv channels not working & fan not working.leisure facilities good.food generally good but rather small portions (ordered fish cake for starter recieved half a fish cake when queried with waitress was told they had been made to big so the chef was serving them cut in half !!! after i had pulled him up other diners recieved a whole one !!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.4 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
934 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#24 of 85 in Torquay
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £65 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing