We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for relaxing break.”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night break at the Grand Hotel,celebrating my wife's birthday.Cannot praise the service,hospitality and efficiency of all staff we came in contact with from reception to loung areas and restaurant.Arrived at 2.30pm and had no problem parking in hotel garage.Check in was efficient and professional,room allocated was 325 inland double,overlooking the Rugby Club.Room was very pleasant and fitted out with all amenities.Would suggest fridges are added for guests' comfort.Excellent atmosphere in hotel and all staff are really friendly and make every effort to engage in conversation .Food in restaurant was very good and has an excellent ambience for diners.Could find no fault with this hotel and would definitely return and recommend to friends/family.The hotel owners should be proud that they have such good staff to make anyones stay a memorable and delightful experience,will be returning for a "Grand" stay hopefully not too far in the future.

Room Tip: Have a seaview room on third floor for great views over bay.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelmanAtherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,852 - 1,858 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

There are many cheaper places to stay in Torquay but The Grand is good value at its price. The rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfast buffet is generous for those with a big morning appetite and if you're coming by train, the station could hardly be closer. It's a bit of a walk into town but no problem if you're driving. For the real ale drinker, the bar serves a very acceptable pint of Bays.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Inside and out this hotel very much needs up dating, the decoration and furnishings are very tired
We went to a wedding here and the staff were attentive and the food was good.The other problem the hotel has is very limited parking available to residents.Good view over the bay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This iconic hotel is not the grand lady she used to be, the lounge furniture is shabby, the lobby though is still old style glory.
BUT, the afternoon tea is wonderful, and the BEST scones ever,the hotel might need refurbishment but the service is still old style courtesy.
I have not stayed there, I have seen the bedrooms, nothing special, the staff are delightful, BUT the afternoon tea, SUPERB and best of all not expensive, £20 for Two, now thats a real deal.
Try to get a table in the conservatory part of the lounge and enjoy

Jean A Lewis

Room Tip: Cannot help on this one
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed just 1 night but you become totally relaxed, we had a lovely sea view room on the 3rd floor which gave excellant view across the bay. There was a fire display on Saturday night in the harbour which we watched from the comfort of our room. We eat informally in the Bar on Saturday night, enjoying a lovely bottle of wine and excellent food make from local produce. The Bar staff are very etentive and happy to assist as with all the staff in the hotel.

Room Tip: The higher floored room give better views
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My wife and I stayed from 13 to 17 November. The cost at the special rate £480 dinner, b&b for the 4 nights was exceptional value. I have read previous reviews about the decor and while I would agree that there are some parts of the hotel that need re-decorating, we didn't feel this was important as the main areas such as reception, the entrance hall, bar, reading room and restaurant were clean and nicely decorated. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming as were the restaurant staff. We always travel at this time of the year being our wedding anniversary and as the evenings draw in we find the extra cost of a sea view room is not worth it. We like to use the hotels as a base to do a lot of walking or if the weather is inclement do some sight seeing and consequently we return when the light has faded, so that you can't see much of the sea anyway. We always take pot luck with the rooms and we were given room 325 which overlooked the station car park .Although it was small it was very clean and we had no trouble in getting a good nights sleep. The maid service was first class as the room was left in a clean and tidy way, with fresh towels provided daily. The only complaint is that the room was very hot and I have noticed that previous reviewers have mentioned this as well; we didn't get a chance to find out why.

The evening meal was excellent and having booked a table each night for 8.00pm on arrival at the restaurant we were immediately ushered to a table. We were served without a wait and the whole evening experience was a delight. The breakfast was fine with all the usual fare served for a full English breakfast.

Parking is limited and it is on a first come first served basis with 26 free hotel dedicated spaces in the station car park, plus about 16 spaces in the hotel car park in addition to about 12 spaces in the street adjacent to the hotel. We had no trouble in parking, but I suppose it was because the hotel was not full.

I notice that one reviewer complained about being asked to provide a credit card on arrival. I don't have a problem with that as most hotels adopt this practice and one can see why as unfortunately there are some unscrupulous people who think nothing of slinking off without paying.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing stay in Torquay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

What a first impression! Lovely entrance and reception and a fabulously comfortable lounge bar. Service was excellent and very considerate.
All of that good work let down by the poor bedroom. Straight out of the 80's with peeling wall paper and a TV that belonged in a museum; i really couldnt believe it. Walls very thin and could hear every word of my neighbours phone call to her husband!
A colleague told me he knows which rooms to ask for as he has stayed many times, but for anyone else its just a lottery. I understand there is refurbishment underway and hopefully this will make this the hotel it deserves to be.
My advice: try it but make sure you ask for a decent room.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WainwrightBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#25 of 87 in Torquay
2,946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,132 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#27 of 87 in Torquay
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £76 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing