We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be had up by trades descriptions for calling itself The Grand....”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Should be had up by trades descriptions for calling itself The Grand....”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stay at this hotel every Christmas to attend The Holly Ball as it is easier to book the ball as a package.

Given this is the 5th year we have stayed here you would expect a hotel that calls itself 4 star would remember repeat guests but every year you get asked have you stayed here before?

Every year our room is smaller and more disgusting. This year Room 401 was where they stuck us. Clearly these rooms are not unless the hotel is fully occupied, given the amount of dirt, cobwebs and grime everywhere. There were hair grips all over the floor, so no doubt hadnt been used since the ball last year. We also had a beautiful view of the train station. As they had set the temperature of the room at Caribbean setting we had to sleep with the window open and from 5am were wide awake due to the regular train announcements.

The ball is usually a beautiful event but this year the hotel decided to put "nightclub bouncers" all over the communal areas which gave the feel of the event a really awful atmosphere. The people who attend the ball arent the types that need removing from a venue!

The next issue was the disgusting buffet. My husband had a side plate of food but was still hungry and as he had hardly had anything went to take a little more, but was told you can only come up once.

Then and this was the real treat. As the bouncers and hotel staff were policing the stairs and lifts, presumably to stop people returning to their rooms to get a drink. My husband went up to the room on his own and after a while we couldnt find him so I attempted to go up to find him. I was almost rugby tackled by the bouncers as I attempted to walk up the stairs. I therefore tried the lift and the same happened. I explained to them that my husband was in the room and because I didnt have the key they thought I must be lying. When I suggested they look at the booking I was told in no uncertain terms that I couldnt go upstairs. I therefore had to get the key belonging to our friends in order to get to my own room.

Breakfast was ok but the bacon felt like it had been warmed up from the previous day.

The ball is one of our favourite events of the year. We felt that it was completely spoilt by the hotel with the military style approach and inflexibility. They even rendered one lift out of order as they didnt have enough bouncers to police it.

The hotel is also disgusting and it is not as if it is cheap to go. Perhaps if the drinks prices werent so ridiculous you wouldnt need to bring your own drink.

So alas we have already decided that we are not going to attend next year and having spoken to many people at breakfast they felt the same.

PS: Who in 2012 doesnt have a duvet. Sheet and blanket and dirty ones at that!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzanne-Cantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    750
    453
    232
    140
See reviews for
507
1,030
92
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed here the night of Sunday 2nd December in a standard inland view double. The big attractions were the DB&B price of £115 for two and the location: on the sea front and beside the station. Our room was at the back (inland view) and comfortable although a tad small. Looking at the fire escape plan, sea view rooms, although more pricey. would give both the view and a good deal more space. The evening meal was from the a la carte menu and not restricted. The breakfast was buffet with English. We paid £2.50 extra for smoked haddock with poached egg.
The spa in the basement was an ideal place to warm up after a cold wet journey. The public roms are spacious with sea and promenade views together with a bar menu.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying the price of a sea view room for more space as well as the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
almeria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

If you're looking for the quintessential English experience you don't need to look any further than The Grand Hotel, perfectly situated on the English Riviera coast of Torquay. Though the resort itself may be showing signs of wear and tear and no longer the haunt of the elegant and privileged classes of the past, yet this hotel has not lowered its standards one iota!
Everything from its situation, the bellboys with the wardrobe rails waiting in the genteel foyer to the grounds, the comfortable and quietly understated luxury of the rooms and the public areas, plus the fact that it is a dog-friendly yet totally un-smelly environment makes this a hotel to be proud of. Add to that the fantastic restaurant with world-class chef and the welcoming bar areas and there is nothing left to be desired. Our idea of a marvellous break.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed one night here , to attend a Christmas Ball . Our room was small but comfortable , only problem being the double bed against the wall , so my husband had to climb around in the middle of the night trying to get out of bed to go to the bathroom .
The swimming pool and sauna were great in the afternoon . The food at the Christmas party was nothing special , drinks are very expensive and veg was so hard , we couldn't get our forks in the sprouts or cauliflower . If my works Christmas party is there next year , we wont bother going . Breakfast was lovely .

Room Tip: If you get a room with bed against the wall ask to be moved
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank small114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We start Christmas each year with a trip to the Grand Hotel. we are just back three nights b/b/d and you need not leave the hotel, have a really lazy/ very good breakfast, later we sat and watched the wind blowing the trees and the waves crashing onto the beach reading a good book. meet up with old friends for a drink in the bar. then maybe retreat to the open fire in the library for afternoon tea and cakes. There is a swimming pool, sauna and gym for those that need them. Then soon it's time for Supper or Dinner if you please what a treat and when it's all done off to our very comfortable room. just to add that the staff are lovely and helpful and helped to make it a Grand time. thank you!

Room Tip: sorry that's my secret !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeep10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The Grand Hotel is a little less grand than it once was, with some areas needing a lick of paint, and the food being nothing special, if perfectly OK. However, for the prices they offer, the hotel is a bargain - £35 for a nice single room, in a 4 star hotel, with full pool, gym & spa facilities, free wifi in all rooms, satellite TV etc and very friendly service. It's also ideally located on the seafront, right next to Torquay railway station. A very good choice for a business trip (and rather popular with the golden oldies too if the clientele at breakfast was anything to go by).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMcGovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The West Country
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

we attended our company christmas function at this hotel, the venue is quite nice but nothing special, the food was no better than school dinners. For a christmas meal it was severely lacking. Watery gravy small bowls of veg, they thought 2 servers of veg would suffice for a table of ten.We had to ask for cranberry sauce, surely you would expect that on the table for a christmas meal.

I probably would not bother attending another function at this venue.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2-ERLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,748 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,081 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing