We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand dissapointment”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Visited the Grand today to have a luxury day at the beauty spa. I cannot express my degree of disappointment sufficiently. The hotel is clearly under-staffed as the bar was closed and had to be manned by the swimming pool life guard. The restaurant runs at a snails pace 3/4 of an hour to get the first course on the table. The place is a shabby , tired old hotel that is well overdue for a makeover and staffed by personnel that should seek employment elsewhere as hospitality does not feature very high on their agenda. The indoor pool is more suitable for children as it was filled in to reduce the depth so that under health and safety a life guard was not required and would save on the employment costs. The showers were dirty , the lockers were the same - just long term neglect was visible everywhere. One of the Spa staff was so rude it spoilt the day because the restaurant took so long to serve food it put her schedule out - apparently a situation that happens frequently. For a days visit I was appalled at the general state of apathy, staff confusion and overall shabbiness of the hotels fabric and very disappointed that it cost me £200 to find that a 4 star hotel could be in such a state. These are only a small sample of what to expect at The Grand - Torquay can offer far better than this - and at half the cost!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere for your accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with your spa day this is not the kind of service we like to offer our guests hear at the Grand. Waiting 3/4 of hour for your lunch is not acceptable, especially when we are already aware you are hear. I must point out the pool bar by the outside pool may well of been closed temporarily, but our main compass bar was open all day to cater for our guests needs. We are looking at refurbishing our swimming pool and spa area in the future and you will hopefully see a big difference.

I wish the reviewer had asked for me on her spa day as I would have liked to have spoken to them. I hope you will come back and visit us soon as we are able to provide excellent service with a smile. As this time we did not achieve our usually high standards.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,687 - 1,693 of 2,463 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the bank holiday purely because we decided last minute that we wanted to go away and this was the only hotel with vacancies left. We arrived and firstly couldn’t find anywhere to park. The car park has a grand total of about 15 parking spaces and good luck finding a space on the road! The entrance to the hotel was reasonably nice but that was about the only thing that was... Our room was potentially the furthest one away from the entrance down long lopsided and dated corridors and our room looked like something from the 70’s. The bathroom had the craziest tiles, enough to give anyone a headache looking at them and don’t even get me started on the shower. It was just a trickle, good luck to any ladies wanting to wash long hair and go out on the same evening. There were also some disgusting brown marks around the toilet roll holder, does anyone want to guess what that was?! Fair enough the bed was comfy, there was a kettle with tea, coffee, milk and sugar and there were toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast is served until 10am. It comprises of a buffet style “hot” (more like luke warm) food selection along with cereals, very limited amounts of pastries, toast, yogurt and fruit. You also get a choice of tea or coffee and fruit juices. The hotel itself is quite a distance from the main part of Torquay. It’s good if you have family and want to be away from the noise that a more centrally placed hotel would have. It is by a train station though so you can hear trains passing by. This hotel wasn’t terrible but it definitely needs a lot of work doing to it to become a little more modern. It wasn’t worth the £270 we paid for 2 nights either and I definitely wouldn’t stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write you review. We do have more than 15 spaces for car parking for our guests at the Grand. We have numerous red bays in the train station car park, further parking on the road and we have negotiated a deal with the sports club car park across the road. This is in addition to our 15 spaces in our covered car park.
I am sorry you didn't enjoy other aspects of your stay and have instructed our housekeepers to look into paying extra attention to the smaller details of their cleaning routine in the future. All our showers are in full working order, on occasions like any hotel we do have maintenance issues and if you report them to reception we would endeavour to fix them as quick as possible.
It is a shame you have decided not to return at this point, however I hope in the future you will give us another chance to show you the majority of time we get it correct and our guest leave happy.

Kind Regards,


Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Pitched up early hours in the morning, early June. Parked on the road right outside, no mither. Had to ring the night bell, arrival processed by one of the night porters, but you can't expect a genuine receptionist at that time of night, can you ? Walked over to the empty bar for a well deserved bottle of lager. Place deserted. Well, it were three in the morning, you can't expect the place to be buzzing at that time of night, can you ? Wandered over to the balconee offav the bar to have a long lingering look at the Italianate curvature of the town of Torquay and the harbour in the middle distance. Beautiful. Said as much to another of the night porters who was having a sly fag on the balconeee. He just grunted by way of response, prompting an awkwardness as the two of us stood there silently, smoking and watching, in the early hours of that unforgettable Saturday morning in early June. Bet he thought I was coming on to him, because I'd arrived alone. But, I wasn't. But, that's why I think he weren't for striking up a conversation. And, if he's reading this now, let me just say 'Mate, I weren't trying owt on, I were just saying how beautiful the scene across the bay were'. Anyway, they gave me a crummy room for the first night, with a rubbish view, but, when the Missus arrived the following day and started kicking off, we was upgraded to a proper mint massive room with a smashing view of the beautiful bay. Special mention to the guy what were doing painting by the poolside. Lolling in the pool, watching him painting. Absolute joy. Got those brushstrokes spot on. Total genius. Real pride in his work.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poachedorfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have eaten here, partcularly for lunch on quite a few occasions over the last few years, but the lunch menu is now very limited and uninspiring. It doesn't feel like very good value. The young waiting staff are generally poor except for one more mature lady lady who smiled and wanted to be helpful.
It amazed me that there was no Sauvignon Blanc in stock, although they do offer 4 or 5 on their wine menu.
Overall the hotel needs an update, the area with the leather chairs and libaray feel is pleasant but the rest of the main areas and run down. The colour scheme is dated. This needs a review by someone with style, who can maintain the original features but give it a wow factor. The bar in the centre of the lounge could be lovely but it is worn out, in a bad way.
The views are lovely but the hotel could be capitalising on its position with some imagination and flair.
The rooms need a similar overhall, it feels very much past its best, which is a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeautifulTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've been coming to Torquay, twice a year for the last 16 years. This is our 2nd time at the Grand and last - we stayed in room 409 which is classed as a premier room ( not on this earth, is that a 4star premier room), we were expecting a lot better we found the room very small,claustrophobic,hot,tired, dated and very basic. The bathroom was no better with the added addition of cheap toilet paper and a toilet that wouldn't flush. In our opinion the Grand is not worth a 4 Star and we've stayed in a few! The breakfast was average at best and couldn't understand why there was a surcharge for additional items such as kippers etc, our cups did not match and were both dirty, we also had to hunt for a couple of clean plates in the pile of plates that seemed ready for the carboot!
The whole hotel needs a total transformation and the decor resembles the haunted mansion in Disney World.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thethug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel was booked by our friends for a weekend to celebrate their wedding anniversary
After reading some of the reviews on here I was a bit concerned but the room was clean and the beds were comfy tea and coffee in room I couldn't decide whether our room had been recently done or not but it is definitely very old fashioned.so if you want modern clean bright hotels don't stay here
We ate in the balcony restaurant and the food was ok but nothing more. The staff were friendly
We were lucky we went down for breakfast about 8.45am but after that it was a scrum not enough staff clearing the tables or restocking the hot breakfast dishes lots of people were very annoyed.
There were lots of signs telling when the busy it's time was but no one seemed to have taken any notice

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel which was looking out over the train station but it didn't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marydelahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We booked for the gourmet barbecue evening on the terrace for the torquay fireworks..3 adults and 3 children. I would say that the view of the fireworks were fantastic but disappointed with the barbecue to me it wasn't very gourmet not much choice of food, a bowl of mixed salad and coleslaw, beef burgers with dry rolls there was a choice of spicy chicken and spicy prawns ( which my children didn't eat because of the flavour) and boring new potatoes.. No imagination was put into the menu..The only sparks were in the dessert and the fireworks..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank MNWLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,013 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 86 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#26 of 86 in Torquay
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 86 in Torquay
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £67 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing