We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mr mccullough”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“mr mccullough”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights on a business trip to torquay in feb,just wanted to let other people who are thinking of staying at this 4 star hotel my own experience there. The room I stayed in was very old like the hotel it needs updating some what ? Have stayed a 3 star hotels which had better rooms and facilities ? One the upside the staff were very friendly and extremely polite,which one would expect from a 4 star hotel. The food in the restaurant was good as well as the service. My opinion is that the grand hotel needs to update the decor in the rooms,or maybe I was unfortunate to get a room that was not up to a 4 star standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    742
    446
    228
    139
See reviews for
501
1,013
89
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Recently had a few days at this lovely hotel, the room and staff were great until it came to having dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Had to ask for the simple things like butter with the bread and it took for ever for the drinks to arrive. Decided to try the bar restaurant the next night and this was just as bad in fact as it was next to the bar you wouldn't expect to wait 15 mins for 3 drinks
The one saving grace, was our waitress Victoria, who kept trying to hurry things up and was clearly embarrassed by the delay
Come on, this is a great hotel in a lovely position, you just need to sort the restaurant out

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a little noisy if you want to sleep with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your few days at this lovely hotel.
We do have a great team here and we have recently taken on a fair amount of new team members who are in training. Good training takes time to get it right. We are aware a few guests have been waiting longer than usual for their drinks and this is being addressed with immediate effect. I must add on occasions we can cater for over 300 guests in one evening at the hotel and the vast majority are served with a professional attentive service. You state it is such a shame about the changes at the breakfast service from buffet to plated. We are making these changes after listening to our guest’s feedback to improve the quality of the product we offer our guests. We only made these changes a few weeks ago and there are obviously going to be a few issues which we are endeavouring to eliminate.
I am glad you think it is a great hotel in a lovely position and I look forward to welcoming you back to the great hotel with great service in the future.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The service from all the staff was great, especially the girls in the bar. My room was lovely too, as was the hotel. The girls from the nail bar were very nice as well.

Room Tip: Request a sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donn4B4rry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your beautiful review, we are lucky to have so many wonderful staff working at the Grand Hotel whose passion is to look after our guests requirements and make sure they have an enjoyable and relaxing stay. You are correct the views from the vast majority of our rooms are spectacular with panoramic views across the bay. I look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

WE STAYED MON-THURS, ON RECOMENDATION FROM A REGULAR GUEST AT THE GRAND,
The rooms and reminiscent ambience of the hotel is lovely and unique, and the cuisine is top notch. The staff are helpful and friendly, and rooms warm and welcoming.
.However.... The system of service in both the bar and restaurant is only what can be described as ''strange''.
I am tempted to say ''pretend posh'' , By which I mean... LOTS of individuals, doing isolated individual roles, following their own individual protocol..to absolute perfection....BUT perhaps a case of the left hand not being sure what the right is doing ??
We saw one occasion when a couple ordered drinks with a waiter who came to serve them[ very nicely] in the bar area. The couple were then escorted into the bar restaurant by [a lovely] waiter 2, who the couple informed that they had ordred drinks. He assured them that he would bring said drinks in. Then[ the polite and friendly] waiter 3 took over at the couples table....... then the drinks arrived in the bar area with the original [nice guy] waiter..who wandered round bemused, looking for the couple. this continued for a few minutes...dispite both other waiters passing the original waiter twice ! eventualy..it was too painful to watch...so we told the waiter with the drinks that the couple were in the dining area ! [ could see them through the window]
THE MOST DISSAPOINTING PART OF OUR STAY. We were presented with a wonderful buffet breakfast on day 1. Then on day 2 with no prior warning...we were told it was now plated for full English. This is totally inconvenient for us. Our toddler has rice crispies and will, like most small children..become agitated when she had to wait for mummy and daddy's breakfast which took 20 mins to order...then 25-30 mins to arrive.[ we also had to call someone over after 15mins because we hadn't been asked if we wanted tea or coffee]
We saw one tray of ready breakfasts brought out by one member of staff, and just left standing for ten mins on a side board as staff just walked back and two[past the tray] in a state of panic and chaos !
It just seems such a shame that these out-dated, and not very economical serving systems, are clearly instructed by management. And the changes to the buffet are obviously an attempt to portion control and cost cut. But in real terms...the cost is sure to be higher, in volume of work for chefs and waiters..and the most damaging....lost repeat visits.
The real shame is that the staff are such a polite, professional and friendly bunch !!!! especialy Hassan...who I have to say, went a long way towards lightening our disappointment over the breakfast scenario !
SO TO SUMARISE. The grand is unique and does offer some sense of bygone luxury and tradition, coupled with amazing food. The staff have all the qualities required to make guests feel special too. I AM however quite annoyed by the cheek with which the management decided to juggle and experiment with my experience,without notice. and for this reason will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickynoodle38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your long in depth review after you recent stay with us. I am pleased overall you felt the hotel is lovely, unique, the food top notch, the team helpful and friendly and the rooms warm and welcoming. Wow! what better review can I ask for, any hotel would be pleased with those comments. However I feel it is slightly unfair to single out a waiter in the bar for being bemused where his customers had gone/moved. Yes the other staff should have communicated with him and told him where they had moved them. But surely a little nudge in the right direction like you did was fine and then possibly a word to the duty manager would of sufficed.
I apologise you felt the most disappointing part of your stay was the change in how the breakfast was served. We have not done this to save money we have changed it from buffet to plated to give a better quality product to our guests. We have listened to guest feedback as the buffet service was not working. Obviously with any new way of service we are going to have issues which we are trying to eliminate. However I can assure you we were not experimenting with your stay and were purely trying to enhance our guest’s experience. It is shame after all your favourable comments above you have decided not to return as we would love to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We were lucky and managed to get a car park spot in the garage otherwise on the road parking if you can find a place or in the railway station car park over the road I don't know how much this is I didn't look. The staff were very polite and friendly noting was too much trouble for them
The pool area was good, but needs more attention in the locker rooms every thing is wet and didn't look very clean.

Our room was spacious, beds comfy, but the night we stayed the wind was blowing gale force and blew through the windows that don't fit too well.
I was told they were renovating the hotel but did not see any thing myself to agree either way. Not the best hotel we have stayed in but certainly not the worst, reasonable value for the cost

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had previously stayed at the Grand in April 2011 and really enjoyed our 2 night stay (31st Oct- 2nd Nov this year). We had 2 superb evening meals, we both had hake as our main course on the first night and then sea bass the second night- it was faultless. The staff at all times were very happy and welcoming. We had a comfortable sea view room (314). The only minor problem was the shower wasn't working correctly at first. Rather than contact reception I soon fixed it by tightening the screw in the head of the shower. We have stayed at all of the Richardson hotels in the south west except for the Metropole in Padstow (we did however have an excellent Sunday lunch there once. Other guests mention on Trip Advisor about the hotel is looking tired around the edges, my view would be that the hotel is excellent value for money, taking everything into consideration, so I believe if there was a major re-fit the prices would considerably increase, so probably reducing the number of guests staying there. We liked the convienience factor of the railway station and so left our car in the hotel garage.

Room Tip: Always choose a sea view room, when you have a stunning location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have stayed here many times and this time booked a family room as a half term treat for our grandchildren. We were not disappointed. A lovely hotel as always. The breakfast situation is quite amusing.
On Tuesday we had a buffet breakfast - excellent. On Tuesday it was plated which caused some confusion - food still excellent.
I mentioned this to the receptionist on checking out, she commented that as a 4 star hotel it should be plated but to be honest I think most people would rather a buffet for breakfast.
Either way we shall return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasider-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing