We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would never stay anywhere else”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would never stay anywhere else”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Have stayed at the Grand for a number of weekend breaks, the latest being a special deal for dinner, bed and breakfast. What a treat! absolutely beautiful Christmas decorations, wonderful room, superb three course meals and friendly, efficient staff. All for under £100.00 per night! Thank you Richardson Hotels we will never stay anywhere else in Torquay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
I am pleased you were able to take advantage of one of our special winter offers and you found it a real treat. The Christmas decorations are definitely worth a visit and make The Grand Hotel a magical place to visit especially around the festivities. The team at the hotel are professional and efficient and are here to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, but without being over intrusive. I know we will be seeing you again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    750
    453
    232
    140
See reviews for
507
1,031
92
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Beautiful hotel spectacular views and staff that make each guest feel important. Relaxing and atmospheric reminiscent of times long ago when service was everything. Staff helpful to a fault. Go and treat yourself!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAXMAN111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your short but impressive review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and you found the service and team to be excellent. We do have spectacular views from many of our rooms or you can enjoy a gin or tonic or two in our Compass Lounge watching the day go by. With this beautiful winter sunshine we are having you would soon forget what time of year it is, as the expansive windows let in the heat and keep out the cold and give you a panoramic view of the beautiful Torbay Bay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Having made the decision in November 2012 to get married this autumn it was natural to choose this hotel for the celebrations. They provided our own events co ordinator ( Louise) who professionally ensured that our wedding went smoothly. On the day we were assigned a personal manager who guided us through ensuring that we were in the right place at the right time.
We chose the Platinum package with a couple of amendments. In March we attended the hotel for a wedding tasting. We had to share 3 starters followed by 3 mains and 3 desserts all in one sitting. Now we know what its like to be a judge on Master chef!!!!!
Additional services supplied by the hotel include recommended florist, display and events package providers. We are happy to recommend Torbay Displays, Cover Cupboard and Barton's Florist. Our photographer was Martin Tuci ( check out his website) .....he is exceptionally talented and has produced our album within 5 weeks and a video of the occasion.
The whole experience was quite magical and , as always, the food was heavenly.
With 50 guests for the wedding breakfast and an additional 20 for the evening disco we all had an enjoyable time ......and I will apologise to the person who has reported here, ,on this site, "the "rowdy" guests that tainted his/her Friday evening on October 25th"........it was us!!!!

Room Tip: If offered, alongside on of their packages, an upgrade to a seaview room take it. Well worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandaleous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned home and if honest wouldn't have gone if I'd believed some of the reviews. Partner booked as a surprise and have to say I was pleasantly surprised! Yes the room was a bit in need of redecoration but what do you expect at the very end of a long high/mid season. A very clean and tidy room with all that is needed- toiletries, tea coffee etc and lovely fruit bowl. Balcony was really quaint.
Pool and health suite were great
Compass bar was brilliant and food and service - great- thank you.
Breakfast was really nice- cooked to order not usual luke warm buffet.
When we arrived we were met by a very helpful guy who helped us to park and when we moved on to reception we were met with a very friendly and efficient receptionist.
The views and perfect surroundings ensure we will be back. Loved the grand - thank you so much all the staff for making our break so lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biddy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Nice position, well appointed - extra friendly and helpful staff. Service, room and breakfast exceptional. Would definitely stay here again - loved it. Thanks to staff for making stay so enjoyable - swimming pool facility very good too - hotel easy reach of town and beach

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Although very new to the internet I am not new to the Hotel. I stayed here around 30+ years ago, Ienjoyed it then and I still enjoy it now. Living locally I don't stay here so cannot comment on the rooms. The resteraunt however is grand and the food sublime. I dine here with friends and family often and the Sunday lunch is particually fantastic. On occaision my husband and I enjoy quite drink in the surroundings of the Compass lounge and listen to the more than friendly pionist, Paul who is a credit to the hotel. The waiters can be slow at times but I think this is due to many new staff coming and going and maybe a language barrier, this is not a complaint as who is in a rush anyway? Susan in the bar is also very lovely. Most of the reception staff are always very friendly and if they don't catch you on the way in for a natter, they will catch you on the way out! The two handsome boys there are especially helpful, friendly and funny. I say most, I'm not one to criticise people but the tall dark haired girl on reception has a very unpleasant manner towards guests, and once was very rude to my daughter who is a gym member. She also told some dinner guests of mine that she was the new hotel manager but I know this is not the case as the manager is a man but I don't know his name. Anyway, apart from that I would thoroughly recomend this hotel for the public areas to anyone thinking of a stay in Torquay and enough of these "former grandure" comments! Food excellent. Staff excellent. Hotel excellent!

Room Tip: Get a seat in the conservatory, the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryandsteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Wonderful Hotel showing its age. The 1970's Amerrican influenced entrance with unsympathetically added ramp couldn't be less Grand an entrance from the Railway opposite, nor from the Hotels car park with its leaky tin roof and access past the bins. Once inside though, the main bar and restaurant are all very pleasant, and whilst the rooms are nothing particularly special, there is nothing too wrong with them either that a good redec couldn't sort out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s22urf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you felt we have faded charm as we feel the charm is within the building and the people who work and visit the hotel. The entrance to the hotel is Grand with marble steps leading up to a newly refurbished reception area opening out to the Compass Bar and Lounge with a Grand staircase leading to the 1st floor and down to the leisure facilities with sauna and Jacuzzi. We have 132 bedrooms and I agree some need a little TLC in places. Many have already been refurbished and we have a structured plan over the next 12 months to complete the rest. I hope you will be able to return at some point in the future and see the grand old lady when we have completed our work.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,082 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing