We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had lunch at the Hotel yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. We had a lovely view of the sea from the window and enjoyed all the Christmas decorations. It was all looking very festive. As I am on a diet I had the garlic prawns with rocket salad - delicious. My husband chose the burger which was excellent, the chips looked wonderful! Alison our waitress looked after us very well, nothing was too much trouble. We shall certainly visit again.

Room Tip: As we did not stay overnight I am unable to comment except to say that there must be plenty of sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussycherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    717
    431
    221
    131
See reviews for
486
970
87
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I was invited to attend a business dinner, so were 200 others! I went for the occasion, not the food or service. The food was excellent, our guest speaker arrived an hour late but still the chefs turned out a very well cooked and tasty three course banquet. The only faults I could find, and this if I look for faults, were my bread roll was a scone and when I refused my starter , nobody asked why,( I am allergic to cream). Well done grand hotel.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are worth the premium and check they have no large parties staying, if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed over for 3 nights on business. The room was great and service was fantastic. Ask for a sea view room. It was very cold and windy but the view from the bar conservatory was fantastic. The food was great every night. I would recommend the salon for a nice relaxing massage too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank W33D33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

First time to Torquay, First time at the Grand Hotel. Located in the Seafront area, some-how backs onto the FRONT ENTRANCE of the RAILWAY STATION (I should have taken the TRAIN as there is difficulties in parking in Torquay).
The Grand hotel has a great view, Good rooms (with Comp. Tea making facility), a nice restaurant which serves buffet style continental Breakfast with waiting staff taking orders for Tea, Coffee & Full English Breakfasts.... It's all you need.
The Hotel has a lounge bar serving drinks & snacks and has live entertainment some of the days. It was a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soliman715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Sixty members of Torquay Tennis Club met up at the Grand Hotel for our Xmas lunch. Everything was organised very well table plan, place settings with reminders of things we had ordered. The food was presented quickly and it was very tasty,not an easy thing for so many people. Well done to all the staff

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orbslos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely Hotel.

Very welcoming young lady on recept desk sets you off well.

We had a room at the back/side but still had a decent view and could just see the sea.

Very nice room,plenty of space.

Food first class (not cheap). Breakfast good.

Would go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBridgwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you found the young lady on the reception desk welcoming and that you would like to stay again with us. We have a variety of rooms at the Grand Hotel and many have sea views, however we do have rooms which look over the sports grounds and the Victorian train station which guests enjoy and this is reflected in the tariff. We have two restaurants for you to choose from at the hotel. Our 1881 restaurant has one rosette for culinary excellence and our Compass lounge Brasserie offers a lighter fayre, this we find offers reasonable prices for a wide spectrum of guests. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Have stayed at the Grand for a number of weekend breaks, the latest being a special deal for dinner, bed and breakfast. What a treat! absolutely beautiful Christmas decorations, wonderful room, superb three course meals and friendly, efficient staff. All for under £100.00 per night! Thank you Richardson Hotels we will never stay anywhere else in Torquay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
I am pleased you were able to take advantage of one of our special winter offers and you found it a real treat. The Christmas decorations are definitely worth a visit and make The Grand Hotel a magical place to visit especially around the festivities. The team at the hotel are professional and efficient and are here to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, but without being over intrusive. I know we will be seeing you again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing