We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, especially when checking in at reception. very clean rooms, comfortable beds. Room was warm so tried to open the sash window but would not stay open. :-( Bar menu very nice food excellent and a good selection. Not tried the main restaurant as a bit over my budget but I'm sure it's value for money all the same. Parking is Free which is good. Would use this hotel again, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a see front room if you would like a nice view. Some rooms have a window but offer no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,617 - 1,623 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

What a very nice Sunday lunch experience. A four course menu for just £14.95.

Nice selections in each course with a variety of meat and fish dishes for main. Excellent service by the waiting staff. Entertainment in the form of soft background keyboard music.

Great service, great meal and a lot cheaper than you'd expect!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We decided to have a weekend break with our eldest son,we live in Bournemouth he lives in Torpoint, so Torquay seemed the ideal meeting point.Our choice of hotels could not have been better,situated right on the seafront.On arrival we were met by a most helpful receptionist and even though the weather could not have been worse it made our journey seem worthwhile.
The food,accomodation and service was first rate, the staff being a credit to the hotel chain.
would reccomend this hotel to anyone and indeed have done.we will be returning as soon as the weather improves.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Called in for an afternoon tea having visited this hotel a couple of years ago. We had only just arrived in the lounge and had not started to take our coats off when the waiter came over to ask if we required a menu. We ordered a cream tea for both of us but the tea arrived immediately and I had already drunk one cup before the Scones arrived. They were very hot and totally crisp on the outside, the jam was as cold as the cream. Not much change from £10, won't be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mag16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for calling in to the hotel for afternoon tea. You are correct you won’t get much change out of £10 as our cream team is priced at £6-50 per person. This is a competitive price for a 4 star hotel. The tea is usually served with the scones, however the scones are freshly baked each day and are warmed in the oven when they are ordered and sometimes the tea can arrive early depending on how busy we are. The scones sound as if they were slightly over baked and I apologise for this as this is not our standard. The jam is stored in the fridge as we make our own jam and it’s not full of preservatives and won’t last stored in a cupboard. I am sure if you had informed a member of the team at the time of having your afternoon tea we would have replaced it straight away if you were not entirely happy. I hope you will come back and give us another try as we are know for a full afternoon tea service and have many happy returning customers.

Kind Regards,


Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Just had another stay at this hotel. All I can say is please bring back the buffet breakfast. It was so much nicer and hotter. Some of the evening meals also came out luke warm. Spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hollydays12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

I did feel the reviewer’s title is a little harsh and this is not a standard at the hotel. Yes we have had issues with our breakfast but we are working hard to ensure our guests have the perfect breakfast every time. One of the reasons we went away from buffet breakfast was because we received complaints about it being cold and unappealing, therefore going back to it kind of defeats the object which I have stated above. I sincerely apologise on this occasion your food was not as hot as it should have been and can assure you this is being rectified with immediate effect with our team.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,


Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Absolutely lovely, didn't want to leave.
Very Very welcoming and friendly staff, gorgeous food, amazing entertainment everything was just absolutely perfect! Will definitely be coming back without a doubt!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. Our team at the hotel are a great asset who are professional and polite and are here to meet and exceed our guests expectations at all times. We have recently recruited a new Executive Head Chef who is installing new standards in our kitchen and creating exciting new menus to tantalize the taste buds of any discerning diner. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,


Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Rooms very dated and for what you get very expensive. Prices in the hotel are rather expensive as well . Staff are very friendly and rooms are clean and tidy. Food is faultless cooked to perfection but very overpriced... beauty salon excellent. Overall enjoyed our quiet relaxing weekend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1Allisonjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Some of our rooms are requiring an upgrade and we have a whole wing of the first floor sealed off at present to do exactly this. We have installed a structured refurbishment programme going forward for the next two years which will see vast improvements at the hotel including a new leisure and spa area.
For a four star hotel we are competitively priced in the market place for accommodation, food and beverage and are constantly reviewing our pricing structure with our competition. We have many offers on throughout the year and at present you can stay with us for £69 on a bed and breakfast basis or £99 on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis in February in a standard room, upgrades are available.
I hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,


Andrew Griffiths.
Deputy General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £62 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing