We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapointing food spoiled our celebratory event.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disapointing food spoiled our celebratory event.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our family of 4 adults decided to call in for an birthday evening meal on 22nd Feb, We have used the Grand many times over the years and have positive memories of our experiences, the views are superb the ambiance great and the food had been decent, however this visit did not live up to expectations. The waitress who showed us to our table was very charming, she went to great pains to tell us her name and assure us she would be looking after us well for the duration of our meal, but after taking our order she didn't serve us again, and we had a succession of staff we needed to summon for our needs. After quite a long wait the food finally arrived. One meal, a risotto,was tepid, as we could not attract a member of the waiting staff my daughter went to the bar area to request the cool food be changed for hot. by the time her meal was replaced the rest of us were two thirds of the way through our meal my daughter having sat watching us eat. When her meal was replaced the risotto dish differed from the 1st, it had no truffle oil and consisted of watery tasteless rice containing a few bits of mushroom. My daughter again called staff and complained. By this time as the rest of the family had finished eating she decided enough was enough and declined any other replacements.
The food in general was mediocre, our other daughter left most of her meal, my husband ate his but was not complimentary about it and I had a fish pie which was OK but I have had better fish pies as pub grub and cheaper. Come on Grand pull your socks up, you did not come close to competing with other places we have eaten recently.
On the plus side, staff, when we managed to attract their attention were polite and helpful, the view was still stunning, the hotel warm and comfortable and the toilet facilities clean and pleasant to use. We were not charged for the dishes we had taken issue with and that were uneaten. but this was still a disappointing experience we would not wish to repeat, it marred a celebratory event.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    728
    438
    226
    136
See reviews for
492
991
88
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We love old,characterful hotels and this one is lovely.... but ,our room was nicely decorated and furnished,with big comfy bed etc.The walk in wet room was fabulous.The staff were ever attentive and always helpful.The indoor pool/gym and changing rooms where all of a good standard.
Now the sad points,the carpet at the end of the entrance foyer has seen better days leading to an overall feeling in the public areas of faded grandeur .Scuffed,chipped skirting boards and a lift that was out of order the whole time we were there only added to the sadness.In the morning the long awaited cooked breakfast was not good,luke warm and rather small as others have mentioned.
We live in Cornwall and often visit The Falmouth Hotel.Both these hotels are owned by the Richardson group and are of a similar age.If money is spent to bring The Grand up to the wonderful standard found at The Falmouth ,then in my option this charming old hotel will be a great place to stay.To be fair there was restoration work going on in some rooms during our stay but I fear that years of work lay ahead .Please,please dear Management team,go and visit The Falmouth Hotel to see how it's done.I promise I shall return in a year or so to see how you are getting on!

Room Tip: Family room was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minormorrisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you, for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and you found the beds to be comfy and the team friendly and attentive. Your heading waiting for investment is quite harsh as we have invested in the hotel over the past 6 months and we have put in place a structured refurbishment going forward over the next 12 months. At present we have a wing of the first floor sealed off and the rooms are being completely refurbished. We have two lifts at the hotel and one lift is out of service at present as the lift shaft is being extended to incorporate a fifth floor in the future. We are working hard at the moment on a breakfast service to ensure our standards are maintained and are adding items to the buffet weekly. I am sorry you didn't receive the standard of breakfast expected on this occasion but I am glad you have promised to return to see how we are getting on in the future.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We're here to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and husbands birthday and the Torquay Grand hasn't let us down. The staff have all been excellent, could not be more helpful, the bar and restaurant are lovely with their sea views and the location is just what we wanted - right on the sea front and an easy walk to the town centre and harbour. We read other reviews about the hotel looking tired and understand that it's undergoing a refurbishment, yes there a few bits here and there but generally we were really impressed on arrival. Beds are really comfortable and rooms warm. Unfortunately woken by an alarm in the night (clock) and was then aware of some noise from other rooms (neighbour had a bad cough!). Also read reviews about breakfasts being cold but this again was not our experience, buffet for fruits and cereals etc and full English delivered to our table, nice and hot. The restaurant last night was fantastic and gave us probably the best beef I've ever had. Haven't used the leisure facilities yet but hope to later today. All good so far!

Room Tip: Sea view room is definitely worth trying to get, it really is amazing. We had a balcony which just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel to celebrate your 1st Anniversary and husbands birthday. I am pleased you found it perfect and the team to be excellent. You are correct we are undergoing a refurbishment at present with further investment in the future. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the beef served in the restaurant. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, especially when checking in at reception. very clean rooms, comfortable beds. Room was warm so tried to open the sash window but would not stay open. :-( Bar menu very nice food excellent and a good selection. Not tried the main restaurant as a bit over my budget but I'm sure it's value for money all the same. Parking is Free which is good. Would use this hotel again, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a see front room if you would like a nice view. Some rooms have a window but offer no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

What a very nice Sunday lunch experience. A four course menu for just £14.95.

Nice selections in each course with a variety of meat and fish dishes for main. Excellent service by the waiting staff. Entertainment in the form of soft background keyboard music.

Great service, great meal and a lot cheaper than you'd expect!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We decided to have a weekend break with our eldest son,we live in Bournemouth he lives in Torpoint, so Torquay seemed the ideal meeting point.Our choice of hotels could not have been better,situated right on the seafront.On arrival we were met by a most helpful receptionist and even though the weather could not have been worse it made our journey seem worthwhile.
The food,accomodation and service was first rate, the staff being a credit to the hotel chain.
would reccomend this hotel to anyone and indeed have done.we will be returning as soon as the weather improves.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Called in for an afternoon tea having visited this hotel a couple of years ago. We had only just arrived in the lounge and had not started to take our coats off when the waiter came over to ask if we required a menu. We ordered a cream tea for both of us but the tea arrived immediately and I had already drunk one cup before the Scones arrived. They were very hot and totally crisp on the outside, the jam was as cold as the cream. Not much change from £10, won't be going back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mag16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for calling in to the hotel for afternoon tea. You are correct you won’t get much change out of £10 as our cream team is priced at £6-50 per person. This is a competitive price for a 4 star hotel. The tea is usually served with the scones, however the scones are freshly baked each day and are warmed in the oven when they are ordered and sometimes the tea can arrive early depending on how busy we are. The scones sound as if they were slightly over baked and I apologise for this as this is not our standard. The jam is stored in the fridge as we make our own jam and it’s not full of preservatives and won’t last stored in a cupboard. I am sure if you had informed a member of the team at the time of having your afternoon tea we would have replaced it straight away if you were not entirely happy. I hope you will come back and give us another try as we are know for a full afternoon tea service and have many happy returning customers.

Kind Regards,


Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing