We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely View”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for work. Got a good double room facing the bay. Little bit dated but the hotel is still very nice. I didn't take advantage of the pool or beauty spa.
I thought the meals in the Compass bar a little overpriced £12 for a cottage pie and a few vegetables but hey it is the Grand.
I was able to park on the road so didn't need to use the garage parking.

Lovely breakfast plenty of choice

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    751
    453
    233
    140
See reviews for
509
1,032
92
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were given a nights stay at The Grand for a Christmas present the 2nd week of Jan. Parking was easy as was right opposite in the allocated parking at the train station. When we arrived at reception, we were seen to very quickly by friendly staff. They had upgraded us to a sea view room which was absolutely stunning. The weather was good so made it even better!
The room was lovely and clean and very spacious. We had dinner at about 7.30, as you can choose your time slot and the food was lovely! After dinner we sat in the lounge area for a couple drinks before bed.
We had a nice tasty full English breakfast the following morning with option of continental as well with plenty of tea & coffee! All the staff were very professional, friendly & attentive and the overall stay was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Sea view room was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth-england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked the Grand hotel as we have stayed at this hotel exactly 2 years ago, upon check in we were given the same room as we have previous stayed in.
The room looked exactly the same as when we stayed two years ago, it was tired then its in dire need of a make over now.
The corridor leading to our room on the second floor once again is in need of a make over the carpet has several rips in various places and looks an eyesore.

The hotel needs to retain that old style feel but also needs to have nice furnishings and nice finishes which I feel are missing.

My biggest gripe of the whole stay was the appalling breakfast at the Grand Hotel, they now serve you your so called full English breakfast instead of letting you select your own items(which they had on our previous stay). After waiting 20 minutes to get the attention of a waitress my breakfast turned up <5 mins later it was something I would of expected to be served at a local B&B not a so called 4 star hotel it was all luke warm and obviously had been stored in mass in the kitchen and put on a plate in a rush IT WAS APPALLING AND NOT EATEN !!! .

They are certainly charging the money to stay here without putting it back into maintaining the hotel to a 4 star standard also cutting things like breakfast just made it an unpleasant stay.

Room Tip: ask for a redecorated room !!! avoid breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james-england-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I feel we are Grand in so many more ways. The entrance, the view, many of the bedrooms, the public rooms, the team and the history are all Grand. Yes I agree some of our rooms are in need of some attention in places. However we have just began a refurbishement programme and have completed the first phase of rooms. We will be undertaking further investment in the bedrooms and hallways over the coming 12 months.
I can assure you we are not cutting any element of what we offer our guests and have been adding many new products to our breakfast buffet and hot food served from the kitchen. Our hot buffet was receiving far too many complaints so we are cooking it fresh in the kitchen to order.
It seems on this occasion you did not receive our usual standard of breakfast food and service and for this I apologise. I hope you will be back to see us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel staff were lovely and the ground floor areas were beautiful however......... We had a suite for which we paid an awful lot of money. It was to say the least tired! It desperately needed redecorating, the carpet had tape holding it together, the furniture needed putting in a skip it was dated and completely worn out and tatty. The room also fuffered with damp patches. The bathroom also very dated. I would guess the room hadn't been touched for 20 plus years. On the positive side the bed was very comfy and the rooms were a good size with great views. If they want to charge £250 a night then the room needs a complete and comprehensive make over! In fairness when we complained about the state of the room we were immediately offered a rate reduction. The advert offers oppulance we supposedly had a top room and oppulant is the last word I would have used. This hotel occupies pole position and could be amazing but needs investment very badly so come on Richardson hotels get your act together. Final winge the restaurant was poor it was very quiet but they couldn't get the orders right it also lacked atmosphere and was in my opinion very expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your review after your recent stay. I am glad you found your bed to be very comfy and your room to be of a good size with great views. We have recently started a refurbishment programme and are gradually working are way around the hotel. The first phase is complete and we are just about to begin phase two. I am sorry you did not feel your room was up to standard on this stay.

We have two dining options at the Grand Hotel which offer a selection of meals to suit all budgets and requirements. I am sorry our team did not get your order correct on this occasion. I hope you will come back in the future and give us another try.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Super grand!
Only stayed one night for business but parking good either in garage or they have their own allocated spaces in the station car park across the street although I would think you might struggle to get a spot in the summer.
Public areas are really nice, especially the lounge/bar, good service and very well maintained, it's very 'agatha Christie'!
I had a double with no sea view but it was very well kept and the bathroom looked new.
Overall I would highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dgas30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you found the parking and the service from the team good. in the summer parking can be a struggle however please keep in mind we do offer valet parking. Just leave your keys with a member of the reception team who will make sure it is parked for you saving you the stress of finding a space. You are correct it’s very Agatha Christie and maintains an art deco feel especially through out the reception to the entrance hall and the sweeping staircase. Cocktails on the patio and brandy in the library you might feel you are invloved in one of her stories. I look forward to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Top notch destination hotel right on the sea front but sufficiently far away from the bustle. High season will be a bit pricey. But, hey, thIs IS the Grand and you've got to pay for a bit of classy opulence. It's the kind of traditional feel of classiness too. The very pictures conjured up by an English 'Grand' hotel, on the English riviera match exactly the yearnings of yesteryear but with a very modern attitude to service and cuisine. For a bit of extra extravagance, go for lobster or crab. I'm told it's not always available but the locals tell me it would be unusual for this citadel of tradition and Torquay charm not to have these dishes on the go. Splash out. Enjoy a bit of extravagance, in or out of season.

Room Tip: All seem to be quiet rooms. Check for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time in leaving such an excellent review. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We certainly sit proudly on the sea front with excellent panoramic views across the bay. I hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This grand old dame may be a little past her prime compared with when Agatha Christie honeymooned here in 1914, but she hasn't lost all her charms. If you like a taste of yesteryear at very reasonable cost, then don't miss out on her present day wiles. My room may have been a tad tired and dingy, but the service was above average and having breakfast by the high windows in the main dining room looking across the bay was worth the price of the 'ticket' alone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mapHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay. I can assure you we have invested some money in the hotel since Agatha Christie Honeymooned hear in 1914, and we are continuing an ongoing refurbishment of our rooms and public areas as I write these lines. I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast in restaurant 1881 with the magnificient views across the bay.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing