We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Grand Reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Grand Reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Old Dame is in great shape, with a friendly & efficient Team at the helm. Booked an inland room for the night and finished up in a corner turret with a wonderful bay window, with partial sea view. A most enjoyable, if brief visit.

Room Tip: Save oney on an inland room and you may also get a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    728
    438
    226
    136
See reviews for
492
991
88
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Décor very tired. Premier room was sub-standard and situated near a ventilation unit that was fairly loud and did not shut down until about 11pm. Service poor. Food order failed to materialize in the Bar and the dining room staff were definitely not 'on the ball'. We have stayed at the Grand several times but sadly this will be our last visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Oh dear where do I start, hugely disappointing, standards dropped considerably in the last two years when we last stayed. Once upon a time it was a Grand hotel, very good value for money, such a shame as it is so convenient to the railway station and has such a prominant position on the seafront. Not informed at check-in that it was advisable to book a table for dinner so only choice left was 8.15pm, too late for my elderly Mother and turn down the air conditioning. All staff look frazzled, very offputting especially in the restaurant, you don't really want to be served by a perspiring waiter. Very very slow poor service in the restaurant at all times, mix up with food orders, uncooked food sent back to be offered again in the same state. Portion sizes need looking at, you either get too much or not enough. The final straw was Mothering Sunday breakfast, apparently the kitchen was told there would be 50 covers for breakfast but infact there were 150 covers. We were left with one lonely sausage, some baked beans and grilled tomatoes for choice - what a great start to the day. Waitress service for breakfast is a good idea - new to us but toasters hopeless and preserves on table need spoons as I am pretty sure the pots are filled up daily and after other customers have dipped their knives in after using the butter. The bedroom was very clean but there was no heat, although most days luckily the sun had warmed the room up but the windows were draughty. We asked for a supplementary heater, one was delivered one and a half hours and two phone calls later. No heated towel rail in the bathroom although it appeared to be connected to the heating system. More hangers needed in the wardrobe nothing for trousers, skirts etc. More tea/milk needed too and we are not huge tea/coffee drinkers but two tea bags and four small milks does not go far. The swimming pool could also do with a spruce up, the jacuzzi and sauna not working for most of the time.
We will probably never return to this hotel and will not recommend anyone staying here unless something drastic happens, Management please take note. We were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay on check-out I wonder why, proberly the reception staff are fed up with having to deal with unsatisfied customers and there were quite a few.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on the ground floor good size but up on the fourth floor not so
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casseycat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury
Level Contributor
204 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Having discussed the food with the management during my last visit I was disappointed to see that nothing has been implemented to improve it. The Grand was one place in Torquay where you could rely upon the food but alas no longer. This weekend a visit to the bar area produced motorway standard food. A ploughman a lunch at an inflated. £22 for Two resulted in a board of ice cold cheeses - 2 pots of pickle 2 slices of mediocre ham and a disgusting warm black pudding scotch egg!! The only thing that enhanced the dish was some lovely home baked rolls. The table next to us were equally unimpressed with the fish and chips - I would replace this 2nd grade chef with a matter if done urgency

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank foodlover079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The rooms are too small and there was no fridge in the room. The Decor of the room is old fashioned and run down. The carpets throughout the hotel were worn out. I don't think I would recommend this hotel in it's present state to anyone.
I went there to attend a conference. All the rooms were pre booked for the conference attendees. I wouldn't have chosen such a dingy room for myself under any circumstances.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms but the one that I stayed in was definitely not my taste or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queeny600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We went as part of a conference party taking up almost all of the rooms in the hotel. The decor beyond the public areas is tired and needs a serious refresh - difficult to find a carpet in a corridor or bedroom that isn't threadbare, even in the suites.
There just didn't seem to be enough staff for the number of guests - we booked years ago so our number wasn't a surprise. From the bar through to housekeeping, clearly not enough staff - our room was left open after housekeeping had been, our teapot and cups weren't washed up. Bar food took too long to come - restaurant food even when the mass of the party had left was unbelievably slow and not even warm when it arrived. Drinks and bar food over-priced as well.
If I ran a hotel that was full of single party I'd make damn sure that I was there to respond and resolve issues when they occurred, not leave junior staff dealing with disatisfied customers with nowhere to turn.
I would never stay here again and would pro-actively discourage anyone else from doing so. This should be the first choice & flagship hotel for conference organisers at the Riviera Centre. It lets itself and the town down.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Britonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Time has not been kind to this great hotel, once the best in Torquay. It stands in a prime position overlooking the bay just outside the town. It should be good, sadly not so. There is ample evidence of major refurbishments carried out over the years but none that are recent enough to count. Recent upgrades are superficial and appear to have been carried out on a very tight budget. We were in Torquay for an annual conference and the Grand did not measure well compared to our previous experience of similar hotels in other towns. Our room had a small window looking out over a flat roof towards the railway station. It was clean and of adequate size with a small bathroom refurbished with basic quality fittings. Everything worked fine but it was not up to expectations. The Wifi worked in our room, not so in all, with no Sky Channels on the TV. The breakfast buffet was good but with limited choice. Dinner buffet the first night cost £25 per head and was simply not acceptable in terms of quality, quantity or service. A sandwich in the bar for lunch took over half an hour and was expensive and very poor. The cask beer was not in good condition either and some was returned. On a positive note the staff were courteous and very willing. A few days earlier we returned from a lengthy world trip and this was easily the least enjoyable hotel we have stayed in recently so sadly we have rated this hotel with the lowest mark that we have given for some years. It is disappointing because it could be so good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing