We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So convenient”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Seafront location with friendly staff and lovely food. We always upgrade the room to a seaview, but this is our personal choice. Situated just opposite the railway station which for non car drivers is so convenient. Buses stop opposite the hotel and so it is easy to travel to other places like Paignton and Dartmouth and if you have a bus pass it is free to travel. What more could you ask.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We are certainly in excellent position located right on the seafront where you can take a short strole along the promenade into the hustle and bustle of Torquay harbour. Many of our rooms have seaviews and it is definetly worth paying for an upgrade. However many of our inland rooms overlook the Victorian train station and the sports ground and can be just as popular with our regular customers. Thank you for your comments and Iook forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths.
Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    765
    463
    238
    145
See reviews for
518
1,057
93
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and loved every minute.
Reading some of the other reviews I must say I didn't experience any of that. Staff were fantastic and an asset to the hotel especially reception who couldn't do enough for us and Victoria in the bar who did everything you could want in a waitress, she will go far in the industry I'm sure.
As par the course in any hotel the staff are what can make or break and the staff here were spot on.
The leek and potato soup was heavenly and I could have had
Seconds or thirds, kudos to whichever chef prepared that.
A very relaxing and enjoyable stay and we will definitely be back to sample your wonderful hospitality again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and loved every minute. You are correct our biggest asset is our wonderful team and they are contantly encouraged to chat to our guests where ever possible. Thank you for your kind comments about Victoria in the bar she is a shining star for our hotel. I am pleased you found the soup to be heavenly and I will pass on your comments to our kitchen team. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Griffiths.
Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We booked a last minute break, had a lovely room over looking the bay. Saw sunrise each morning. Staff were all happy, helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and warm.
Would definitely revisit again.

Room Tip: Room at the front over looking the sea, worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarlt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Old Dame is in great shape, with a friendly & efficient Team at the helm. Booked an inland room for the night and finished up in a corner turret with a wonderful bay window, with partial sea view. A most enjoyable, if brief visit.

Room Tip: Save oney on an inland room and you may also get a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Décor very tired. Premier room was sub-standard and situated near a ventilation unit that was fairly loud and did not shut down until about 11pm. Service poor. Food order failed to materialize in the Bar and the dining room staff were definitely not 'on the ball'. We have stayed at the Grand several times but sadly this will be our last visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Oh dear where do I start, hugely disappointing, standards dropped considerably in the last two years when we last stayed. Once upon a time it was a Grand hotel, very good value for money, such a shame as it is so convenient to the railway station and has such a prominant position on the seafront. Not informed at check-in that it was advisable to book a table for dinner so only choice left was 8.15pm, too late for my elderly Mother and turn down the air conditioning. All staff look frazzled, very offputting especially in the restaurant, you don't really want to be served by a perspiring waiter. Very very slow poor service in the restaurant at all times, mix up with food orders, uncooked food sent back to be offered again in the same state. Portion sizes need looking at, you either get too much or not enough. The final straw was Mothering Sunday breakfast, apparently the kitchen was told there would be 50 covers for breakfast but infact there were 150 covers. We were left with one lonely sausage, some baked beans and grilled tomatoes for choice - what a great start to the day. Waitress service for breakfast is a good idea - new to us but toasters hopeless and preserves on table need spoons as I am pretty sure the pots are filled up daily and after other customers have dipped their knives in after using the butter. The bedroom was very clean but there was no heat, although most days luckily the sun had warmed the room up but the windows were draughty. We asked for a supplementary heater, one was delivered one and a half hours and two phone calls later. No heated towel rail in the bathroom although it appeared to be connected to the heating system. More hangers needed in the wardrobe nothing for trousers, skirts etc. More tea/milk needed too and we are not huge tea/coffee drinkers but two tea bags and four small milks does not go far. The swimming pool could also do with a spruce up, the jacuzzi and sauna not working for most of the time.
We will probably never return to this hotel and will not recommend anyone staying here unless something drastic happens, Management please take note. We were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay on check-out I wonder why, proberly the reception staff are fed up with having to deal with unsatisfied customers and there were quite a few.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on the ground floor good size but up on the fourth floor not so
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casseycat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Having discussed the food with the management during my last visit I was disappointed to see that nothing has been implemented to improve it. The Grand was one place in Torquay where you could rely upon the food but alas no longer. This weekend a visit to the bar area produced motorway standard food. A ploughman a lunch at an inflated. £22 for Two resulted in a board of ice cold cheeses - 2 pots of pickle 2 slices of mediocre ham and a disgusting warm black pudding scotch egg!! The only thing that enhanced the dish was some lovely home baked rolls. The table next to us were equally unimpressed with the fish and chips - I would replace this 2nd grade chef with a matter if done urgency

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank foodlover079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,101 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing