We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short 5 day break”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“short 5 day break”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very easy access to Hotel from railway station. The hotel staff are all happy to speak and answer any questions. Food is good quality. This is the 3rd time of stopping at the hotel. The food menu has good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    751
    453
    233
    140
See reviews for
509
1,032
92
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Returned last month for a few days after visiting last year.
Yes,there are things that can be improved but this is an old hotel and everyone is giving the best service they can!
We love the fact it is a proper hotel with great public areas and a large round bar overlooking the bay.
We had a 4th floor Premium Sea-View room....worth paying the extra for this lovely large room.
The food is good and well presented, we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have almost completed our week holiday here. I have been reading the reviews ever since I booked months ago. The main complaints seem to be slow restaurant service and shabby rooms.
Restaurant - my view is that when Oliver is in charge the service is impeccable. When he is not a wheel falls off and the breakfast queues down the corridors. Same for dinner. The staff are very pleasant and try really hard so just a little work and service will be great always.
Food - starters and mains have been superb. Just add a bit more sauce to the meat dishes. We did have lobster last night off the a la carte menu and loved it. Deserts need work though. They have ranged from awful to mediocre to good and very good (recommend the black currant delice) the home made petit fours are lovely. There seem to be complaints about the breakfast but I disagree - plenty of choice, pastries lovely as is the bread, we have ordered the poached and scrambled eggs for variety and all very good. What more do you need with eggs, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, baked beans, sausages, hash browns, then there's 6 cereal choices, 4 juices, all sorts of teas as well as coffee, their own preserves, for a supplement there is also kippers, haddock, waffles.
Rooms - we are in a suite so my elderly mother would have somewhere to stay in comfort on days she did not wish to go out. The carpet is worn by the entrance to the balcony but it doesn't matter. The comfort of the sofa and chair make up for that. Also towels are luxurious, beds comfortable and everything very clean and wifi is the best I have had in a hotel. The sea views are great
I would happily stay here again except that I have found Torbay pretty horrible so we might try another Richardson hotel elsewhere

Room Tip: Have a sea view it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. We had a nice ground floor room with en suite and sea views. The room suited us but was a bit dated and tired, lovely and quiet though.

The only thing that spoiled our stay was the price of the meals in the bar and the quality of the meals.Also we had poor service by the breakfast staff for two mornings.

Room Tip: Room no 1 is quiet, ground floor and not far to walk to the bar etc. Has excellent sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

An enjoyable mini break in this classic hotel. Enjoyed polite, effective service from all staff and would recommend staying here to anyone looking for a break in a traditional hotel and location. Especially enjoyed the luxurious aromatherapy massage.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are staying here at the moment, one more night to go. That will be our fourth and final night. The position of the hotel is superb. You can walk into town and the station and buses are within 5 minutes of the hotel. We were given a premier room. I do not think the decor warranted this grading. It was not that bad but very dated and the wallpapering had jot been done properly if recently done? Am not sure. The bed, however was comfortable. We were on the fourth floor which is fine in cooler weather, but would not recommend in warmer weather. There is a fan there if you want it. There is also a safe which is good. The outdoor pool is quite big and circular. Unfortunately they had problems with the clarity of the water at the time which meant you could swim in it most of the time, but if you swim with your head in the water you could not see where you were going!! The jacuzzi did not work one morning which was really annoying. The indoor pool is ok about 13 metres long, but not long or wide enough if you are a serious swimmer and the water was far too hot. The changing rooms were not that pleasant and certainly would not warrant 2 stars!!!
Now we get onto breakfast. Enough choice, however no skimmed milk (which the manager said he would get for me!), only citrus fruit. No apples, bananas, grapes, berries, dried fruit or nuts. Long queues at different times. Staff very nice.
I have been in touch with one of the managers and I will be speaking to him about these issues. I toyed with giving a rating of 4, but am really not sure.

Room Tip: Not a high floor in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueEdgware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Grand a Hotel a few times great position by the sea and close to bus routes and train st food good staff very friendly and helpfull .
Only fault with this hotel needs alot of TLC rooms in need of decorating we recently stayed in deluxe sea view room 307 great view with balcony but sealing damp obviously caused by lack of guttering outside but guess recent storms didn't help ! .
The outside of this hotel is in need of decorating lots of signs of cracking on render but guess that's what happens when close to the sea .
Would reccomend this hotel .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauldillon1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing