We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT quite as the name implies .”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NOT quite as the name implies .”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My girlfriend and i stayed at this hotel after a wedding reception ,to be quite honest the room had a few faults ,the main one being although the window was open the bed was a human sauna which was uncomfortabley hot to actually sleep in and that was also minus the bed covers !! The decor was outdated and could do with a freshen up to brighten up the room ,as for the damn pigeons that woke us up at 4 in the morning i was not a happy person !!!!!

Room Tip: Don,t get a room at the back facing a wall and full of PIGEONS !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    750
    453
    232
    140
See reviews for
507
1,031
92
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Always enjoy good functions in lovely surroundings - recommend the season Balls, dinners out at the stylish restaurant and drinks in the Bar overlooking Torquay Seafront. Lovely environment to enjoy quality time. Consistently good each time we visit. Have been coming to the Grand for many years - the hotel is enjoying a good era.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SimonJKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great location, front desk were very helpful, breakfast ok, heated pool great for kids, we had a family sea view premier room, room was fine for 3 people but...... No air conditioning and it was very hot there was an electric fan but too noisy to sleep with it on, no double glazing so you could hear traffic, hotel was tired and could do with a refurb...but... We had a great time would recommend Torquay, the weather was superb and a lovely walk down the sea front, great stopover before driving to st ives, seriously thinking about staying on way back...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Read the reviews and booked. Not all were complementary.
On arrival felt as if we had gone back in time to 1930's. Smart well manned reception, booked in very quickly. Parking was in the Cricket club opposite.
Room was not overly big, but comfortable. Tea & coffee & biscuits supplied,fan and hairdryer.
WiFi worked well as did TV.
Breakfast was excellent,help yourself having been welcomed and shown to a table.
Swimming pool outside was clean and lifeguarded. Only problem it was as hot as a bath first few days but eventually it was made colder.
Meal other than breakfast were very expensive and far to gourmet for our liking.
Overall I would return but as for a larger bed.
Needs some TLC in places.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being at back of hotel it is the railway side but much quieter than at front w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fooers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had an early supper in the Compass Lounge while we were passing through Torquay and had a lovely meal. The restaurant was closed at that time and which was disappointing at the time but we could not fault the service and food. Joanna Cassidy, (?manager) deserves a special mention as she could not have been more accommodating to everyone, (even with a few difficult patrons on the next table). the food was beautifully prepared and presented and I really do recommend their chips (which I don't usually eat but came with the fabulous fish!) We sat outside on the terrace which had wonderful views of the bay. we were also lucky to witness a book signing with Anne Widdecome which was going on in the main reception. A lovely end to the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magpieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here with friends for 2 nights. Premier inland twin room we had was lovely, clean and spacious. Modern bathroom with luxury toiletries, nice clean towels. The single was a standard single, spacious but not as modern. Worth paying a little extra for the premier rooms. A bit tired looking the rooms, but very clean. The hotel staff from the receptionists to the bar staff to the chambermaid could not of been more helpful and polite. Breakfast is a good range, full english, croissants, fresh fruit, cereals etc. Had dinner one evening in the cafe bistro, very nice food, freshly prepared and big portions! The best part of the holiday was sitting on the sun terrace in the hot sun looking out over the pool and Torquay bay and being waited on with drinks. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premier double/twin or even better to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel on Easter bank holidays. The location of the hotel is very good. It is next to railway station and good connection with town center. We had room on a first floor. The room was equal to the price which we paid (89 GBP including breakfast). It was clean and for one night stay it was ok.
The hotel restaurant/bar was very nice. Prices are average. The staff was very helpful and nice. The food was fresh and tasty. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,082 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing