We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Waterloo Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It is without any doubt a beautiful hotel. The food was excellent and presented like real artwork. A delight for the eyes too, besides the taste. Friendly staff, our room was spacious and very clean. We stayed there for 4 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    752
    453
    233
    140
See reviews for
510
1,032
93
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Started excellently, upgraded as normal, stayed here 4 times a year roughly for 3 years now and recommended to friends and family who have stayed on many occassions. It is a traditional hotel by the sea and in every way the name says it all. It is Grand. Friendly staff,dated but period traditional well sized rooms. I entertain clients on my visits in the rstaurant as it is, by there admission, one of the best places to eat in Torquay. However on this occassion, it was not to be.
I would
Ike to add at this point, the staff were amazing and helpful. The bill was reduced due to the poor quality.

The food has taken a step back in quality. The steaks were greasy, served on a wooden platter and the chips were undercooked. The mushroom was earthy, the peppercorn sauce watery and overall was little better than what you would expect in a cafe.

Starters were small, there was no presentation to the dishes and the petit fours were similar to a pick and mix.

Only if the food returns to its former glory will I return.

PS breakfast, hard poached eggs, soggy toast and a poor display of buffet food. Great Hotel but needs to go back to its roots for repeat custom.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have stayed at The Grand with my elderly parents 3 times within the last year each time for 5 nights. We chose the dinner, bed and breakfast option as the standard of food and choices on the menu (changed daily) were consistently high. The staff are attentive, helpful, friendly and welcoming. The heated indoor and outdoor pools are a bonus along with the spa. I can only repeat that on all 3 visits, these high standards have been maintained. Well done The Grand!

Room Tip: We always chose sea facing rooms as the views over the bay and Torquay are awesome and the sunrises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel with my husband, we were celebrating both our birthdays.
The staff were very friendly, reception, restaurant and bar.
Our room was fine, no problems even though it could of done with some TLC in places it was clean so that was the main thing.
Breakfast and dinner was both lovely with plenty of choice.
We did use the swimming pool whilst we were there and this was fine although could do with a little updating.
We would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xx_Shelley_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked in for one night at the end of June 2014. We paid for a 'premier' double with a sea view. The room was disappointing. It was a lot smaller than I was anticipating and the décor was so dated! There was only one small narrow window facing the sea which made the room quite dark. The wooden sash window in the bathroom needed repainting as did the skirting board behind the toilet.

We had our evening meal in the bar area of the hotel. What a disaster! We waited over half an hour for our starters to arrive. My girlfriends poached egg was overcooked but we had waited so long we couldn't bear to send it back.
Eventually our mains arrived after another wait. Well, what can I say. My girlfriend ordered the ravioli with a mushroom sauce. The sauce was the colour and consistency of water. Really quite dreadful.The ravioli were floating in this liquid!
That's when we got up and left. We couldn't take this anymore.
We spoke to the bar/restaurant manager before we left the restaurant and he agreed that the food and level of service was poor, He offered us a free dessert in the bar area which we declined. Why on earth would we want that?
By this time it was gone nine o,clock. It was too late to go out into Torquay to find a decent restaurant so we went to bed hungry!
The Grand a 4 star hotel? Absolutely no way in my opinion.

Room Tip: If you do have to stay here at least get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We only stayed here one night on our way round the south coast. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The rooms were pretty average, the first one we had hardly had any light and the one window didn't lock so we asked to change rooms which they willingly did and gave us a choice of two other rooms. The second room was much better, it was large and the bathroom was good (except for the used cotton bud that had obviously been missed by the cleaner).

The decor is slightly dated but the facilities are good. The views from the dining rooms are great.

The breakfast was excellent.

The location is good for views but is not close (easy walking distance) to any restaurants or shops.

This hotel would have been excellent in it's day but there is so much else on offer today this one doesn't really stack up anymore.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_B055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We are currently guests arriving on Monday for 5 nights.
The check in was speedy and efficient. The car parking problems were soon overcome and we were highly delighted with our chosen family room with see view.
Dinner in the 1881 restaurant is a special treat, and yes the service is slightly slow, but well worth the wait..
We have enjoyed our buffet breakfast with an abundance of choice and attentive waiters.
Overall, so far we highly delighted and would have no hesitation to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annabelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing