We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No comfort, no peace” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“No comfort, no peace”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Just returned from three days at the Grand. The weather for October was very mild but the hotel were unable to cool the rooms. The pipes were hot even though the radiators were off. We had a room in a turret (326) which had plenty of windows but when we opened them the traffic noise was very bad. There was a hill outside the windows and traffic changed gear and revved the engines most of the night. We really were unable to sleep due to the excessive heat and noise. We reported it to reception and were given a fan. Everyone was complaining about the heat. The hotel seemed to be fully booked and people were waiting for tables for breakfast. Tea and coffee took ages to come and various foods on the buffet ran out. One of the lifts were broken which only left one which was in constant use with people waiting. There was never a space in the hotel garage or on the road outside the hotel or even in the allocated spaces in the station car park so we had to park in the rugby club across the road. There is no way this hotel deserves four stars.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visi2rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2009
Sorry, Yes, the hotel was full, one lift had its annual maintenance and safety check which is is essential for your security, but both were up and working within 2 days.
we had over 5000 sleeper nights, during October,not bad for a 130 bedroomed hotel. I can hand on heart say most of them thoroughly enjoyed their stay.
I think you have to take into account that we are having unseasonably warm weather, which is why your room was warm.
I can't really be responsible for someone
rev ving their car engine up in the middle of the night, it happens everywhere in Britain and the world.
I am however responsible for the time it took to receive tea and coffee at breakfast, but you saw all my staff me included working as hard as possible to make sure service was as good as possible.
Thank you for taking the trouble to write in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    715
    429
    220
    131
See reviews for
484
967
87
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay Cornwall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Stayed here on a special deal (2 nights for the price of 1) so quite happy with price paid, but would not have been terribly happy if we had paid full price. Room fine - fairly big and clean, and turndown service in the evening was a very nice touch. Reception staff very efficient but service on first morning at breakfast was very poor. Having said that, on the second morning it seemed to improve somewhat. Pool was full of chlorine and pretty busy. Parking could have been a problem if we had arrived any later. Would I stay here again ? Yes, but only if I got a good deal on the price again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2009
Thank you for your candid review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

This is not a 4 star hotel. Pool dark and dingy with too much chlorine. decor - tired. Food in Compass Bar very poor indeed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanSmithYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Oh dear looks like half term has resulted in complaints, that are unusual for this hotel, walking around the hotel and talking to most of our guests, I have had the most charming comments about the Grand, the food and our employees, also our comment forms are giving us really great feedback. We will continue to strive to provide the very best in service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
gwent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Just had a Two night stay at the Grand.
We were expecting to have a relaxing stay around the pool,not so,the changing rooms were dirty and the ladies were worse, according to my wife,very smelly and dirty floor.very disappointed!!! and only used it Once.
We booked dinner for 7.15,still there at 9.30PM waiting for our dessert!!!when it did arrive it was just OK certinly not worth the wait.
Restaurant service slow bhoweverstaff were very polite.
Our room was ok for Three stars but not 4 stars.
ordered porridge for breakfast,still waiting for it 20 mins later,were told it wont be too longnow,gave up in the end.
On a more positive note the breakfast was fab,very fresh and tasty,shame about the carton Orange juice,fresh would have been nice!!
Would not reccomend this hotel to our family or friends,pay a little extra and stay at the Imperial.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hughesn284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2009
I am so sorry when we get a bad review, I have looked into these comments and hope that I have rectified any shortcomings, I suppose the law of averages means that we won't always be the hotel that people want to stay at.
Thanks for keeping me posted
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

We had a room with a great view over the bay. Decor was a little tired but that really didn't matter. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Dinner in the evening was superb with traditional high quality service. Breakfast was generous and far less formal but still with good service. The location is good, an easy walk into town along the sea front. We felt it was excellent value for money, but we were on an autumn special deal including dinner. Free wireless access in reception area but it seemed a little unreliable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, Generqal Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2009
Thank you for your lovley review I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.
Kind regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Stayed here on a Saturday night for a treat. It wasn't exactly cheap but managed to get a pretty good deal through the hotel's website.
The parking was relatively limited, I imagine it might be tricky in peak months but Torquay station is right next to the hotel (it's not busy and in fact even though our room overlooked it we didn't hear any trains!).
Our room was compact but clean and had everything we wanted, including some yummy biscuits. It was in a sort of turret so had windows all the way round and we could actually see the sea - just!
The hotel is a bit out of town but within walking distance, although we got a taxi in on Friday night to save my feet - it was less than £5. We walked home that night and walked into town the next day.
On the Sunday we had a lovely breakfast and spent the day lazing in the sun by the outdoor pool! The indoor pool is quite small but adequate but generally the indoor facilities are a bit tired, though not grotty or anything.
The staff were very helpful and happy for us to stay at the hotel all day after we had checked out. They alsio gave us plenty of milk and teabags when we got in on Saturday night!
All in all fab - I would definitely stay here again, though there really are too many other lovely places to try!
Lots of nice places to eat in town - Heroes looks good and there is a nice looking Italian as well. Unfortunately both were full but we went to Pizza Express which was as always reliably good.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia_28Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2009
Please come back and see us soon we love having guests like you to stay,
Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

We went with my parents for a weekend break dinner, b&b and we all had a wonderful time. We upgraded to sea view, well worth it. The location was great for us as it's just outside town but near enough and flat enough to walk along the front. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful and the turn down service was a nice touch, our rooms were spotless. The breakfasts were superb and for the dinner menu we were spoilt for choice and the food was perfect (especially dessert), we thought it was quite formal at first but really enjoyed the service once we got used to it and enjoyed having a drink in the lounge afterwards,especially with the entertainment. We would love to return as we enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tottie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2009
Come and stay longer, we really value lovely guests like yourselves.

Kind regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing