We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel food excellent staff very frendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
worcester
1 review
“very good hotel food excellent staff very frendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

the only problem was the swimming pool and fitness centre was closed for refurbishment and we were not told when we booked we are returning in january


i t was a very enjoyable stay would reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    716
    430
    220
    131
See reviews for
484
969
87
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

we have just returned from a 5 day break at the grand we booked the BB and Evening Meal winter warmer. Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who quickly checked us in, the only gripe was that the leisure facilities were unavailable due to upgrading the facilities, it would have been nice to be prewarned as a big part of the holiday for me is the swimming, we could however use the riviera leisure centre over the road, but didnt fancy walking in the cold weather with wet hair! The room we stayed in (260) was an inland facing room with a slight view of the sea, it was very clean and quite spacious, but what an uncomfortable bed, we were like a couple cripples when we woke on a morning, however the breakfasts and the evening meal in the Gainsborough restaurant made up for this, breakfasts superb, the homemade marmalade to die for, a really good selection of cooked items, evening meals were again fantastic and the staff were really friendly, we got the impression it was one big happy team, the Manager Richard was always present which was nice to see, in the lounge in the afternoon the in house bakery made homemade cakes the chocolate cheesecake was to die for, another nice touch was when we arrived we were presented with a fresh fruit bowl in the room. It is about a 10 minute walk into the town centre but a bus service runs dead outside the hotel and they run about every 10 minutes, We got the train to exeter one day took about 30 minutes but was a really good day out for shopping. All in all we would definately be going back to the Grand - ignore all those other negative reviews, we are a really picky couple but just couldnt fault the Grand - give it a try you wouldnt regret it. Thanks again to Richard and all the hard working staff at the Grand

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank driver48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Stayed at The Grand Half Term Week and I can't believe some of the reviews. We had a super time, we did have a room change but that was absolutely no trouble whatsoever. Yes the hotel was warm, so what!! I would rather be warm than cold, and believe me we have stayed in other hotels and it has been cold and it spoils the trip. Evening meal superb and so was the service, breakfast superb and nothing was too much trouble. We had lunch in the Compass Lounge and that was super, and the views are outstanding. We used the pool facilities and we even asked for robes which where very kindly supplied, but they didn't have to. All in all a fantastic place, we were so impressed we are going back again for the weekend of the Craft Fayre in November.
It is as the saying goes' You cannot please all of the people all of the time' but we were impressed and we shall continue to pay this super hotel visits as often as we can.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyandTil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

Looking forward to a half term break ,reception staff were quick and effecient sorting out our car parking in their own garage with parking permits,if needed for the car park across the way.
The evening menu gave a great selection of excellent quality starters ,main courses and desserts complimented by a selection of wines ,the menu changed on daily basis so there was always something different to select ,including specials (the shoulder of lamb was an excellent choice even for a small premium.
The service by Mr Mackensie and his staff was excellent, very quick but not obtrusive.
The breakfasts were again excellent with self selection from cerealsand fruit to croissants,but opting for the full english breakfast ,this carried through with no hunger pangs until dinner again at night.
The only downside was the room seemed quite hot ,although a fan from the wardrobe proved to be the answer to keeping our cool.
If you needed some excercise to work off the meals a swim in the indoor pool or a work out in the gym was the answer.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robptet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write in, we love to hear about the good stays.
Bless You
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Just returned from three days at the Grand. The weather for October was very mild but the hotel were unable to cool the rooms. The pipes were hot even though the radiators were off. We had a room in a turret (326) which had plenty of windows but when we opened them the traffic noise was very bad. There was a hill outside the windows and traffic changed gear and revved the engines most of the night. We really were unable to sleep due to the excessive heat and noise. We reported it to reception and were given a fan. Everyone was complaining about the heat. The hotel seemed to be fully booked and people were waiting for tables for breakfast. Tea and coffee took ages to come and various foods on the buffet ran out. One of the lifts were broken which only left one which was in constant use with people waiting. There was never a space in the hotel garage or on the road outside the hotel or even in the allocated spaces in the station car park so we had to park in the rugby club across the road. There is no way this hotel deserves four stars.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visi2rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2009
Sorry, Yes, the hotel was full, one lift had its annual maintenance and safety check which is is essential for your security, but both were up and working within 2 days.
we had over 5000 sleeper nights, during October,not bad for a 130 bedroomed hotel. I can hand on heart say most of them thoroughly enjoyed their stay.
I think you have to take into account that we are having unseasonably warm weather, which is why your room was warm.
I can't really be responsible for someone
rev ving their car engine up in the middle of the night, it happens everywhere in Britain and the world.
I am however responsible for the time it took to receive tea and coffee at breakfast, but you saw all my staff me included working as hard as possible to make sure service was as good as possible.
Thank you for taking the trouble to write in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Newquay Cornwall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Stayed here on a special deal (2 nights for the price of 1) so quite happy with price paid, but would not have been terribly happy if we had paid full price. Room fine - fairly big and clean, and turndown service in the evening was a very nice touch. Reception staff very efficient but service on first morning at breakfast was very poor. Having said that, on the second morning it seemed to improve somewhat. Pool was full of chlorine and pretty busy. Parking could have been a problem if we had arrived any later. Would I stay here again ? Yes, but only if I got a good deal on the price again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2009
Thank you for your candid review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

This is not a 4 star hotel. Pool dark and dingy with too much chlorine. decor - tired. Food in Compass Bar very poor indeed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanSmithYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Oh dear looks like half term has resulted in complaints, that are unusual for this hotel, walking around the hotel and talking to most of our guests, I have had the most charming comments about the Grand, the food and our employees, also our comment forms are giving us really great feedback. We will continue to strive to provide the very best in service and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#52 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing