We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not As Grand As Its Name” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not As Grand As Its Name”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We booked this hotel as we love its sister hotel, the Fowey Hotel in Cornwall, however the Grand was a huge disappointment from the start - a very chilly and unfriendly welcome at Reception which spoiled our break before it had begun. We had booked a premier room with a sea view, and indeed we could see the sea - beyond the unpleasant flat roof immediatlely in front of our window. Following the disappointing welcome we decided not to risk the restaurant and instead to eat in town, but disappointingly Reception had no idea about the local area so we were left to our own devices to find a decent restaurant. Breakfast the next morning was poor - again a chilly reception in the dining room, cold coffee - and a waiter with very badly torn trousers - unbelievable! We wanted to complain as we checked out - but we were checked out by the same unhelpful receptionist who had checked us in the previous afternoon, so we decided not to bother saying anything.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    715
    429
    220
    131
See reviews for
484
967
87
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

My wife and I had planned to visit Berlin, by air, but the Iclandic volcano eruption scuppered that plan, so back to the drawing board for inspiration. My wife's criteria were that she wanted a luxurious hotel with an indoor swimming pool, near to the sea not too far from a choice of decent restaurants for the evenings. Torquay won the vote and the 4* Grand Hotel fitted the bill and when I telephoned to check availability and prices I was pleasantly surprised at the cost (3 nights bed and breakfast for £302). Our room was advertised as an 'inland view' room, but we could see the bay from one of the windows in it. The room was well decorated and appointed, very clean and tidy; the bed comfortable, the shower hot and sufficiently powerful to wake you up in the morning. Staff in the whole of the hotel were attentive and keen to help you enjoy a stay at their place of work. The bar was not the cheapest (£9.60 for two gin and tonics) with entertainment each evening that was of good quality and not too intrusive if you wanted to chat. The food served was excellent, decent-sized portions, well cooked and presented; the buffet breakfast set you up for the day, but we managed a light lunch one day and an evening meal at the hotel on another evening. We were impressed to see the manager leading from the front, if the bar or the restaurant were busy he would help, something you do not see too much of these days! Overall a great weekend, neither of us wanted to return home, I would thoroughly recommend this establishment to anyone who wants a great weekend on the English Riviera.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Studogs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
277 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

Arived in Torquay for my fathers funeral jet lagged from an overnight flight from Canada to be greeted by a receptionist who didn't care why I was there and insisted on blocking my Visa card for the full four day stay "in case I left without paying the bill" ...
Can't remember any hotel anywhere ever implying I was likely to commit fraud before so it was certainly an unusual welcome..
Hotel main floor has been nicely renovated & public areas are good - but the rooms are something else again.... Think Fawlty Towers or 1950s British vacation hotel.
First room I was given must once have been a maid or child's room - tiny single bed in a room you could barely turn around in.
Asked for a normal size room & double bed & was told that the room they'd given me was a standard single one [fellow single travellers beware] and whilst they eventually agreed to switch me they were very snitty about it.
2nd room had a small entry area in which the light bulb had burnt out, gving it the feel of a very dark cave - finally finding & opening the door to the room itself revealed a small but adequate room with a lumpy double bed & a very old fashined bathroom.
Finally got somone from housekeeping to change the lightbulb which helped - but shoudn't the housekeeper be checking things like this before they OK the room for rental ?
I was there for a funeral, the funeral tea was being held there [food is suprisingly quite good - understand that's how the hotel makes its money] & it was somewhere to sleep - but this place is in deserate need of a complete room renovation, some new beds and some customer oriented service training

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sewaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Thank you for your review, possibly because you were jet lagged you did not appreciate the fact that our receptionist would not have necessarily known that you were there for a funeral, everyone everywhere takes a pre-authorisation of a Credit Card to ensure that they receive payment for services offered. There are a number of people who walk out without paying.
I am sad that you found our service in other areas poor, almost every other review that you read, praises my friendly and helpful team.
Could you have been reacting from the initial reception where you were required to pre-authorise your card?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Not located as we hope. Sure the Hotel is sea front but far away from the towncenter. The 1rst night the restaurant of the hotel was fully booked so we had to take a taxi to find a restaurant with our 3 kids. The next diner was in the restaurant of the hotel and food was correct.
The decoration on the ground floor seems to be new in art deco style. But upstairs floors really need renovation. Bedrooms are very old fashion. But the hotel is clean and the staff friendly.
A good place for family to visit the aera but not a 4 stars hotel.
The inside pool is quite small, the car park too... Try to not be back too late to find a place !
A big hotel

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Myself and my partner went to the Grand for a few days back in October 09. Stressed-out and needing some relaxation, we certainly found it!

The exterior of the hotel is attractive, and could hardly be closer to the beach. At the time we went, we found ample free parking. Receptionists were friendly and the reception area itself is very beautiful! In fact the decor throughout is regal and impressive, i loved it; lots of deep colours and nice lighting.

Upon checking into our room, i was over-joyed by the fact we had a little entrance hallway of our own, as well as a main bedroom and en suite bathroom- simple things please simple minds!- and overall the room was large, cosy, and luxurious. There was more than adequate storage for the both of us. The bed was huuuuge and extremely comfortable! The bathroom was quite small but perfectly adequate, and nice fluffy towels were provided. It, like the rest of the room, was spotless. However the best part was the view; we had a seaview room and my gosh it was amazing, you could see the sea through all of the enormous windows, which spanned the wall. The balcony doors were locked unfortunately, but it was October and chucking it down with rain so we werent too disappointed! An evening turn-down service was also offered.

The rest of the hotel never failed to impress us, the bar/lounge in particular is lovely, again with the huge windows making the most of the sea view. It was really nice to sit and have a drink or food and look outside.

I must make particular mention of the bar food, let alone the restaurant; it was fantastic. The cream tea, with the tastiest freshly-baked scones i have ever had, was an absolute joy! The bar food was really reasonably-priced, and as good as what you'll get in a higher priced restaurant- i recommend the salmon gravadlax, delicious. The cocktails are also lovely.

We of course had to try the nice restaurant one night, and while it was more expensive than we are used to, the food was well worth it. Unfortunately they had ran out of the lamb my partner was desperate to try, but what we did have was lovely. Going for breakfast was a really nice experience- the waiting staff could not be faulted and gave us really quick service with a smile. As soon as we sat down we ordered drinks and toast and it was brought to us immediately. The buffet offered a multitude of delicious foods; bacon, eggs, hash browns, beans, bread, pastries, cereals, fruit, yoghurt.... lots of veggie options which is a nice rarity!

The staff overall were always friendly, warm and eager to please- waiting staff, bar staff, receptionists, even the man who comes to the room to see if you want to buy any chocolate and extra goodies :)

Unfortunately, due to aforementioned rain we didnt really get chance to explore the local amenities in Torquay, however later on we visited a few nearby places. Brixham in particular is lovely, all pastel painted houses on the harbour, fish and chip shops, and of course the must-visit quirky shell shop! However we spent most of our time in the hotel, and we loved every minute of it.

We often talk about what a lovely relaxing time we had and how we cant wait to return, we really did feel like royalty.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pancakequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
Thank for your wonderful review, we really want you to return and look forward to it.
Sadly Covert Bunny (me) is on his way to a new burrow, but you can be sure than I will pop up elsewhere and respond to your reviews.
Signing off for now Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

This hotel is great for location (next door to the station, opposite sandy beach) and within walking distance of attractions. Overall, the service was excellent. The only wobble was on the second evening when they seemed very stretched by a wine tasting event. Room was large, clean and overlooked the sea. Huge, comfortable bed. Food is a particular strength, particularly the dinner menu which was exceptional. Also to be commended is the hotel-baked bread. There is also an unusually large selection of wines by the glass, and they also offered glasses of different sizes. Biscuits with coffee and crisps with drinks seemed home made and were excellent. It was good value for money and we had a very enjoyable couple of days. It's probably worth adding that although Torquay generally was still out of season, the hotel clearly was not, and was very focussed on its guests. Staffing levels seemd high too, so there was no hanging about. I happily recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager, at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
Thank you for your kind comments, I know my team will be delighted to hear that we made your stay a memoable one and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank you Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

Booked to stay on a windy wet and miserable February day and was pleasantly surprised. I must say that the reception staff were friendly as were all the staff.The hotel is comfortable and the staff will go out of thier way to be helpful. Breakfast and Dinner were fantastic, I will stay again although I think the hotel does need a bit of decorating, overall though I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igetabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CovertBunny, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
Thank you for your great response, I loved hearing your comments, I will pass them on to my team.
Thank you Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#53 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing