We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Old Lady of Torbay”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Grand Old Lady of Torbay”
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Steeped in history the Grand Old Lady of Torbay, The Grand, stands proud on the foreshore of Torquay, standing in its own grounds complete with swimming pool. Upon entering the main foyer you are surrounded by granduer trappings from the reception to the restaurant you are greeted by obliging smiling staff always ready to give assistance whenever and where ever required, nothing is too much for them. The rooms are tastefully decorated and laid out, very comfortable, upgrading to a sea view is well worth it with an uniterrupted view across the torbay itself. The Gainsborough restaurant is an experience iteself with 5 star mouth watering dishes awaiting you. The waitering staff are on hand to fulfill your every whim, the wine cellar is well recommended, the ambience tranquill. The Grand has splendid leisure facilities below the ground floor, needed to work of the great food served in the restaurant. You can relax in the sun lounge which affords views over the bay and marina areas of the town, here you can partake of varied refreshments and meals and completely relax. I have visited this Old Lady on many occcasions over the years and will repeat on many dates in the future. I fully recommend that you allow this Lady to enfold you in her charms.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMAN013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    752
    455
    233
    140
See reviews for
511
1,033
93
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2010

So, my husband and i just wanted to get away for a couple of days. Booked this hotel as the website was fab, got there and was disapoined...

Where do I start...

So, the decor is very outdated - well if they go for the current theme that they have it needs a good scrub, the reception back wall was full of files etc (guests do not need to see the back of operations).

The bar and resturant area wasn't too bad, but some staff were nice, others not so nice (bar staff a bit disinterested), the resturant staff were however very good - but i would expect so for the price of the food! The food at dinner was nice, but not worth the price - I would not class the quality of the meat (in terms of what you get) as fine dining.

On the upside, they had a live piano player which was really nice and the views from the bar and resturant were lovely.

As for the room, big spacious room, lovely views but once again, very very outdated. Although we did checkin at 2:30 (checkin is normally from 3) there was a sign of rubbish left in the corner of the room... (a empty sugar sachet - small but noticable).

Now the hotel did have lots of staff running about, but as a business woman - this company would be far better off reducing labour costs and investing in a refurb.

Finally price... well now, this i guess was the most disapointing...

So on the website for the room that we had, they were charging over £200, on booking.com we paid £119.00 - justify that big difference... Also, if we had paid £200 I would have been very very angry - I feel sorry for anyone who has paid this much to stay. I have stayed at nicer premier inns for less than £40 - there was one in torbay but I was looking for the 4/5 star luxery service this was advertised at...

4 Star service, no - I suppose the swimming pool and gym helped them get this award but we didn't even use it. I just wanted what was advertised on the net - but didn't get it.

Dont get me wrong, I didn't complain - as what was I going to get ? a free night stay, no thanks.

In summery, this place is overpriced, its nice but not the idea it advertises, your looking at 3 star hotel, that needs a lick of paint...am I going to stay here again - no.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2010

booked 2 sea view rooms, with balconies, as these looked very nice on the hotel website. Couldn't believe what we were met with after checking in - we were expected to climd through the window that opened about 24". Not too bad for us, but my 76 year old parents weren't up to it! In fairness, the hotel DM, did move us, but the dexor was shabby, and the balcony filthy.
Dinner was a let down to say the least- food was not what we would expect, steak was so tough it was inedible, and chips were strange!
After complaining, we were told it would be taken off the bill, but on checking out it wasn't.
On the plus side, the outdoor pool area was lovely, and the bar area was relaxing in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveflorida7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Booked superior room given inferior room. Restaurant was fine. Went through to lounge there is a guy who looked like a street thug with a bull mastiff dog that was barking. Will never stay at the Grand again - really disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelaneyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

One of the best features of the Grand is its lovely warm outdoor pool and surrounding area- a certain hit with the children on one of our rare hot summer days -so unbelivable that the opening hours are limited to 10am -6pm!!! I am reliably informed that the pool and its surrounding sun beds will have to be vacated and locked up at 6pm I for one would not wish to be moved on whilst the sun is still shining. As the only reason is not paying a lifeguard for a few hours longer this is just tight-I am sure there are other ways of saving money-this is why we go abroad they know how to make family holidays a success.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie007_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand10_10, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Thank you for highlighting the outdoor pool as one of the hotels best features, which i strongly agree is a great place to relax for couples and families during the summer. The opening times for the outdoor pool are from 8am until 8pm throughout the summer season allowing guests to enjoy every minute of the sunshine. The Indoor leisure faciltites continue to be open from 7am until 9pm where guests can take advantage of the indoor swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We returned yesterday from a 3 day break in Torquay staying at The Grand. We wanted a few days relaxing to recharge the batteries and overall we did. The hotel is outwardly impressive and the public rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The reception staff (with the exception of the young lady who checked us out) were indifferent and we were not shown to our room, offered help with luggage or any other nicety you would expect from a 4* hotel. The room was as we had requested, large with a lovely view of the bay, but surprisingly to access the chairs on the balcony you had to climb over a high window cill and crawl through the lower sash window! The decor was very tired with wallpaper coming away in places and very dated furnishings. We booked for b&b and the cooked buffet breakfast was good but not always hot and empty dishes not replenished quickly. I understand that hotels need to maximise income whenever possible and perhaps we were unlucky that during our 3 day stay there was a wedding, christening and junior rugby team visiting. This obviously meant there were a lot of non residents, restricted access and numerous 10 year old boys running and shouting around the inside and outside areas well past us retiring at 11pm. The entertainment was very low key by musicians who looked as though they would rather be somewhere else. Overall our stay was pleasant enough but we will not return to The Grand if we are looking for a 4* hotel where each 'guest' is treated as a 'guest'.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise53Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We usually stay at The Imperial Hotel but for some reason they were not taking bookings for the weekend of 25th April and the swimming pool was closed. We decided to try out The Grand Hotel and my husband asked for a good deal and nice room when he phoned and spoke to Ashton. She was really helpful and we stayed for 3 nights.The Hotel is a little tired and dated but the warmth of the welcome and the wonderful service we received made up for having flowery curtains and a smaller than usual bed. The room was clean and tidy with a good supply of toiletries in the bathroom. The hotel is on a busy main road and there is traffic noise which can be disturbing if the window is left open at night. Not the fault of the hotel it has been there for decades!

The food was excellent, good choice at breakfast and a well prepared and presented evening meal. The restaurant staff are lovely, well trained and led by a very professional management team.

Taking after dinner beverage in the lounge is a real pleasure when accompanied by a charming pianist!

We called in at The Imperial to see what the problem had been but my husband was totally ignored by the reception staff. Goodbye Imperial, Hello Grand!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Business Hotel in Torquay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing