We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so Grand Service. Clear difference with quality of 'superior rooms'.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #37 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Taunton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so Grand Service. Clear difference with quality of 'superior rooms'.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Neither of our two room service requests arrived. We were staying as a group and we asked for the best room to go to the one celebrating their Birthday (the recptionist stated there was no difference between the rooms). We found out much later that evening that there was a big difference in the 'superior rooms' which was embarrasing. All the rooms for our group weren't spotless hence the score of two. The floor of the male changing room in the fitness centre hadn't been washed in a while. The restaurant staff were good and knowlegeable. However the food was attempting to be fine dining but was poorly executed. The bar staff were overrun with a wedding party and ignored us. But what made things worse was when two of the politley raised these issues with the duty manager the next morning he dismissed and contradicted the points raised. What was strange is he kept saying there was no room service deptartment and he insisted that all superior rooms were of the same size and quality which they clearly weren't. The location is only average because there is very little parking near the hotal and there was no sign to say the hotel garage was full resulting in us driving around it. We won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stag_Lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    728
    438
    226
    136
See reviews for
492
991
88
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

The grand Hotel as the name goes,is really grand.Myself and my wife had a great time at the hotel and would definitely come back for the food,service and accomodation.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davidchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

fabulous hotel, lovely rooms, clean and spacious. elegant entrance
relaxing
would go again and again

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weshouldno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Having read reviews I thought I had made a big mistake. However, I think I must have stayed at a different hotel because I thought it excellent! The exterior paint work may have been a little tired but it added to the history of the place. The bar, restaurant, lounge and bedroom was very clean and comfortable(yes we paid a little extra to get a great view of the bay but worth it). I have never had such attentive staff in a hotel and was always greeted with a smile, and nothing to much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

The Grand Hotel in Torquay is situated on the sea front next to the railway station and 10 minutes walk from the Riviera Conference centre, it has a gym, 2 swimming pools a nice bar area and restuarant. Car parking is limited, our twin room (we wanted a double) was at the rear overlooking the railway lines and the hotels recycling/ bottle bin, the room had very poor single glazed sash windows that failed to keep the noise out and rattled in the wind, I jammed them with cardboard. The bath/shower tap ran hot water on my feet whilst I was taking a shower not recommended. The safe was an extra charge and you had to ring reception to cancel a turn down service or they did it without your permission, I rang but they did it anyway but didnt charge after I complained. Breakfast was good, all things considered I think I would look for a more modern well presented hotel, we only stayed 2 nights that was enough for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teessider123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We booked on line the night before we went, should have guessed any hotel worth staying at wouldn't have rooms available in August!!
As we drove up to the Hotel a sense of inpending doom came over me, it looked much scruffier than in the pictures on the website, also the fun fair next door didn't help!!
We were told we could not get into the room early as they were '' cleaning it '' so we waited an hour got our key and went up to the room. My immediate thoughts were, '' why did we drive 4 hours to get here''? it smelt dirty, felt grubby, and looked very tatty, there was a dead fly squashed on the window, a champagne cork top in the corner of the room, and the inside of the kettle looked like you could have caught something nasty from it, and to top it all I received a nice flea bite! All this luxury for £150 a night!!
To be fair the duty manager dealt with our concerns favourably, and we stayed 1 night in a re-fubished room, then left the next day to go home, our hope of a Luxury Hotel weekend break gone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tia030271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

i recently stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. first impresions as you see it from the train station not too good very shabby looking ,net curtains looked dirty, i entered with some trepidation but once inside very different, the welcome from the front desk was very welcoming and that set the tone for the rest of my stay, as the tittle says the staff make this place, every single member of staff you come into contact with are cheerful, polite and friendly and cannot do enough for you and are very genuine rather than they're just doing it because it's their job. the compass bar staff who also look after the pool catering, work very hard but they make you feel like you're the only person there. i really cannot praise all the staff highly enough and they have obviously been trained exceptionally well. yes this hotel is very shabby looking and the single room i was in wasn't the best but if you can get past this the rest of the hotel and the facilities and the food were first class. so please "the grand" get rid of the dirty nets, give it a lick of paint and make it look as good as it actually is.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juefaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#31 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing