We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

I had never stayed in a 4-star hotel before, and was greatly looking forward to it. I'd paid extra for a sea view, and had phoned ahead to say I'd be arriving early (normally, you can't book in until 3 pm, which to my mind is very late: I arrived by train at 11.30). When I arrived, my room wasn't ready and I had to wait in the bar. Although I was given a complimentary cup of tea, I got very bored and frustrated, and had to wait over an hour for a room. When I was given my key, I found they'd allocated me a room at the back overlooking the station. I asked for it to be changed, and the receptionist asked to see my booking email as if she didn't believe I was entitled to a room with a sea view. I had to ask to see the manager to get it sorted out, and by that time I was really fed up and I didn't have time to try out the pool. I went to the Winter Carnival, which was good, but the town is quite a walk from the Hotel. Back at the hotel, there was supposed to be a turn-down service for the beds, which didn't materialise. The heating seemed to be on only between about 6 and 10 pm. Breakfast was ok, but was a buffet with no trays! Perhaps so you couldn't take too much? There was no top-up water for my single small pot of tea. The toast was barely warm and the butter hard and cold. The bacon and sausages were fatty and inedible. Though a fantastic building, it definitely wasn't a 4-star Hotel, and I was very very disappointed, and would never go there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadameMaigret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    729
    439
    226
    136
See reviews for
493
992
88
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

I've lived in Torbay for most of my life and had to return for a family event and needed somewhere to stay. My wife found a very good price for Bed & Breakfast for a Sunday night at the Grand and we headed south to Torquay.

Having visited this hotel many times for social functions it was a real treat to stay here for the first time ever. It really was classy, with a heavy emphasis on the Art Deco period (linked to their favourite patron - Agatha Christie).

The room was comfortable and quiet. We even had a (small) sea view if you looked right!. The pool, sauna and jacuzzi were a great way to relax and well worth the trip downstairs.

The Breakfast can be described as epic; could be the best hotel Breakfast this year, and certainly the best setting. Sea views and Christmas decorations.

We will definately return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyvanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

A very plush hotel, albeit slightly pricey. The rooms were great, extremely comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel had free parking. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherCheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

We've stayed in The Grand in Torquay several times over the years and it has always been pleasurable. This visit was to combine seeing John Bishop at the Princess Theatre so it was for one night only and the first time we couldn't have dinner in the hotel restaurant as the show started at eight. But we know from our previous visits that the food is excellent in the restaurant and we would rather eat there than go into town.

We arrived at lunchtime, parked in the hotel garage and reception was friendly and efficient. Our room wasn't ready so reception took our luggage, gave us our room key while we had a light lunch in The Compass Lounge Bar. It was a clear, sunny day and eating lunch overlooking the beautiful bay made us feel good and relaxed and again excellent service.

Our room was ready by 2.30. It was a basic double, freshly painted, clean and warm. Small but had every necessary facility including two armchairs, a table, flat screen TV, bedside tables and good lighting. A small dressing room with plenty of clothes storage and tea and coffee making tray-plus a kettle that actually fitted under the bathroom taps for filling! The shower and bath were good, as were the towels and the complimentary toiletries.

We had a good walk around Torquay in the afternoon then back to The Grand for a late afternoon tea. Great scones.

We arrived back from the show at 10.30pm and were able to order sandwiches and a drink in The Compass Bar as we'd missed dinner.

I have mixed feelings about sleeping in a bed with old fashioned sheets and blankets, eiderdowns and counterpanes. It took me back to childhood and overall I do prefer a lovely squishy duvet. But we slept well after a busy day. The Turn-Back housekeeping service is again old fashioned, offered between 7.00pm and 9.00pm. Nightwear laid out, sheets and blankets turned back with a chocolate on your pillow. But this fits with the style and ethos of The Grand and I like this tradition.

The history of The Grand is interesting too and we should be thankful that the current owners work so hard to maintain and improve the original art-deco features as I understand a previous owner totally modernised the hotel in the 1970s and it must be a labour of love to restore it to it's former glory. Staying here makes me want to wear a Frock, Scent and a Cloche Hat with a feather in it.

The Buffet Breakfast was again traditional with decent sausages and polite and friendly service.

The pricing policy needs careful study. We booked months ago for one midweek night B & B with no dinner and paid £74.00 with a view overlooking the adjacent railway station. Didn't hear or see any trains though. Talking to another guest who'd booked the day before they'd paid £64.00 for a double with a sea view and a balcony.

But we've paid far more than that for a room over a pub so The Grand is excellent value as it has indoor and outdoor pools, a gym, beauty salon and a library.

The atmosphere in The Grand is very relaxing. All the hotel staff are friendly and there is an air of peace and the guest feels special.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notasocialworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Having just returned from our first stay at the Grand I am writing my first review ever.
We have stayed in all sorts of hotels around the world ranging from premier inns to 5 and 6 star hotels. Never before have we come across a ruling in a hotel that the heating on comes on after 6pm. We must have checked in on the coldest day of the year and on enquiring why the radiators were not working were informed that the heating only comes on at 6 o'clock. Had to beg for a heater as the room was so cold. Other than that the room was big and airy, all be it faded elegence decor. Perhaps a smaller room would have been warmer. Turn down service was welcome and reception staff attentive. The other down side was that on ordering drinks in the bar the waiter tipped the drinks all over us and except for throwing a tea towel at us to clean it up ourselves, did not apologise for the mishap. Awaiting dry cleaning bill to forward onto the management of the Grand. Hopefully manager Joshua Randall will sort out bill so that we feel able to try our luck again at the Grand in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

I've been a national magazine restaurant and hotels reviewer in my past, and tend to be cynical about standards and real life experiences. But in this case I have to be quite overwhelmed by the professionalism and friendliness and absolute joy in staying in this hotel as a single female business traveller. The room itself was perfect - clean, cared-for, and small (as a single) but perfectly formed.

I was out to inspect whether the hotel could adequately cope with a conference we were intending to promote, and I had three other venues to see. I didn't bother to see any of the others. I booked secretly on Late Rooms, and got a single room at £19. The breakfast was worth that. The room itself was perfect - clean, cared-for, and small (as a single) but perfectly formed.

The staff, without exception, were informal, friendly. kind, helpful and genuine. Believe me I've been in some of the best, which turned out to be rubbish.

On my second morning, I witnessed, although this wasn't arranged or pre-empted, a conference. I was struck by the complete professionalism of the hotel team.

As a guest, I was treated as a friend . As a professional, although no one knew this, I was impressed beyond belief. I'd imagined this hotel to be slightly tatty, judging from some of the online reviews. It was nothing of the kind. It was exceptional in every respect.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drbeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for 2 nights in November 2010. I found the standard of service generally very good - friendly and efficient. This was particularly apparent when my elderly mother, who was staying with me requested a change of room so that it was closer to mine. The request was dealt with quickly and efficiently.
The rooms were comfortable, very clean and well laid out.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham_J0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2016
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torquay's Historic Jewel For old world grandeur and traditional British charm, the Grand has been Torquay's landmark hotel for over 130 years. Overlooking one of the finest bays, this elegant Victorian hotel offers 132 individually styled bedrooms, The Grand spa, AA rosette restaurant 1881 and is surrounded by 22 miles of spectacular Devon coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing