We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Winter Break”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We returned to the Toorak for a weekend break taking advantage of a special offer deal. The terrace room was excellent, large and clean. The facilities at TLH are second to none and due to the inclement weather we took full advantage of them. The staff were efficient and friendly whilst the food was good with a reasonable amount of choice.
The only minor criticisms we had was the complementary cream teas had to be taken on the day of arrival (in our case one hour after we checked in) and at breakfast there was a short wait for more bacon to arrive.
Overall We would highly recommend the Toorak and have done so to our friends.

Room Tip: The terrace rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank godfrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrbeck, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for your post and we are glad to see you enjoyed your winter break with us
Thank you also for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    266
    91
    36
    15
See reviews for
189
199
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south wales uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

we have stayed at the "toorak"many times in the past and have found it comfortable,friendly with great facilities and lovely food.This time however it was a particularly cold week and the hotel guests suffered with cold rooms and a freezing cold restaurant"we all ate with our coats on"We felt this was worthy of a comment at reception and was confronted by an argumentative young lady who insisted that everyone else was complaining of the heat( i recorded a temperature at our table of 14 degreesC)The evening meal was generous with a very good selection of starters,mains and desserts,the breakfast is bog standard "english"and usually cold

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevewSouthWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrbeck, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for the review
On the weekend of your visit we did have a problem with our boilers ( now resolved) which was also the coldest weekend of the year. I am sorry that you were affected as you were and I hope you will give us another try if you are back in Torquay

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We attended Gerald and Margaret Thompson's ballroom dancing break which was most enjoyable - an excellent blend of entertaining tuition and social interaction. Our room was fine, although the bathroom could have done with a little TLC. We enjoyed our stay apart from the fact that the restaurant didn't cope very well my husband being on a low-fat diet, even though we'd warned them in advance.

Room Tip: The resort is a bit of a rabbit warren and the lift is sometimes a long way from your room so you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrbeck, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for posting your review
To answer some of the points you raise - We are currently in a programme of bathroom refurbs and this is ongoing. For those with mobility issues we can allocate rooms close to the lift and we have ground floor rooms which can be requested
I am sorry we did not get your dietary needs sorted for you. Chef is very good normally at this as you will see from other reviews
We do hope you will consider a return at some point in the future
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

we have been coming for 9years with our family we allways have terrece rooms they wont go any any where else it is a loveley hotel for families loads to do whatever the the weather the service is great the staff are loveley and very helpfull the food is really good there is a seperate menue for children wehave also been on on our own for short breaks we allways enjoy ore holidays we have stayed at all different times of the year allways first class

Room Tip: go for the best you can aford
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrbeck, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Hello The Morgan Family!
It's great to see you enjoy your visits to us. Thank you for your kind comments and also your support over 9 years we do appreciate it!

See you soon we hope

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We returned once again to the Toorak and were not disappointed. The high standards are maintained with all areas clean and tidy. The room was well prepared, and being a terrace room it was good to be able to go outside even in mid January. The communal areas are comfortable and there are a variety of bars for all tastes. A good sign of the place is that there are familiar faces amongst the staff who are all friendly, helpful and go out of their way to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. The food in the restaurant is of a good quality. The location is superb in that a stroll through Torre Abbey gardens which is just outside the entrance leads to the seafront where you can have a leisurely stroll. The whole experience of our stay at the Toorak was that it made you feel very relaxed, which is just what we were after.

Room Tip: Go for a Terrace room if possible - as long as we don't want it at the same time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobijono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrbeck, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you very much for your review and are I am glad to see you enjoyed yourselves. I have passed on your kind comments to the team here
Thanks for taking the time to do a post

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have been visiting the Toorak hotel almost every year since 1999, the service and facilities have not remained constant, in fact they have continued to improve. The Lands End John o' Groats Association has been using the hotel for many of the 28 years it has been in running, in fact we house our trophies in the Toorak. I would recomend the facilities to anyone who requires a family holiday or just a break by yourself, the catering is of the highest quality and the rooms are spotless, the sports arena caters for most tastes and the entertainment is also good. Our group would not consider any other hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 111 it contained one double and two singles, the double was a five foot double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercman1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrbeck, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for doing a review of your stay
We really do the appreciate the support of LEJOG over 28 years and have made some good friends, it's like family coming home every January!
Thanks for your kind comments

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This was a return triip to theToorak. It did not disappoint. The staff were once again courteous and professional. The room was large, clean and comfortable withe a sizable patio terrace. The food i.e. breakfast, dinner and a free gratis cream tea were of excellent quality. The entertainment in the Starlight ballroom was superb, the facilities at this establishment are fantastic. However next time we visit, I hope to see a 'flat screen' TV in our room in place of the CRT 5 channel set!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireCatnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrbeck, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for your post and its was pleasing to see you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for the positive review and we hope to see you soon
PS TV's are on the list!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#32 of 87 in Torquay
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,808 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Property: TLH Toorak Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing