We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely holiday at the Toorak Hotel”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2013

As a three to four times a year visitor to the Toorak, this hotel never fails to delight me. The staff are superb, the food is excellent, the spa and swimming pool areas great and the dancing, - particularly if you are lucky enough to have Kevin of KB Sounds playing the music - is delightful. No matter what the season you can be assured of a wonderful time at The Toorak Hotel - it would never occur to me to stay anywhere else when in Devon.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra to have the pleasure of a terrace room - yes - even in winter one can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeakDistrictTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you for your review and kind words. It is good to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate the support you have given us and hope to see you soon
Thank you

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

The flooring in places is held together by Black Duck tape, we were there for 5 nights and did not have one HOT meal in all that time despite complaining, televisions in the rooms were so old that you were lucky to be able to watch 4 channels. The food choices were limited with only 3 different types of vegetable through the week, lunch time snacks only available for very short time (12.00 to 13.45) difficult when you are bowling from 12.00 to 13.30, you do not have time to get to the bar before 13.45, internet facilities were running to slow to be able to use it. Heating only working occasionally resulting in guest catch colds while there, the only good thing about the hotel was the rooms, they were comfortable, clean and tidy despite being a bit dated. Housekeeping, reception and maintenance staff were as helpfull as they could be. Safety feature needs had rails on the walls where showers are over baths as people can easily fall without somethin g to hold on to.

Room Tip: This hotel is not disabled friendly within the rooms. Choose one of the other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your stay. We are always disappointed when you have not enjoyed your stay, we will look at the points you have raised

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The Bowls facilities are excellent. The food was of a high standard. The table waiting staff were superb. Three small problems: the heating in our room was inadequate (end of the hot water pipe-line?) This was solved promptly on request for an oil-filled radiator to be provided. A hinge broke on the bedroom door. Again, this was fixed very promptly. The heated towel rail in the bathroom was out of order and had been for some time. This was not fixed.
I'm looking forward to staying there again in April, and for the bowls festival in 2014.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs then request a room near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HJP186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your post and glad to see you enjoyed your stay, look forward to seeing you again in April

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Would like to stay the toorak was terrible to stop people coming so we could always book a room, but this would be terribly unfair,.we have stayed here many times each time better if possible than the last, food is excellent, staff so obliging nothing is ever too much trouble and everything is always done with a smile, there is an overall feeling of relaxation with both the residents and staff. My husband is in a wheelchair the room is ideal, disabled friendly and always very clean, the facilities ie swimming pool ect are first class, if anyone is looking for a break you cannot do better than the toorak, failing that the Victoria is also wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikebaklin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate the loyalty you have shown over the years. We look forward to next time!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We enjoyes our Bowls tournament with good organisation throughout. The room and en-suite was clean and fresh.
However, on our last night (00.05) the fire alarm was sounded (very efficient) but due to the positioning of our room - down an off-shoot corridor - we only managed to hear the evacuation anouncement because we had the bedroom window open. The sound of the alarm masked the "evacuation" instructions. Saying this the evacuation was carried out quickly and effectively. We would like to have known the reason for the evacuation, perhaps a fellow guest smoking in their room perhaps? Many thanks to the staff for their dealing with this matter. We are returning in April with the rest of our Bowls Club for an extended weekend.

Room Tip: Check on location of room. I am a blue badge holder and the only access to our room was up an extend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for the feedback
I am glad you had a good bowls holiday, the alarm was activated from a public room but we were able to reset the system after checks
Look forward to seeing you in April
Thank you for your business!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Upgraded to the Toorak for a change. Lovely big room. Restaurant service mostly good, Saturday morning was a let down. Not busy but just went haywire. Quality of food no better than in the Derwent but the presentation and individual waiter/ress touch is nice to have.

The hotel needs a good upgrade as people who pass through from the Derwent to the Toorak will see by the state of the ceiling and new carpets would be good, hence only the average rating, but I would like to say it was GOOD and apart from using the Derwent for our dance weekend will definitley use the Toorak again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we have noted the points that you raise, you will be glad to know our upgrade programme continues this winter.
Look forward to seing you again

Best Wishes

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Had a wonderful time despite it being a cold, grey February. Very friendly, helpful, welcoming staff. Large. clean family room with sea view and nice bathroom. Plenty of entertainment for the kids - aged 8 and 10. Loved the pool, bowling and snooker. Organised entertainment was also good - kids had a free snorkelling lesson, did line-dancing and we won the family kurling competition. The hotel was 'old-style' and mostly occupied by retired couples but we didn't feel out of place and found lots to do and felt the kids were really welcome. Central position in town so could also walk to the beach and harbour. restaurant service was excellent and the food was fine - not fine-dining but perfectly OK with a good choice. excellent value for money - I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: ground floor terrace rooms open out onto the garden - nice in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thanks for the post. I am glad your family had a good time with us
We have a full family Easter programme if you are looking for a getaway!
Thanks for the recommend!!!
See you soon

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £72 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing