We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Toorak Hotel. Always provides a happy meeting place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #34 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Toorak Hotel. Always provides a happy meeting place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Although my wife and I attend the solo house party we enjoy the company for our 4 night stay at the Toorak hotel each year in March. The music supplied by CD's cover a very good range of popular dances. We have been up to now four times and hope to attend for many more. While the dance routines are geared to the single person there is always sufficient partners who support the occasion and are always happy to have a dance so no one needs to sit out.
The food in the hotel is Very Good and more than sufficient to cater for all needs. We have never been disappointed.
The staff are hard working and polite at all times.
WELL DONE TO ALL CONCERNED.

Room Tip: We take the rooms as they come and have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your post, we are glad to see you enjoyed another of our solo dance breaks with Pam Peters. thank you for your support of this event and hope to see you again at one of our Solo's breaks in October or March!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    259
    85
    36
    14
See reviews for
183
190
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We arrived on Sunday and normally a very enjoyable five days this year proved to be very disappointing, I had no heating on in my room the first night I was there and it was extremely cold, in fact the whole hotel was cold for most of the time we spent there. The heating in the various lounges was off in the afternoons, and February isnt famed for beach weather. As we are all over sixties this was not very good for our well being and indeed quite a few of us are still suffering with colds caused by getting chilled all week.The hotel appeared very dated this year and in need of a good refurbishment. Most of the staff had changed and I felt there should have been a few more in the dining room. We waited half an hour one morning for our tea and toast! all in all a very disappointing. The bowls competition was as usual very good and enjoyed by all

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I sorry to see you were disappointed with your stay. We did have a problem with our heating that was caused by an electrical fault that controls our system It has taken them too long to rectify this, my apologies and all now is sorted.
You will be glad to hear that we have had a closure period to uplift some of our public areas along with our room upgrades which continues. Thank you for your comments

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We were made to move on the Sunday because maintenance was due to be done on the Hotel, why not allow us to remain until after breakfast on the Monday instead of a one night stay in the Carlton. Could not get rid of us quick enough and the lack of staff on Sunday made that quite clear. The Hotel looks very tired and is in need of a good uplift, the heating in the rooms was below standard.

Room Tip: We have had room 202 for three years and are very happy with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your post, we did close for a short period to do the work needed that you have highlighted. I am sorry that you had to move but we get few windows of opportunity to carry out such works. It was not our intention to make you feel unwelcome, our apologies if this was the case. I hope you will consider a return to TLH at some point

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

As a three to four times a year visitor to the Toorak, this hotel never fails to delight me. The staff are superb, the food is excellent, the spa and swimming pool areas great and the dancing, - particularly if you are lucky enough to have Kevin of KB Sounds playing the music - is delightful. No matter what the season you can be assured of a wonderful time at The Toorak Hotel - it would never occur to me to stay anywhere else when in Devon.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra to have the pleasure of a terrace room - yes - even in winter one can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeakDistrictTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. It is good to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate the support you have given us and hope to see you soon
Thank you

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

The flooring in places is held together by Black Duck tape, we were there for 5 nights and did not have one HOT meal in all that time despite complaining, televisions in the rooms were so old that you were lucky to be able to watch 4 channels. The food choices were limited with only 3 different types of vegetable through the week, lunch time snacks only available for very short time (12.00 to 13.45) difficult when you are bowling from 12.00 to 13.30, you do not have time to get to the bar before 13.45, internet facilities were running to slow to be able to use it. Heating only working occasionally resulting in guest catch colds while there, the only good thing about the hotel was the rooms, they were comfortable, clean and tidy despite being a bit dated. Housekeeping, reception and maintenance staff were as helpfull as they could be. Safety feature needs had rails on the walls where showers are over baths as people can easily fall without somethin g to hold on to.

Room Tip: This hotel is not disabled friendly within the rooms. Choose one of the other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your stay. We are always disappointed when you have not enjoyed your stay, we will look at the points you have raised

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

The Bowls facilities are excellent. The food was of a high standard. The table waiting staff were superb. Three small problems: the heating in our room was inadequate (end of the hot water pipe-line?) This was solved promptly on request for an oil-filled radiator to be provided. A hinge broke on the bedroom door. Again, this was fixed very promptly. The heated towel rail in the bathroom was out of order and had been for some time. This was not fixed.
I'm looking forward to staying there again in April, and for the bowls festival in 2014.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs then request a room near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HJP186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your post and glad to see you enjoyed your stay, look forward to seeing you again in April

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Would like to stay the toorak was terrible to stop people coming so we could always book a room, but this would be terribly unfair,.we have stayed here many times each time better if possible than the last, food is excellent, staff so obliging nothing is ever too much trouble and everything is always done with a smile, there is an overall feeling of relaxation with both the residents and staff. My husband is in a wheelchair the room is ideal, disabled friendly and always very clean, the facilities ie swimming pool ect are first class, if anyone is looking for a break you cannot do better than the toorak, failing that the Victoria is also wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikebaklin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate the loyalty you have shown over the years. We look forward to next time!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Property: TLH Toorak Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#30 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing