We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter Break”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My family and my sister in laws family stayed over the Easter Break at The Toorak (I have been coming for 35 years plus and now they all like it too!!) we had a very enjoyable stay, the entertainment at the Derwent was excellent and the extra touches like an Easter egg for the Children on Easter Sunday for was much appreciated.
The standard of accommodation is very good and the food quality this year and service was excellent, although in a couple of areas the hotel could do with a little refurbishment overall the value for money the Toorak and the hotel complex offers in general is excellent.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the lawns and have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 380DavidP380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
We appreciate your review and are happy to hear your whole family had a great stay with us, the fact that you found us value for money as well is very satisfying. With regards to your comments on refurbishments, we have made some upgrades already, such as flat screen TVs in guests rooms and are working on other areas that all guests will find value in, check with us when you make your next booking.
We do look forward to seeing you all back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    266
    88
    36
    15
See reviews for
188
196
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

My family and I have stayed in this hotel several times now over the years and we have enjoyed it every time.
I have to say that the food is of a very high standard and I would highly recommend that you take the option with the evening meal.
Our room this April was a family room and had been freshly decorated and the television had been updated.
I cannot praise the majority of the staff at this Hotel highly enough they make your stay even better :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1971PMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review, we are happy to note that the resent upgrades made to some of guests rooms are being noticed. We also appreciate your comments regarding the high standard of our food, our F&B team work hard and I have passed on your positive feedback to them. We do look forward to welcoming back to the Toorak Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The family, grandparents , parents grand children (9 of us in total )stayed 28 to 31 st March, rooms warm and reasonably clean certainly passable, carpets in all bedrooms tread bare, 1 room had old analogy T.V did 'n;t know it still worked . Food was generally very good given numbers catered for . Swimming pools O.K. apart from the small children's pool which appeared to have a slime film over the tiles , could need a pressure clean. Parking is an issue especially when a member of staff leaves their car, a 51 reg corsa for over an hr blocking in 3 residents cars , no apology forthcoming. Luckily no one needed to leave in an emergency, which prevented forcing entry to the offending car. Management need to make sure staff respect visitors and act responsibly towards them,they do after all pay the wages. Parking needs some form of controlled access and management need to decide who has priority, holidayers or day guests. There certainly isn't enough parking for all comers. Could damage future trade, may stay again although my son thought it was the hotel time forgot. Stayed at the Toorak

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHIMEARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and we will consider the issues you raise. I was glad to see that overall you enjoyed your break

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on trent
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My family have stayed at the Toorak over7 years now and we enjoy this venue more every time we visit the TLH group. The facilities provided are excellent especially the pool area. We stayed at the Derwent last week with a group of 380 and can confirm everyone enjoyed themselves and will look forward to returning. The Derwent has been refurbished and exceeded our expectations. A good time was had by us all.
The food is exquisite and staff cannot do enough for you. The entertainment is of high standard and especially the music provided by Kevin from by KB sounds.
Kevin is a very talented and versatile entertainer and no matter what age you are, he caters for everyone and gets the guests on the dance floor.No matter what age you are-you will enjoy your visit.
This venue comes highly recommended and excellent value for money.
Tony Pittendreigh
Stoke on Trent

Room Tip: request a room at back of hotel overlooking car park as you may get a little road noise from passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you for your post and kind comments and it is good to see you have had a good time
Look forward to seeing you soon!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We spent six days at the Torak in March, our room was very nice with a lovely view. The staff were as usual all very helpful. The hotel was on the cold side but the weather was particularly cold. I enjoyed 4 different treatments at the spa all were very good.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaJS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you for your review. It's good to see that you enjoyed your bowls break with us. Hope to see you on the green soon!

Thank you

Kind Regards

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed in febuary all ok until we could see the bottom sheet had not been changed,so inspect before use. other than that we thought the hotel was fair value in good position, parking can be a pain on busy weeks as the hotel is open to non residents.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humphreygocart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Thank you for your post. We always score very highly for our houskeeping standards so this sounds most suprising. I am sorry that this was your perception and hope you gave us the chance to put it right
I am glad to see that otherwise you had a good time
I hope you will give us another try

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Although my wife and I attend the solo house party we enjoy the company for our 4 night stay at the Toorak hotel each year in March. The music supplied by CD's cover a very good range of popular dances. We have been up to now four times and hope to attend for many more. While the dance routines are geared to the single person there is always sufficient partners who support the occasion and are always happy to have a dance so no one needs to sit out.
The food in the hotel is Very Good and more than sufficient to cater for all needs. We have never been disappointed.
The staff are hard working and polite at all times.
WELL DONE TO ALL CONCERNED.

Room Tip: We take the rooms as they come and have never been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your post, we are glad to see you enjoyed another of our solo dance breaks with Pam Peters. thank you for your support of this event and hope to see you again at one of our Solo's breaks in October or March!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#36 of 87 in Torquay
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 87 in Torquay
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Property: TLH Toorak Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing