We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“could be better”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

stayed recently,,suggest requesting a room with a refurbished bathroom,as the old ones date back from the seventies,food ok,but quality not as good as on previous visits,.some of the staff seem quite interested in the guests,whereas others including management rather gave the impression they were doing us a favour by being there.

Room Tip: probably at the front of the hotel,definitely request room with recently modernised bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horace92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    269
    91
    37
    16
See reviews for
190
202
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had an excellent few days at the Toorak we had tried for weeks to up grade room but there was none available. Please when booking don,t have room 24 you look out at a brick wall and some very much need to be cleaned up concrete , so therefore we found we needed the lights on all the time which could have been brighter as you have very little natural light coming in Room 24 is on ground floor and along a long corridor my husband is a blue badge holder which means he can not walk very far, we asked for a change but couldn.t get one. When booking the room we were originally told it was on the first floor by the lift, but when we arrived we were told it was the ground floor. That is our only complaint, the Hotel is excellent very friendly , clean even though dated food excellent everyone so friendly especially in the resturant we stayed in All inclusive and it was fabulous food ....The whole resturant excelled themselves on the night of my husbands birthday even cake wine chocs and decorated table and ballon, we were taken back with it all. Entertainment was brilliant in the Derwent we went there every night, just such a shame about our bedroom, but we will I can asure you be going back there in the very near future.

Room Tip: Room on the south side to the right of the reception desk Riveria or one with your own terrace or fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroldave_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

had a another lovely long week-end last bank holiday, unfortunately couldn't get the terrace room that I required as they were all booked, but the room we had was just as spacious and spotlessly clean. shame about the view - it was a superb view across the park to the sea, but as the window was misted up in between the double glazing you had to have the window open to see the view - that was the only complaint though, as the staff are all really nice, food good and service very good, back again next year !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hywel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester.UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3nights as part of a bowls tour - everyone on the staff did their utmost to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. The food was excellent - the rooms were always clean - in fact one of members complained that she had nothing to complain about - there is always one!.This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel - last time was for a week - and the standards have remained first class.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 800bootneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

we had a wonderful break at the Toorak Hotel .. they were so accomodating, my mum is wheat intolerant and they looked after her better than anywhere. the facilities were great and we all had treatments in the spa .. the kids loved it .. evening entertainment super .. the staff excellent and we found it good value ..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We chose the Toorak as it was the closest to where our Toastmasters conference was being held and it was a good choice. Free parking unlike the conference centre across the road charging £6 per day.

Found having to wait until 3.00 pm to check in a little frustrating and reception staff tended to elave you waiting whilst they finished their conversation.

Only had breakfast in restaurant but it was excellent with wide choice. Waitress called Klara was so happy and helpful.

Room was very good size unlike so many modern hotels. Bathroom was rather seventies in decor but was clean and everything functioned.

Would use hotel again if in the area

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timetodoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Had a great weekend at The Toorak. Excellent accommodation and facilities. Particular thanks to the attentive staff in all departments and an extra thanks to restaurant staff, Caroline and Monique. We are returning the TLH Group at the end of May for another bank holiday break - couldn't get in at The Toorak so sampling the Victoria Hotel instead. Ideal place to stay, so close to the hub of Torquay and such good shared facilities, i.e. Swimming pools, activities, spa, to name but a few. For a three star hotel we consider everything really good. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffhelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,361 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,117 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Property: TLH Toorak Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing