We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could need for holiday”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Superb location. Part of a setup of 4 hotels. Indoor/outdoor swimming pools. other recreational activities also available. Evening entertainment. KB sounds a must see entertainer / DJ. Staff all seem to be very polite and helpful. Very good value. A place very well worth taking a holiday at.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbirdthebowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your post
It's good to see you had a good time, come back again soon!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was my second four day 'package' at the Toorak. 2012 visit was just as good thank you.
The four hotel Centre is a close match for a cruise ship, without the bother of mal de mer!
Facilities and functions are well thought out and most enjoyable. A great group of people seem to be present all the time - happy, cheerful and clearly enjoying themselves.
The Centre is handy to all 'outside' services needed, if any.
Of course the scenes and facilities of Torbay help. Sand was not as white as Bondi Beach though.
I might be biased: I was born in Torbay Hospital [presume my mother was unwell ??]

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your post, I am sure you are aware that the Hotel is named from Toorak in Australia.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have visited before. I hope you get the chance to come back again, thank you

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Would have liked to have rated the staff higher than 5 they deserve it. Not one member of staff looked unhappy over our whole visit which employing staff myself can be quite challenging. Fantastic food and lovely room. Hotel needs a little updating but very good value. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizbeeward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your post and kind comments.
It's good to see that you had a good holiday with us and are planning a return
We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Yet another lovely break at the toorak hotel room clean and comfortable, food first class, the staff are just wonderful always cheerful nothing is ever too much trouble, we have stayed here several times and always had first class service, my husband is in a wheelchair but this never causes a problem even though the rooms are disabled friendly not especially designed for people with disabilities. Hope it won't be long before we return again. Hi Rachel have a lovely time at the cricket in taunton we will look out for you, !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikebaklin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your post and kind comments
Its good to know that you enjoyed yourselves and we do hope to see you again
Rachael thanks you for the message!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Coming from the United States it took a bit of luck to find the hotel. From check in to check out it was a great weekend stay. All the meals were excellent and the staff was super, from helping us find directions to assistance in getting a good drink. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your post, we were so pleased you found us!! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again next trip!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and myself Stayed with 6 friends in June, a Great hotel, really great room, close to beach. Had one problem we booked the Aztec bistro for an evening meal as it was in the hotel and one if our friends was just getting over a stroke and could not walk far, when we arrived in the resturant we were told by the waitress there would be over an hour wait and maybe we should go elsewhere! We then had to find another place to eat making our friend walk, she suggested we didn't go to two bars close to hotel but as we could not walk far we had no choice as it was now 8.30. We went to the bull and bush where we were welcomed warmly and had great food and service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your comments
I have let the manager with responsibility for the bistro know of your exeprience, I am sorry
I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel with your friends and hope you will be back!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We enjoyed a brilliant 4 night break at the Toorak in Torquay via the CSMA. Although we had amazing weather we could not fault the hotel. Our room on the first floor was front facing with views over the bay and very quiet. It was large with 2 single beds and 1 double, spotlessly clean with a smell of freshly aired laundry, bliss. Breakfast was plentiful, well cooked, hot and with all the usual choices. Dinner in the evening was waitress served with 3 choices for 3 courses all very tasty and again plentiful, choice of teas and coffee after as well. TLH group of hotels offer something for everyone. We used the indoor swimming pool, clean, large and not many using it. Bar prices much the same as local pubs and wine with dinner pretty average for a hotel, house wine £12 ish.
If you wish to look into every nook and cranny you will be able to find faults. It is an older hotel but with lots of new furnishings, fabrics and fitments. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The gardens are well kept and there is ample car parking. It is a 10 min. stroll to the harbour where you can catch the ferry to Brixham for £2 return, bargain for 30mins. each way.
We shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your review of the hotel
It's good to see you had a good break with us and are planning a return at some point
We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#21 of 85 in Torquay
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#33 of 85 in Torquay
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £70 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing