We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing food”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
1 review
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

On a recent 3 day at this hotel with in-laws who have been coming here for many, many years, my husband and I were very disappointed with the standard of the food at dinner and breakfast. The so-called continental breakfast was melon or melon, yoghurt, processed ham and cheese, both looking quite 'tired'. A bigger choice of fruit would have been welcome. I did not have the fried breakfast but my husband did and rated it 'ok'. We found the choices for dinner very poor and not good quality - the food seemed to us like something from a fast-food restaurant or middle of the road pub, not hotel standard food. We have been here on three other occasions over the past 10 years and have noticed a decline in the quality and presentation of the food. For example, the starter of smoked salman (at an extra cost) was merely a piece of salmon plonked on a huge lettuce leaf, very disappointing. The rest of our stay was fine, staff pleasant and helpful, lunch in Aztec Bistro was good. The bathroom in our room could do with being updated, especially the shower.
JAB, Hampshire.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pensionertobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your comments

I am sorry that you were disappointed with our food, we normally score highly for this ,its sounds like we did not get it quite right for you
I am glad to see that otherwise you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    269
    91
    37
    16
See reviews for
190
203
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Superb location. Part of a setup of 4 hotels. Indoor/outdoor swimming pools. other recreational activities also available. Evening entertainment. KB sounds a must see entertainer / DJ. Staff all seem to be very polite and helpful. Very good value. A place very well worth taking a holiday at.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbirdthebowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your post
It's good to see you had a good time, come back again soon!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was my second four day 'package' at the Toorak. 2012 visit was just as good thank you.
The four hotel Centre is a close match for a cruise ship, without the bother of mal de mer!
Facilities and functions are well thought out and most enjoyable. A great group of people seem to be present all the time - happy, cheerful and clearly enjoying themselves.
The Centre is handy to all 'outside' services needed, if any.
Of course the scenes and facilities of Torbay help. Sand was not as white as Bondi Beach though.
I might be biased: I was born in Torbay Hospital [presume my mother was unwell ??]

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your post, I am sure you are aware that the Hotel is named from Toorak in Australia.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have visited before. I hope you get the chance to come back again, thank you

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Would have liked to have rated the staff higher than 5 they deserve it. Not one member of staff looked unhappy over our whole visit which employing staff myself can be quite challenging. Fantastic food and lovely room. Hotel needs a little updating but very good value. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizbeeward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your post and kind comments.
It's good to see that you had a good holiday with us and are planning a return
We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Yet another lovely break at the toorak hotel room clean and comfortable, food first class, the staff are just wonderful always cheerful nothing is ever too much trouble, we have stayed here several times and always had first class service, my husband is in a wheelchair but this never causes a problem even though the rooms are disabled friendly not especially designed for people with disabilities. Hope it won't be long before we return again. Hi Rachel have a lovely time at the cricket in taunton we will look out for you, !!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebaklin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your post and kind comments
Its good to know that you enjoyed yourselves and we do hope to see you again
Rachael thanks you for the message!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Coming from the United States it took a bit of luck to find the hotel. From check in to check out it was a great weekend stay. All the meals were excellent and the staff was super, from helping us find directions to assistance in getting a good drink. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your post, we were so pleased you found us!! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again next trip!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and myself Stayed with 6 friends in June, a Great hotel, really great room, close to beach. Had one problem we booked the Aztec bistro for an evening meal as it was in the hotel and one if our friends was just getting over a stroke and could not walk far, when we arrived in the resturant we were told by the waitress there would be over an hour wait and maybe we should go elsewhere! We then had to find another place to eat making our friend walk, she suggested we didn't go to two bars close to hotel but as we could not walk far we had no choice as it was now 8.30. We went to the bull and bush where we were welcomed warmly and had great food and service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your comments
I have let the manager with responsibility for the bistro know of your exeprience, I am sorry
I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel with your friends and hope you will be back!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,373 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Property: TLH Toorak Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing