We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bowls Break”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bowls Break”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed on a 4-night bowls holiday and had a wonderful time. We can only reiterate all the positive points on previous reviews, especially with regard to the very good food and friendly, helpful staff. Many of the bowlers went as part of a team but my husband and I went on our own. We were partnered by two local bowlers who were great fun and extremely helpful. It was a really nice break and one we hope to repeat in the future. Thank you Toorak.

Room Tip: Nice views from front-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PossetWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you had a very good time on our bowls break. Thank you for the positive comments and we hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    269
    91
    37
    16
See reviews for
190
202
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights booked by our ballroom dance class. Rooms are quite basic but clean and good value. Toorak is part of a huge complex of about 3 hotels all sharing some facilities. Food was excellent, bar prices reasonable, staff very friendly and helpful. Located about 10 mins walk from the main promenade. This Hotel caters for guests who are unfortunate to suffer poor weather. Wonderful large indoor swimming pool including separate children's pool,outdoor pool, Spa etc. Large indoor bowls centre, 4 lane 10 pin bowling, large games area including several full size snooker tables, Cabaret( although we did not watch it so I can't comment. We had private use of one of the ballrooms with its own bar which was excellent. I believe the hotel is rated as 3 star and I would definitely recommend it as good value.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kemarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your dance break with us and got a chance to use some of our facilities. Thank you for your recommendation, come back soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a group of 25 staying at the Toorak in September. It was the first tour our club had taken for at least ten years. The help from Terri at the beginning of the planning was very much appreciated. This was followed by expert help again in sorting out matches and transport and arranging our rooms by the team of Sarah and Suzy.
We arrived to get changed for our first match in the afternoon and as expected our rooms were not all available. We arrived soon after 1.0 and we had been told rooms ready from 3.0pm so this was not a problem. A room was available for a quick change, and also a storage room for our cases for those of us waiting for a room. The receptionists were all very friendly and helpful at all times.

The meals were all excellent with a good variety of dishes. Chef had been told that 3 people
did not eat garlic and it was very good to see a separate menu showing which dishes were suitable for them.

On the Saturday the service was rather slow as many of the staff were helping at another function in the hotel. However, it was not really an inconvenience.

The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. On the complex you can find quiet rooms for just sitting and chatting, bars where you can enjoy company and then the large bar with entertainment being offered. This arrangement suited our group very well.

The swimming pools, gym, ten pin bowling and indoor bowling rinks were all enjoyed and appreciated.

A return visit is very much on the cards . I had the opportunity to visit the Spa on a previous visit and if I had the time would have gone back there on this visit.

Room Tip: Between us we had rooms on all floors and no one had problems with noise. The layout is good. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cypriotpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad your bowls tour was a success, South Devon is a beautiful area for a bowls tour! I am glad to read that you are thinking of returning, thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We are regulars to the Big Band Weekend and usually stay in the Victoria but this year decided to try the Toorak.
The bedroom was fantastic - big enough to dance in with two walk-in wardrobes.
As with the Victoria the food was excellent with friendly and efficient waitresses on our table.
We were with a group of fourteen so we had a table to ourselves and we shall certainly come to TLH again and stay at the Toorak

Room Tip: We all had sea view rooms although we were on the ground floor and were not able to see the sea but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your post. It's great to see your party had such a good time at our big band weekend they are always very popular. Good to see you have tried the Toorak and are looking to return, look forward to seeing you all again! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had mixed feelings about this hotel. Some rooms on the first floor, including ours are not accessible from a lift and although the staff will take your bags to your room, we were part of a larger group, who were arriving at the same time, more or less, causing delays. The room and the hallways were not spotless - we noticed rubbish on some stairs leading to a fire escape - it was there when we arrived and still there four days later when we left. The room was large, but to say that the mattress was firm, was the understatement of the year. In fairness perhaps we might have got it changed if we had mad a fuss.The bathroom was huge and yet there was only one shelf (approximately 24" X 3") to put out all the accessories we bring on holiday.

On the plus side the manager quickly agreed to have a table put in the bathroom. All the staff we encountered were very attentive and looking to please. We had booked half board. The evening meal was good value, well presented and the breakfasts had good choice.

There seemed to be more parking available than on previous visits. The facilities on off for sport and relaxation are excellent, with a great swimming pool and indoor bowls. Would we stay there again? On balance - yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room accessible by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback we have noted the comments you have made and hope you will consider us again at some point in the future
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This complex of four hotels, the Toorak being one of them is worth a visit just for the exploring value. All four hotels make up the THL Leisure Resort. We have stayed in the Toorak a couple of times now. You can walk from the Toorak at one end right through all the other hotels to the fourth one at the other end. Each one has it's own star rating and various activities, spas, bars, restaurants, amusements etc and to go up and down and roundabout exploring these is great fun. You come across different themed bars and outside spaces, decks, pools, sports bars. There is just about everything here the list too long to mention but we had great fun. Back to the Toorak, our rooms have been adequate, clean if a little tired but no complaints. The food was acceptable, we were there as part of a conference so we had pre-arranged food, I cannot comment off the menu. Staff very friendly and the grounds very pretty. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your review. It's good to see you enjoyed the complex as you say there is always plenty to do here! Next time come on a leisure weekend and relax! See you soon we hope.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel could not have been any better if it had tried! The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The food choice and quality was exceptional. The staff were friendly and most helpful. The location was perfect, being close to everything we wished to visit.
The only downside was that I wanted a cocktail one evening and despite the best efforts of the bar staff, the ingredients for my two choices were unavailable thoughout the entire hotel complex!

Room Tip: Our room faced Torre Abbey. It was very quiet and we had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppy-ronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B, General Manager at TLH Toorak Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and I am delighted you had such a good holiday. The Agatha Christie festival across Torbay each September is a wonderful event not to be missed! Hope to see you next year!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 87 in Torquay
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
2,879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,120 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Property: TLH Toorak Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing