We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another good holiday”
Review of TLH Toorak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Toorak Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
falkirk
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“another good holiday”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

we had another good holiday at the toorak, this was our 4th visit. however, we did feel that some bits (of the complex) were starting to get a bit tired around the edges, and that in some of the older pool areas and bathrooms things needed freshened up. having also always used the toorak smaller pool rather than the bigger central pool we really missed that being there. however, we still had a good holiday, the food and facilities are excellent value for the money and it allows our family and friends with children of various ages to enjoy a holiday in the same place. plenty for the kids ranging from 5 years to 12 years to do, plus a nice hotel for the adults

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshfamilyFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    269
    91
    37
    16
See reviews for
190
203
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

very nice hotel with an excellent restaurant and very friendly staff only to willing to help.
very comfy beds and in a quite location .
great swimming pool, and lots to do.
downside if any is that the rooms/ensuites could do with being brought upto a more modern speck .
otherwise really enjoyed our stay and would stay again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmboy-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Friendly staff and great for all the family. Comfortable rooms. Lovely new bathrooms. Lots for everyone to do. Once again we were made very welcome and had delicious food in the restaurant. You have to taste the scrabbled egg- its fabulous!! Plenty of choice for everyone adults and children. The children love the games zone and the swimming pool and I have had several treatments in the Aztec Spa- very relaxing!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkheadWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

stayed at carlton as husband and i both work long hours, so wanted some rest, peace and relaxation, was dreading going as we read the reviews about hotels on this complex and they werent that good, but we were surprised, the waiters and and waitresses were wonderful treated us like royalty, and the food was gorgeous,,, the things that didnt make it perfect were when we got there after driving round torquay for an hour, was the hotel receptionist was quite vague about where we could park the car, so we had to carry our luggage quite a way and still wasnt sure how to get from where we parked to the right hotel! so having found our way back to the reception we got our key and found we were on the ground floor, which was realy dark and right next to the carpark! didnt get loads of sleep as the staff were dicussing their life outside our room, then we were woken by the laundry lorry which of course beeped as it backed into the carpark then the driver talked loudly to the staff! torquay is a lovely place and if we were put in a bedroom upstairs it would have been a perfect break (with sleep)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterMel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2010

It was a lovely stay I would not hesitate
to recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UKsouthwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Although given a disabled parking space we were allocated the furthest room from the entrance including a few stairs. Make your requirements VERY clear when you book, there are no walk in showers and if we don't keep asking they wont bother, so ask.
We have stayed at the Toorak often but always find the restaurant too hot whatever the weather and have been disappointed with the room we've been allocated twice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldiesUKsouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rg415da
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

It was such a relaxing plaice'dad has parkinson and found it easy to move around and enjoyed the pool with his grandaughter.cannot wait too stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shayelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 mi away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#29 of 87 in Torquay
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
2,378 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 87 in Torquay
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,122 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 87 in Torquay
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Toorak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Toorak Hotel

Property: TLH Toorak Hotel
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Torquay TQ2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#29 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Toorak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Toorak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toorak Hotel Torquay
TLH Toorak Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing