We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit different!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A bit different!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Being going here for 30 years usually with a group of friends for a sporting break and the hotel is really second to none with a huge variety of sports on offer all free of charge. If you want to relax the public rooms and balcony are first class and the hotel and standards of service have a real old fashioned appeal. Because of this the clientele are mainly 'older' so perhaps I would have thought the hotel will not appeal to, nor does it really cater to, younger clientele. The rooms have gradually been refurbished over the years but some of the single rooms have not been done yet and although they are clean they really feel very tired. May not matter if you are on your own but couples need to take care they ask for a refurbished room. Wonderful value, good staff, roll on the next 30 years!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garyabraham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    243
    139
    85
    66
See reviews for
141
300
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I took my elderly Mum for a 3 day break here. PERFECT !
Stunning old building & grounds that was like staying in Windsor castle for the weekend ! Top tip= pay the few pounds extra for a "Garden Room" with views out the back of the hotel. First appearances on arrival are deceptive and you may be concerned as the front of the hotel is disappointing. If you like old fashioned glamour and impeccable service this is the place, if not stay away. This hotel is a step back in time to the old days but with modern sporting facilities. Some aspects of the rooms are a little tired but this is all part of the charm and experience. Food is out of this world and amazing, on par with ANY top class restaurant. Would not say this place is particularly child friendly it is for the older clientèle. I can safely say you would not forget your stay here mainly for all the right reasons. Location is about a mile from Torquay harbour. Treated like royalty for 3 days !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I've just spent my birthday weekend at The Palace with a group of friends and family and had the best time there. The hotel is lovely, beautiful public areas - lounges, restaurants, gardens, very peaceful and tranquil. A fantastic olde worlde atmosphere. the staff are superb, friendly, efficient, polite and helpful - there were several changes back and forth over our arrangements which didn't faze the staff one bit - really helpful.
Some of the bedrooms are in need of updating but the room we had overlooking the gardens was very clean and comfortable if a little tired.

Room Tip: Consider an upgrade to a garden room - they are bigger rooms and the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We have stayed here for many years the last time at the end of May. The hotel provides a tranquil setting in a relaxed atmosphere with good food as well as providing various leisure pursuits, golf tennis, swimming, pool to name but a few. We recently stayed in a superior garden room as an upgrade which was very comfortable and with a view over the beautiful garden. As a frequent visitor some of the rooms are a bit tired and would always recommend upgrading to a garden room if you can.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diannesmithy115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

we went to the hotel after looking at the reviews in the tripadvisor but i was really wrong that i looked at thatwe stayed here 3 months back and it is not even closer to what it was 3 months before the restaurant is a joke and the restaurant manager was a jokei mean that as he has got some problems as he is not decent at all and such a annoying guy
the food was bad as the quality we experienced 3 months before was the best i should say and we met with the head chef and apparently he has left the place and you can make out from the quality they offer now any way i am decided that i will not return to this again as i think a bed and breakfast is better quality than this
thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is an old fashioned hotel but for Torquay it fits in well. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The first room we had was in total need to refurb and was in no way suitable for our needs. They then moved us to a newly refurbished room with a view over the gardens which was just lovely. Very peaceful very quiet, our family also had both suites which her beautifully decorated and presented. All very clean. Restaurant and room service also very good. Very laid back and quiet and the grounds are just wonderful. Pool facilities are also excellent. Some areas yes need updating but if you look at the sheer size of the hotel its not going to happen overnight and it is clear that this process has already started. At the time we were the only family with a toddler in the hotel! They made a great fuss of her and went to extra lengths to accommodate her routine and make us comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the garden, lovely views and nice and quiet. Personally I would also ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I've just got home sunday 17th june from a weekend away at the palace hotel in torquay and to say I was immpressed is an understatement.As I've titled this review the service is reall from a time in the past where there were no galse have a nice day sir but genuine pleasantness from the staff at every juncture during the weekend stay.Mentioning staff I'm meaning there were staff at every point you looked and all so helpful it was almost hard to believe.I was at a football function (the southern league AGM) and on the saturday night I decided to retire just after the long dinner with speeches etc only to be woken up by the band which was directly below my room--I stuck it for 10 minutes and decided I wasnt getting back to sleep and called reception whereby they moved me immediately to another room the other side of the hotel with no fuss at all.I 'm not sure how much it cost but approx £90 per room for just me with brekky and full evening meal .The food at every sitting was superb and so much even big eaters found it difficult to cope.The decor of the hotel which by the way is 4 star is very 1940's and fabulous to see.All in all I'd recomend it with glowing colours.----------------Keep it up palace I loved--BH

Room Tip: Definately ask for a room not above the dance room where a DJ or band could be playing.The rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leafpeeper-supreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 18 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing