We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #52 of 86 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Seen better days. Needs good clean up/decoration.
Staff pleasant enough but really cant compete with the newer/smarter hotels.
Bedrooms large/cold and tired decoration/furniture. Bathroom- needs complete refurb- the shower was a nightmare - hot/cold- quickest shower I have ever had.
Food okay but limited choice and rather bland.
Would not return unless lot cheaper.

Room Tip: Take some pyjama's you may feel cold overnight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

Just returned from a 3 day dinner b & b break at The Palace Hotel. Pleasantly surprised! Large hotel, clean and tidy. Staff all very friendly, helpful and professional. Our bedroom was a decent size, included everything you'd need, but rather 'tired'. Small TV, nearly useless hairdryer (take your own!) and rooms very hot. We turned the heating right down on arrival and opened the window, but still too warm. We mentioned this on departure, but apparently people had been complaining it was cold!! Food, particularly evening dinner, was superb - couldn't fault it. Plenty of choice for breakfast and attentive service. The menu for evening dinner had plenty of choice and the food was delicious. We were rather reticent when we booked about the evening meals in particular, but needn't have worried. Although the entire time we were there it poured with rain, there was enough for us to do/see in the area, even though some local attractions were shut for the winter. Quite a good selection of shops in Torquay. The hotel is on the no 32 bus route - walking into Torquay town centre takes about 25 mins, downhill, so good idea to walk there and take the bus back. This hotel really did provide a comfortable affordable break. Would certainly consider staying there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I have done previous reviews of the Palace and as a regular visitor to Torquay I accept that this tardis of a hotel is in need of vast sums of money being spent on it. The last time I stayed at the hotel my room was dirty, on this visit to Torquay I decided to part company from the Palace and move to the Imperial ( Excellent) but as they could only manage to accommodate us for six of the nine nights we called in at the Palace told them that on the previous occasion our room was dirty and if we booked could they promise a clean room. Promise made we booked.
I was put in the same room as my previous visit. I do not think the bed had be pulled out in years - thick dust and a mass of what looked like spilt cream - filthy net curtains - dust on the chairs - dust all around the skirting boards - dirty loo brush - cobwebs on the walls and ceiling.
Bed knackered, pillows like cardboard - grubby looking dark brown blankets - top of the wardrobe thick with dust - 2 bathrooms one with bath and sink (cold tap does not work ) the other with an antiquated shower which scolds you or freezes you. A truly miserable weekend saved only but the good standard of food. This hotel is not worthy of its AA 4 star status and is probably more like 2 star for rooms & 3 for other services. It is quite apparent that the management take no notice of reviews on this site - so its now time to challange th AA and its rating

Room Tip: Go to the Imperial or the Grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank foodlover079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Visited the Palace on business. Hotel very large, slightly dated but all clean and tidy. Food was lovely. Main issue was the staff. From arrival to departure they were all very "moody" not a lot I can say not many manners, no conversation and quite rude with sayings like "hurry up" whilst we were gettng a hot cup of tea. Shame as this lack of curteous service really impacted our impression of the hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen19675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We responded to their 3 night for the price of 2 offer this year, having visited to meet up with friends in 2011. Most of staff were lovely and food enjoyable. Don't be put off by the reception staff who do tend to hide away behind a screen and do not keep an eye on their front counter.
Old fashioned lift, hotel in general reminds me of an Agatha Christy film. Would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnEarlsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I recently stayed at the Palace Hotel Torquay on a works conference. Lovely room which was comfortable and warm. Food is fabulous and beautifully presented. Staff are very helpful, polite and obliging. Feels like stepping back to a time when service mattered and guests were appreciated. I will definately return with my husband for a trip to Torquay. Thank you to everyone at The Palace Hotel for a truly relaxing short break. You did an excellent job! Well done.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxis818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The Palace is an ideal hotel for all ages. It has a genteel atmosphere in the lounges for those who want some relaxation, peace and quiet, combined with a good range of facilities for younger folk. Table tennis, pool, swimming and tennis are on offer.

The food is excellent value. 4 course evening meals are of a very good standard as is the breakfast, offering full English as well as lighter bites and porridge.

The downside is a lack of a proper wet room for disabled visitors. The so-called walk in shower is actually just a shower tray. Disappointing.

Staff are friendly and the whole atmosphere of the hotel is relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden views are more expensive, but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3,010 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#3 of 17 in Paignton
579 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#16 of 86 in Torquay
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 86 in Torquay
2,461 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 86 in Torquay
582 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 86 in Torquay
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: £86 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing