We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed at The Palace for the weekend and had a lovely time. Could have stayed much longer without getting bored, the facilities are great.The gardens are immaculate and very pretty. The boys enjoyed the snooker room and playing golf (although the hire of the clubs and balls was quite pricey). The food was of a very high standard for breakfast and evening meal. The lunch time menu was rather limited so if staying for a while it could get slightly boring. We also ordered a sandwich from the 'hot sandwiches' menu which was served cold. The staff were great, always happy to help out. No wifi in the rooms, it is only available in the reception and lounge areas. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pick a garden view room its worth it. Lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    238
    136
    84
    66
See reviews for
140
295
46
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just spent the weekend at this hotel. Although the rooms have seen better days and could do with a coat of paint and a revamp. The food was excellent. Both breakfast and dinner had plenty of choice, was served quickly and hot, also well presented. The hotel is located in Babbacombe so is a distance away from Torquay. The gardens are lovely and well tended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelalotLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Everything good is outside the building.Beautiful grounds,lovely views and a scenic pitch and put...it is only pitch and put though for those proper golfers expecting more.Tennis courts were OK for a fun game too.
Inside-oh dear.Tired rooms,old scratchy brown blankets,1980's bathroom with a "caravan" standard shower,tv that couldnt pick up Ch4 but from it's age looked like it could pick up "Bullseye".Staff too involved with wedding guests which meant we left the lounge "drinkless" after waiting for 20 minutes to be served.."Somebody will be with you in a minute"..not sure what minute they were referring too.Not even close to a 4 star standard more like a 2.Not much more than a coach party hotel.Was probably stunning about 60 years ago when it was last decorated.
Breakfast was good though.Ps it is almost 2 miles from the centre of Torquay so no use if you wanted to be close to the town/beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for one without the scratchy blankets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have lived in Torquay for many years and now stay in hotels in the area when visiting family etc. With this in mind I personally hate to be negative about the hotels as tourism in the area, although beautiful is struggling and this is a very large hotel, with lots of rooms and hence, must be costly to maintain etc.
However, the mattresses are uncomfortable and I just hate those awful itchy blankets that smell like they could do with a good wash; plus cover. The room was a little cold and the only extra warmth was a second very itchy old blanket. I am allergic to dust so bedding like this is not helpful. Carpets a bit threadbare and old. But the room was clean and the view of the gardens amazing. Cannot comment on the restaurant apart from breakfast, which was good enough. I had salmon and scrambled eggs, which were reasonable, warm and tasty. Service excellent at breakfast too.

Room Tip: Garden views amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfsburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed at the Palace to check it our for our group. First impression: luxurious. but the rooms are very poor. We tried three rooms, all with sea views, the matresses caused back pains. The carpet was very stained in all three rooms. the bathrooms were from the 60th. The wind blew in through the windows in bathroom, which also could not be heated. I asked for a better mattress which was promised to me but did not arrive. Food and breakfast was good, but what for if you cannot sleep. All guests were seniors.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friederike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port appin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Sitting outside on the Terrace overlooking the beautiful gardens with a book and a pot of tea - it doesn't get much better than this. Yes the decor is a little dated but this is not a soulless conference hotel with wi fi in the bathroom (I have always wondered why you would need that!). But it is in a stunning location with the hugely picturesque Anstey's Cove just a stroll through the garden and down a pretty track. The hotel is full of character and the staff are a real delight. Good swimming pool too.

Room Tip: Go for a garden room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seahorseshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We booked in to the Palace Hotel for a one-night stay for our wedding anniversary and were attracted by the special rate for a double room with breakfast. We were not disappointed, but we did not have high expectations, as sometimes our experiences of "special no-refund rates" in other hotels meant that the allotted rooms were usually those that obviously needed re-furbishing.
The Palace Hotel has a huge lobby and we had a friendly and efficient check-in at reception. An offer of a porter to help with luggage would have been nice - though we could manage ourselves, fortunately.
The room was very large and had a nice view of the manicured rose garden and of the golf course. The latter seemed very popular, as was the putting green and croquet lawn. There was more than ample wardrobe space in the room together with drawer space and a nice, mirrored dressing table. Tea-making facilities and biscuits were provided and it was good to see the provision of a china tea pot! Much more civilised! Two comfortable easy chairs, plus table, near the window made for a pleasant area to read the newspapers. The flat-screen LG TV seemed minute (16") compared to the room size, but we did notice that other rooms had huge old-fashioned TVs. The main thing was that it gave a decent picture! Disappointingly, the double bed was very small - 4' 6" - and although fairly comfortable we felt fortunate that we are both of a slim build!! Sheets, blankets and bed spread was the order of the day and the bubbly brown blanket had obviously seen some service and was reminiscent of the 1970s! The bathroom was of a good-size and pleasantly decorated with white/grey tiles. Toiletries provided.
We dined out at a restaurant so cannot comment on the food. However the breakfast was very good with an excellent range of choices and the staff were attentive. We did not have time to try out the leisure facilities either - pool, sauna, billiads room etc.
Check-out was ultra smooth. As the receptionist was sitting with her backed turned towards the rear office and chatting to someone in there, I simply popped the room key in the slot provided and made for the exit. Not even the trundling of luggage through the deserted hotel lobby distracted her from offering a "did you enjoy your stay," Oh well!!
For the discount price we paid this was a pleasant enough stay. However, considering the usual full rate that is charged, I have paid about an additional 25% more in other, similar style hotels and enjoyed far better value and much better quality in service, rooms and food than at the Palace. As is so often mentioned by other reviewers, these traditional hotels need continuous investment and regular re-furbishment to warrant their star grading. The Palace Hotel lacks the opulence and smartness that the building and the public areas deserve. The bedrooms need refreshing and - in our room - the paint was flaking off the bathroom door and the skirting board and door mouldings could have done with a good clean. Some things cost money; some don't.
Summing up, I think that I was more surprised than disappointed that the Palace Hotel was not as grand as I had once thought. I guess it's all down to how much the owners think a re-furbishment is a worthwhile investment. My personal preference is clean and contemporary; traditional doesn't have to mean dowdy and dusty. Nevertheless, the stay was pleasant and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing