We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Ranked #53 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Lancashire
1 review
“a lovely surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

I travelled with a group which was booked in to the Palace after being let down by another venue. Having read some of the previous reviews I had some misgivings but I have been most pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely view over the gardens. Good hot water supply and comfortable beds.Friendly staff, good food and excellent service.
We couldn't ask for more. Thankyou. I'll come again but hope for better weather.

  • Liked — the spacious rooms and excellent grounds
  • Disliked — the shower fitment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireJennywren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    243
    139
    85
    66
See reviews for
141
300
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

What a let down, expecting a nice hotel break in a four star hotel. The first room we were given was the size of a broom cupboard, very dark, very old fashioned, but more importantly, filthy dirty. The nets looked like they have never ever been washed since they were hung (1970's). The paint was seriously flaking off the windows. There were stains all over the carpet and wallpaper. Paint chipping off everywhere. A chair with two big rips and foam hanging out. The bathroom was so small; you had to get in first, manoeuvre around before you could shut the door. The bath was so small; my Husband would not have been able to get into it. My husband complained and we were immediately given another room. This was bigger and brighter, but I am afraid it was even dirtier than the first. The wardrobe was filthy. The bathroom had broken tiles, carpet up the side of the bath, which was hanging off, the light had loads of dead flies in it, and the window had all the paint flaking off and was disgusting. The shower did not have any hot water. We stayed for one night, but I could not sleep, with the thought of how dirty everything was. We did not want to get any of our belongings out of the case. This, I have no doubt was once a grand hotel. It is no longer grand. It requires a full face lift to be dragged out of the 70's. That you may be able to put up with, but not squalor. I feel that with the ease that the Management changed our room, they are very used to guests complaining on arrival and having to find them alternative rooms. It must be an every day occurrence. Breakfast was not too bad; the full English was sub standard and not cooked correctly. However, the waiting staff were very efficient. I wish this could be their saving grace, but I am afraid that it is not enough. I would not recommend this hotel, nor would I visit again. Faulty towers may not be that bad after all.

  • Liked — Checking out in the morning
  • Disliked — Filthy squalor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank downtownsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
oxford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

OK, this is the third time we have been to the Palace, so I may be a little biased, but reading some of the previous reviews I wondered if standards had indeed fallen.
The service in the restaurant was a little speedy at times, but when I asked for waiting time after one meal before choosing a dessert from the amazing selection on the trolley, it wasn't a problem. The staff have changed a lot in the past 18 months since our last visit; some were Eastern European, but were very polite and charming when engaged in conversation.
The hotel could do with a spruce up in places, but the overall impression is one of calm and efficient grandeur. For a hotel still in private ownership the standards are still very high. The evening meals are excellent and the kippers at breakfast were the best I have tasted for years. One of my main moans about hotels is the mark-up on wines and the Palace is no different. I don't think there was a single bottle of wine under £19. But for value for money, I still think the half board price is excellent.
The standard rooms aren't as spacious as in some hotels, but they are large enough.
No Sky TV as already mentioned and the wifi, although free, was incredibly slow.
BUT........... when we got home, we realised that we had left a couple of phone chargers behind. Before we had chance to phone the hotel, they phoned us the following morning to say they had them and would post them on. That is typical of the level of service we have found time and again at this hotel.

  • Liked — old-fashioned service, good food
  • Disliked — slow/no wifi
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank specsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night break at the Palace Hotel. I chose the Palace Hotel because I was looking for a hotel that would suit the taste of my mother-in-law. I was looking for a hotel with character, elegance and good leisure facilities. This certainly fits the bill. It is a fantastic hotel, rather grand. Ok the rooms maybe faded at the edges but they are very comfortable and have everything you need. Do get a room with a garden view because the grounds are lovely and really are the highlight. Fabulous indoor and outdoor pool, great sauna. Can not fault the facilities. Meals were excellent and the staff were very friendly. The hotel has an elegance to it and would suit anyone looking for a peaceful get away. Not a place for those looking for a party atmosphere. Rather nice to be so close to Ansteys Cove just a short walk through the grounds of the hotel.

  • Liked — Hotel Grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2008

The Palace Hotel has wonderful facilities no doubt. The par 3 golf course, tennis courts, walks and sumtuous main rooms are lovely. That is where it ends. The standard rooms are anything but standard. If you want remote control TV, forget it. If you want SKY TV, forget it. If you want a shower that does not flood the bathroom if you leave it on the wall, forget it. If you want a room that is warm when it is cold outside, forget it. Don't expect duvets, expect 70s tea and coffee fitted wall units, old wardrobes and windows that rattle with the breeze. At breakfast, ensure you are down before 10am, weekends included, or the staff will start to pack away the buffet part of the breakfast at around 9.50am. They want to go home. Don't complain to the receptionist, she will just nod and smile inanely. If you want to pay over the odds for a room that makes Premier Lodge look smart, book in here. Poor show Palace Hotel - last visit from me or my company.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Donno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2008

Have just returned from a delightful three days spent at the Palace Hotel. Our room was superb, spacious and clean with a lovely view of the gardens and golf course. The food was excellent and the staff extremely pleasant and eager to please. We could not fault any aspect of this Hotel and look forward to returning again next year for another enjoyable week end.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and Food
  • Disliked — Bathroom needed new Shower
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

In these modern times its nice to know that some businesses take pride in operating as they have done for many decades. Poor service, poor food, terrible decoration and a reliance on the British reluctance to complain - that is what is on offer at the Palace. I see it is due some substantial construction as they add a new floor and rooms in the grounds. I hope they use that opprtunity to bring the hotel up to date. Black and white TV's in the room (and that was in a suite), faded and dated decor, dead flies everywhere. The whole place is heated like a furnace but I guess that is why its guests (apart from conferences) are all at the very mature end of the market. If Grace Brothers owned a hotel this would be it.

  • Liked — The grounds are spectacular
  • Disliked — The food, the service
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank urbanalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 88 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 88 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Property: The Palace Hotel
Address: Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 3TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Torquay
Hotel Palace Torquay
The Palace Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing